Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

9xx to Ivy Bridge


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#13 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 03 April 2012 - 08:48 PM

Will the side mesh hold a 200mm fan? I can see it will hold 4 120mm fans, but can it fit a 200mm?
Edit: And can the built in fans be plugged into the motherboard? Do they have 3 or 4 pin connectors?


the side panel will hold a 200mm if you drill some holes in the mesh and put screws though them, but they do not hold it without modification

and the case fans can connect to the mobo, but by default they are connected to the fan speed controller on the top of the case

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#14 Rofltroll

Rofltroll

    Kowalski! Options!

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 439 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania

Posted 05 April 2012 - 11:19 AM

You can keep your ram if you can find a 4th exact same type of Ram stick to go for quad channel.

Edit: i accidentally a word.

Edited by Rofltroll, 05 April 2012 - 11:19 AM.

mobo: Gigabyte X58 UD3R.
CPU: i7 920 @ 3.4 GHz 1.2v. == Chilled by Titan Fenrir Evo ==
video: Inno3D nVidia GTX 470 @ 775/1550/1775.
RAM: OCZ Gold 2x2GB @ 1440 CL7 1.65v.
HDD: Cheap-O HDD.
PSU: Corsair 650TX.
case: NZXT Hades.


#15 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20079 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 05 April 2012 - 12:45 PM

Yeah just get a single stick of the same memory (running the same speed and timings) and you are set memory wise.

Then the CPU you get from your uncle, and then a nice 8phase or more motherboard with the features you want :thumbsup:

Also, and I'm surprised everyone has looked passed this...what is a 265?? (You don't mean a 55nm 260 do you?)

If you're overclocking you'll need a new CPU cooler for sure too

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#16 Hyper

Hyper

    Of course it will fit, I have power tools.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, WA

Posted 05 April 2012 - 01:30 PM

Yeah just get a single stick of the same memory (running the same speed and timings) and you are set memory wise.

Then the CPU you get from your uncle, and then a nice 8phase or more motherboard with the features you want :thumbsup:

Also, and I'm surprised everyone has looked passed this...what is a 265?? (You don't mean a 55nm 260 do you?)

If you're overclocking you'll need a new CPU cooler for sure too


I'd guess a GTX285.. but you never know :)
Posted Image

#17 ericgcollyer

ericgcollyer

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:La Canada, CA

Posted 05 April 2012 - 07:05 PM

I'd guess a GTX285.. but you never know :)


Its probably a 285 GTX. You can tell how long its been since I've purchased the dang thing. And to be honest, its an ATI card now. I got it RMAd (which took 6 weeks! XFX is kind of a joke nowadays. Any recommendation on a better graphics card company?) and they sent me back an ATI card. Anyway, I may be upgrading my video card as well. I was thinking this card: http://www.newegg.co...82E16814130613.

I don't play that intensive of games, so my 285 is working pretty well, but I would like to use the CUDA feature for Premiere Pro. Thoughts on EVGA? Thoughts on this card?

#18 Rofltroll

Rofltroll

    Kowalski! Options!

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 439 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania

Posted 06 April 2012 - 01:23 AM

Its probably a 285 GTX. You can tell how long its been since I've purchased the dang thing. And to be honest, its an ATI card now. I got it RMAd (which took 6 weeks! XFX is kind of a joke nowadays. Any recommendation on a better graphics card company?) and they sent me back an ATI card. Anyway, I may be upgrading my video card as well. I was thinking this card: http://www.newegg.co...82E16814130613.

I don't play that intensive of games, so my 285 is working pretty well, but I would like to use the CUDA feature for Premiere Pro. Thoughts on EVGA? Thoughts on this card?

Your link is broken. Also tell us a price range for the video card.

Edited by Rofltroll, 06 April 2012 - 01:24 AM.

mobo: Gigabyte X58 UD3R.
CPU: i7 920 @ 3.4 GHz 1.2v. == Chilled by Titan Fenrir Evo ==
video: Inno3D nVidia GTX 470 @ 775/1550/1775.
RAM: OCZ Gold 2x2GB @ 1440 CL7 1.65v.
HDD: Cheap-O HDD.
PSU: Corsair 650TX.
case: NZXT Hades.


#19 ericgcollyer

ericgcollyer

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:La Canada, CA

Posted 06 April 2012 - 06:47 AM

Your link is broken. Also tell us a price range for the video card.


http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814130593

Im thinking right around $300, plus or minus $20

#20 Speedway

Speedway

    IRL is back, Go Penske!

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Speedway, IN

Posted 06 April 2012 - 07:20 AM

GPU-Z is a great program to give you details on your current GPU. Whether you keep your current "unknown" AMD card or upgrade, it is still a good piece of software to have installed ;)

Life Begins @ 220mph


I7 2600K - ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z - 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133MHz - ASUS GTX 680- (2) Corsair Force GT 120GB SSDs RAID 0 - (2) 750GB WD Black HDDs RAID 0 - 900W Tagan BZ Series - U2-UFO

Dual Loop Water Cooling - Koolance RP-452X2 - CPU -> Koolance CPU-360 - Thermochill TA 120.3 - Liang D5 GPU -> D5 - XSPC RX360 - Koolance VID-NX680

The Cube Build Log - Update Coming


Guide for Unlocking MSi Afterburner


Heatware


#21 Fogel

Fogel

    Vengeance shall be Mine

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3463 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 06 April 2012 - 07:49 AM

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130593

Im thinking right around $300, plus or minus $20

I have that card and it performs very well... but the cooler on it sucks and there is no way you are going OC it much with the stock cooler. And you will definitely need to download a program like MSI Afterburner or EVGA's Precision and create a custom fan profile to keep temps within normal range. Would be hard to pass up with that $20 savings ...though knowing what I know now, I would just spend the extra cash towards a card with a good cooler - ASUS.

GPU-Z is a great program to give you details on your current GPU. Whether you keep your current "unknown" AMD card or upgrade, it is still a good piece of software to have installed ;)

:withstupid:

Edited by Fogel, 06 April 2012 - 07:51 AM.


#22 ohldboy

ohldboy

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Waterbury, CT 06704 USA

Posted 06 April 2012 - 08:42 AM

Not my area,
The impression I get is the GTX560 Ti 448 are better cards for most people than the 570s. You should check reviews and comparisons.
The MSI N560GTXTX Ti 448 looks intersesting, newegg $287.86 shipped

#23 vandreadstriker

vandreadstriker

    N.Z.R.X

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 868 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia

Posted 06 April 2012 - 08:56 AM

Not my area,
The impression I get is the GTX560 Ti 448 are better cards for most people than the 570s. You should check reviews and comparisons.
The MSI N560GTXTX Ti 448 looks intersesting, newegg $287.86 shipped


You got it the other way around there dude..

"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

 

-Olden Golden-

AMD Phenom II X4 20 BE | ASRock M3A790GXH/128M | 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL8 | Palit GTX460 Sonic 2GB | FSP 600W | Xigmatek Achilles S1284W


#24 ericgcollyer

ericgcollyer

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:La Canada, CA

Posted 06 April 2012 - 10:05 AM

GPU-Z is a great program to give you details on your current GPU. Whether you keep your current "unknown" AMD card or upgrade, it is still a good piece of software to have installed ;)

*Facepalm* I actually use CPU-Z and HWMonitor all the time. I didn't even think to use it to check. And heaven forbid I check it in control panel. That takes what? 3 seconds and 9 clicks? Man...Too much work. It is a 285GTX by XFX.