Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Q6600 Overclocking


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 03 April 2012 - 08:24 PM

Hi all!
I'm back overclocking a new Cpu i got from a friend!
It's a Q6600, 2.40Ghz.
Temps under full load and prime95 stressing lower than 58c !
My voltages are kinda high , the CPU is going to suicide!

Capture.JPG

This is as far i managed to go.
Performance got a lot better than i imagined after OCing...

I also hit 3.60Ghz with the current voltage, but my computer restarted!
If anyone knows something, will be appreciated!


[Sorry for any mistakes, Im still not good in english!]
Posted Image

#2 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 03 April 2012 - 08:27 PM

Be careful with that amount of voltage and those clocks - I blew up my old DFI board with a Q6600 trying to push it to 3.6 GHz. The VRMs literally burned a hole in the board. You will probably be better off with the amount of cooling on that board combined with the 8 phase power though...

Are you sure your temps are actually 58 C? I was hitting higher than that (MUCH higher) on a full on watercooling setup.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#3 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 03 April 2012 - 08:32 PM

Yes i am! I used Everest, speedfan, hwmonitor and real temp!
I have the Hyper 212 plus Coolermaster, and you made me a little nervous! :D
I tried to lower the Vcore, and added some FSB voltage, and CPU PLL... but didn't worked that way again!
I guess i have to stop for the sake of this Core right?
Posted Image

#4 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 03 April 2012 - 08:33 PM

What does Core Temp read? I use IntelBurnTest as a quick stability check (30 minutes on the "high" setting) and then 4-8 hours of Prime95. WATCH YOUR TEMPS. :lol: I'm amazed you're getting such good temperatures with that cooler...my full water setup could barely keep my Q6600 cool at 3.4 GHz with 1.45 volts...much less 3.5 GHz and 1.51 volts. At some point it's just too hard to shed the heat quickly from the actual CPU.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#5 Locutus

Locutus

    Fortune favors the bold.

  • Folding Member
  • 1882 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Largo, FL

Posted 03 April 2012 - 10:36 PM

Be careful with that amount of voltage and those clocks - I blew up my old DFI board with a Q6600 trying to push it to 3.6 GHz. The VRMs literally burned a hole in the board. You will probably be better off with the amount of cooling on that board combined with the 8 phase power though...

Are you sure your temps are actually 58 C? I was hitting higher than that (MUCH higher) on a full on watercooling setup.

Haha, remind me not to go OC my mom's PC. Or was it not the P35 you sold me?

Heatware - Ebay

"I can't believe I ate the entire kitten!"

 

sigimage.gif


#6 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4147 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 April 2012 - 10:42 PM

Hey! Watch out for the core temperatures! And use prime95 for stability testing. 3.5GHz with Q6600 is little too much IMO.

boozei.gif


#7 Coors

Coors

    ????? ????

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3638 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 04 April 2012 - 03:53 AM

Waco must have had a bad OCer =P Mine would hit 3.8Ghz on air with a tiny bump in volts. Was just shy of 4Ghz on water. Your limiting factor is probably going to be the X38 chipset. P35/P45 were better overclockers.

MSI MPower Max - 4770K - 2x EVGA GTX780 ACX - 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 - 2x Crucial M4 256GB raid0 - Enermax 1020w - HP ZR30w

Sager NP9170 - i7 3720QM - GTX680m - 16GB 1600Mhz - 2x Crucial M4 256GB - 17" matte display

Shuttle SP35P2V2 - E8600 4Ghz - eVGA 8800GTX ACS KO - 2x2GB g.skill PK - Samsung 500GB - 2x Dell E228wfp


#8 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 04 April 2012 - 05:04 AM

Haha, remind me not to go OC my mom's PC. Or was it not the P35 you sold me?

It won't be an issue unless you REALLY push the clocks and volts...and got a faulty board. :P

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#9 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 04 April 2012 - 10:38 AM

Noice!


I wish my X3220 was stable at 3.5Ghz, but I'd rather not pump 1.5 volts through it to keep it that way...

:P

ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#10 ARandomOWL

ARandomOWL

    Wise Owl

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1441 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK

Posted 04 April 2012 - 11:21 AM

Was my Q6600 just really good or something? 1.5V for 3.5GHz? Posted Image Mine did 3.6GHz on less than 1.4V.

Then again I do have a Q6700 that won't budge past 3.6GHz even with many volts on LN2. But that's a different beast.
2600K @ 5.15GHz, 1.52V
Maximus IV Extreme
GTX 560 DCII TOP
EK Supreme HF + PA120.2

#11 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 05 April 2012 - 10:34 AM

These hurt my feelings! :P

@d6bmg what IMO is? sorry im not used to this kind of talking! :)
@Coors Maybe thats the problem! Although i flashed an Asus Rampage Formula Bios on my P5E for better Overclocking!
@ARandomOWl You sure did a nice job there! Did you change any other voltages or any settings i dont know?? :ph34r:

I dont think i ll ever make this CPU be stable with less than 1.5V!
Posted Image

#12 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 05 April 2012 - 12:40 PM

Waco must have had a bad OCer =P Mine would hit 3.8Ghz on air with a tiny bump in volts. Was just shy of 4Ghz on water. Your limiting factor is probably going to be the X38 chipset. P35/P45 were better overclockers.

Though I hear the X38/X48 chipsets offered better performance for clock so it's probably even in the end.

These hurt my feelings! :P

@d6bmg what IMO is? sorry im not used to this kind of talking! :)
@Coors Maybe thats the problem! Although i flashed an Asus Rampage Formula Bios on my P5E for better Overclocking!
@ARandomOWl You sure did a nice job there! Did you change any other voltages or any settings i dont know?? :ph34r:

I dont think i ll ever make this CPU be stable with less than 1.5V!

IMO- In My Opinion

You did pretty well so far, can you screen shot your bios with all its voltage settings for us?

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 8GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech