Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Should I re-upgrade from Asus/AMD to Gigabyte/Intel?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Stealth3si

Stealth3si

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 April 2012 - 12:01 PM

OLD:
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T [Unlocked to 6 cores (Prime95 stable 24+ hours, OCCT stable 12+ hours!!) :thumbsup: ]

NEW:
GIGABYTE GA-Z68AP-D3
i5-2500K 3.30GHz Quad-Core

I just purchased the Asus/AMD parts for a new build to unlock and overclock to get a bit of power from the CPU, i.e., 24/7 stable OC. I'm neither particularly interested in benchmarking results or looking to break records.

I only tested them (on top of the motherboard's cardboard box) to unlock the cores and for their stability. I never tried to overclock.

Seeing this Intel/Gigabyte bundle on sale I am tempted to upgrade and sell the old parts because Intel is better performing.

The new bundle seems to meet my needs, except it has Intel HD graphics which should be able to run 1080p videos.

  • SATA III,
  • Onboard graphics (the Intel HD takes care of this)
  • art programs,
  • extensive multiple tab use in GC/IE
  • occasional 1080p video playback.
  • No games.
Do you think this is a worthy upgrade?

Edited by Stealth3si, 05 April 2012 - 12:49 PM.

Antec 300 Illusion Case
Antec NEO ECO 620C
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T OC'd @ 4.2GHz / 6 cores @ 4014Mhz (Hyper 212 EVO CM BM push/pull)
CPU/NB @ 3038Mhz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1736Mhz CL9 1T
MSI R7950 TFIII 1225/1625 1.25/1.60
Asus Xonar DX & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 Darth'd w/ O2 Desktop Amp
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Samsung 830 256GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB/2TB, WD My Passport 2TB x 6
Logitech K800 & Logitech G700
Dell S2740L LED IPS 27" 1080p
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1

#2 Hyper

Hyper

    Of course it will fit, I have power tools.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, WA

Posted 05 April 2012 - 12:55 PM

Not sure what your needs are, is your curent one not meeting your needs?

At a glance your current board seems to have a better port selection/options.

Is the Phenom II X4 960T not meeting your performace needs?
Posted Image

#3 MercuryDoun

MercuryDoun

    Banana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1546 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Eastern Michigan, USA

Posted 05 April 2012 - 01:52 PM

It sounds like you are using onboard video?? It would probably be a lot cheaper to just buy a low end video card... rather than upgrade your entire system just to get your hands on the Intel HD 3000, which btw is maybe bareky better than the onboard HD4250 on your AMD board. This is because the HD4250 has access to the 128MB of onboard cache memory that really gives it an extra umph.

So if you want to upgrade, go for it, nobody here is going to stop you, lol. But im having a a hard time seeing a reason why.

*My System*
>< Case: Antec DF-85 >< PSU: Antec CP-850 850w >< MoBo: Asus P6X58D-E ><

>< CPU: i7-930, @ 4.0Ghz >< CPU Cooler: Prolimatech Megahalems >< TIM: Artic Silver MTX ><

>< RAM: Mushkin Blackline 6gb DDR3-1600 @ 1914mhz 7-10-7-24 2T ><

>< SSD: Corsair Force F120 120gb >< HDD: 2x Samsung F4 320gb Raid-0 ><

>< GPU: MSI Twin Frozr II GTX570 @ 900/1800/2250 24/7>< Monitor: Asus 24" LCD @ 1920x1080 ><

My gold plated butt-plug business is being sued by Apple. Apparently they have a patent for overpriced crap for a holes.


#4 tbris84

tbris84

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sarasota FL

Posted 05 April 2012 - 03:26 PM

Back in November I upgraded from an ASUS/AMD Phenom II X4 955BE build to an MSI/Intel Core i5-2500K build. I was pretty impressed with the performance difference between the Intel and AMD. I play a lot of games, mostly FPS like MW3, as well as watch a lot of movies simultaneously on my second monitor. The Alt-Tabbing between game and movie/browser/IM'ing was seamless on the Intel build where the AMD build would get held up. I just sold my Intel rig because I was actually able to turn a profit on it, but I am definitely going to stick with Intel for the foreseeable future. I am temporarily using my brothers machine, which is a clone of my old AMD P2X4955BE build (identical hardware) and I am already missing my Intel rig.

