Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

sata 3 or 6


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 automaton

automaton

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts

Posted 04 April 2012 - 07:40 AM

I am using a program called speccy its from ccleaners company piriform
it is similar to hw monitor
I find all the temp readings close to the bios
One thing thats weird is it says my hd is sata3
is there any other hardware way in windows or the bios to validate that
I had the machine built and I had presumed the raptor was on sata 6
If i knew more I could look inside but I dont

#2 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 04 April 2012 - 07:48 AM

Automaton - even though the WD Raptor 450Gb hard drive has a SATAIII interface (6.0 GB/s) it would still need to be connected to a SATAIII controller on your motherboard. What motherboard are you using and what controller is the drive connected to on that motherboard? Unless you have a newer Intel or AMD motherboard, it's likely that you are connected to a SATAII controller, hence the reason that Speccy is reporting that your HDD is SATAII.
10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#3 bigball1

bigball1

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted 05 April 2012 - 04:37 AM

Your raptor is fine on sata2 port as it wont reach the speed of a sata3 port anyways.

#4 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20517 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 05 April 2012 - 04:42 AM

What Wev said, but when it comes down to it, SATA 3 would do your platter drive no good anyways (other than raise its price) :whistling:

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 8GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#5 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1593 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 05 April 2012 - 06:01 AM

I believe what the program is telling you is correct, sata 3 transfer speed is 6 gbs, which you will not see in speed but that is what it is capable of. As far as I know there is no sata 6 speed yet. just sata 2 and sata 3.

CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#6 potatochobit

potatochobit

    Queen of Nightmares

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1412 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Texas

Posted 05 April 2012 - 08:49 PM

you need to buy an SSD for your main OS drive and use the raptor as a video storage disc or something

#7 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 06 April 2012 - 05:57 AM

Just to clarify for everyone..............

Technically there isn't any such thing as Sata 1, Sata 2, Sata 3 or even Sata 6.

There is;

SATA I = 1.5 Gbit/s
(aka Sata Revision 1.0)

SATA II = 3.0 Gbit/s
(aka Sata Revision 2.0

SATA III = 6.0 Gbit/s
(aka Sata Revison 3.0)
10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#8 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 April 2012 - 10:23 AM

^ And no mechanical drives need SATA III even if it is mentioned that they are so called SATA 6Gb/sec drive.
This fact holds true for WD Raptor.

boozei.gif


#9 CowKing

CowKing

    Phil ain't got nothin' on me

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1445 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eagan, MN

Posted 07 April 2012 - 10:51 AM

Just to clarify for everyone..............

Technically there isn't any such thing as Sata 1, Sata 2, Sata 3 or even Sata 6.

There is;

SATA I = 1.5 GB/s
(aka Sata Revision 1.0)

SATA II = 3.0 GB/s
(aka Sata Revision 2.0

SATA III = 6.0 GB/s
(aka Sata Revison 3.0)

further clarification it's Gb not GB
CPU: (Intel)q9450@3.36GHz|1.4v
Power Supply: (Antec)BP550|550w
GFX Card: (PNY)GTX 460|800-1600-4000 biggest GTX 460 dud OCer
Motherboard: (Gigabyte)P35-DS3R |P35|
Memory: (Mushkin) Redline 2x2GB DDR2 1000|1050MHz 5-5-5-12|
Ayn Rand is the author for people who want to act like complete douche-bags, but don't have the balls to just admit that they are douche-bags.
"There are two novels that can change a bookish fourteen-year old's life: The Lord of the Rings and Atlas Shrugged. One is a childish fantasy that often engenders a lifelong obsession with its unbelievable heroes, leading to an emotionally stunted, socially crippled adulthood, unable to deal with the real world. The other, of course, involves orcs."

OCC Cool Club Member


#10 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 09 April 2012 - 05:53 AM

Fixed.............. :)
10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#11 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20517 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 09 April 2012 - 11:46 AM

further clarification it's Gb not GB

I can't wait for the day that we don't need to correct that :woot:

Edited by IVIYTH0S, 09 April 2012 - 12:23 PM.

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 8GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#12 _TheAlexO

_TheAlexO

    Formerly ShallowBay

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2789 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 09 April 2012 - 12:19 PM

further clarification it's Gb not GB


sentence fragment

My Skyrim ENB Album

Processor: Intel Core i5 3570k @4.4ghz | Motherboard: MSI z77a-g43 | Video Card: EVGA GTX 680 @1.3ghz core | Memory: 16gb Patriot ddr3 2133mhz (from OCC) | Case: Corsair 600T Alpine Edition | Power Supply: Corsair 700 Gamer Series

 | Speakers: Corsair sp2500 (from OCC) | Headset: Logitech G35 | Mouse: Logitech g500 | Keyboard: Corsair K60 Red Switches