TL/DR: If you can sell the AMD hardware and break even/not loose your pants I would definitely recommend it. Even though you're not gaming on it, the Intel machine is superior. However, I really don't think you would be THAT upset with yourself if you stuck with the AMD rig. It's more than capable of handling what you're throwing at it. I personally look for any excuse to build a new machine and a good deal on a better piece of hardware is a good excuse. lol

Good luck!
  • Intel Core i5-3570K
  • ASRock Z77 Extreme4
  • EVGA GTX 680 SC
  • Samsung 30nm 8GB
  • 2x Samsung 830 128GB SSD
  • 2x Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB (in RAID 0)
  • Pioneer 15x Bluray Burner
  • Lite-On 24X DVD Writer
  • SeaSonic X750
  • Corsair Obsidian 800D

#5 potatochobit

potatochobit

    Queen of Nightmares

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1402 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Texas

Posted 05 April 2012 - 04:18 PM

Total waste of money, don't bother
a phenom II is plenty powerful for the next two years still

your graphic card, on the other hand, NVidia GeForce 8200/9200 is a total piece of crap
buy a graphic card unless you just watch youtube

#6 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 April 2012 - 10:57 PM

Annd a graphics card like HD6850 with your present config.

boozei.gif


#7 vandreadstriker

vandreadstriker

    N.Z.R.X

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia

Posted 06 April 2012 - 08:04 AM

I can't seem to connect with TigerDirect so can someone tell me how much the bundle is and what it consist of?

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

 

-Olden Golden-

AMD Phenom II X4 20 BE | ASRock M3A790GXH/128M | 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL8 | Palit GTX460 Sonic 2GB | FSP 600W | Xigmatek Achilles S1284W


#8 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 April 2012 - 08:17 AM

Which bundle are you talking about?

boozei.gif


#9 vandreadstriker

vandreadstriker

    N.Z.R.X

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia

Posted 06 April 2012 - 08:55 AM

The one OP linked. I can't access TigerDirect for some reason.

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

 

-Olden Golden-

AMD Phenom II X4 20 BE | ASRock M3A790GXH/128M | 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL8 | Palit GTX460 Sonic 2GB | FSP 600W | Xigmatek Achilles S1284W


#10 ohldboy

ohldboy

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Waterbury, CT 06704 USA

Posted 06 April 2012 - 09:26 AM

Bundle : Gigabyte GA Z68AP-D3 and I5 2500K $ $314.99 - $40 mir = $274.99 from Tiger Direct Inner Circle, I do not know shipping for that. Tiger is $274.99 before shipping if you get $40 rebate.

Newegg gigabyte GA Z68AP-D3 $109.99+7.87 shipping =$117.86 - $ 10 MIR = $ 107.86 I5 2700K $219.99 - $10 GIFT CARD = $209.99 so $ 327.85 - $10 gift card $317.85 - $10 MIR = $307.85 shipped if you get Gigabyte rebate

Last I knew Tiger rebares were elusive.

#11 vandreadstriker

vandreadstriker

    N.Z.R.X

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia

Posted 06 April 2012 - 10:00 AM

Bundle : Gigabyte GA Z68AP-D3 and I5 2500K $ $314.99 - $40 mir = $274.99 from Tiger Direct Inner Circle, I do not know shipping for that. Tiger is $274.99 before shipping if you get $40 rebate.

Newegg gigabyte GA Z68AP-D3 $109.99+7.87 shipping =$117.86 - $ 10 MIR = $ 107.86 I5 2700K $219.99 - $10 GIFT CARD = $209.99 so $ 327.85 - $10 gift card $317.85 - $10 MIR = $307.85 shipped if you get Gigabyte rebate

Last I knew Tiger rebares were elusive.

Thanks.

@OP: I don't think its worth over your current rig. Unless you could sell your rig fast for that amount, why bother the trouble really? Your current rig should run fine for the next 1-2 years IMO.

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

 

-Olden Golden-

AMD Phenom II X4 20 BE | ASRock M3A790GXH/128M | 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL8 | Palit GTX460 Sonic 2GB | FSP 600W | Xigmatek Achilles S1284W


#12 Stealth3si

Stealth3si

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 April 2012 - 05:03 PM

OK. Thanks!
Antec 300 Illusion Case
Antec NEO ECO 620C
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T OC'd @ 4.2GHz / 6 cores @ 4014Mhz (Hyper 212 EVO CM BM push/pull)
CPU/NB @ 3038Mhz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1736Mhz CL9 1T
MSI R7950 TFIII 1225/1625 1.25/1.60
Asus Xonar DX & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 Darth'd w/ O2 Desktop Amp
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Samsung 830 256GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB/2TB, WD My Passport 2TB x 6
Logitech K800 & Logitech G700
Dell S2740L LED IPS 27" 1080p
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1