Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

New PSU


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 mojunikey7

mojunikey7

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pearl Harbor, HI

Posted 25 March 2012 - 10:56 PM

I'm buying a new PSU this week, either from El_Capitan if the testing goes well, or from newegg. The psu Capitan has is a Corsair AX750W which I would love, but I am exploring other options in case it fails or falls through for whatever reason. I was looking a few psu's on the egg and came up with three brands I would go for, seasonic, corsair, or OCZ. Now I'm just trying to figure out the wattage. I'm positive the AX750W is enough, but in case I don't get it would a 650w suffice?

This is what I'm running, as well as some upgrades coming this week
Phenom iix4 965 BE
8GB gskill ram
X2 HD 5770's (looking to upgrade to two HD 7850's or 7870's)
Corsair force 3 120gb SSD
X2 1 TB seagate barracuda (probably cutting to 1 this week)
Corsair H50
3 120mm Led coolermaster sickle flows
3 200mm led coolermaster megaflows
On an Asus M4a79t deluxe.

Probably gonna try to OC everything considering I'll be building an intel machine later this year.

Also lookin for a PSU that I can transfer over when I retire my phenom build.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE (currently OCing)
ATI Radeon HD 5770 x2 in Crossfire
8GB GSKILL Ripjaw series PC 10700 @ 9.9.9.25 (currently OCing)
Corsair TX650W PSU
Coolermaster HAF932
Corsair H50 in Push-Pull Config
Asus DVD Burner
Seagate 1TB HDD @ 7200 RPM

#2 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deming, NM

Posted 25 March 2012 - 11:49 PM

If you'll for sure be upgrading the 5770s, I would probably lean towards a 750W model just to be on the safe side. I know the 78xx series is pretty efficient power wise, but you can never be too safe imo.

Intel Core i5 4690K - ASUS Z97-A - EVGA GTX 770 2GB
Mushkin Ridgeback 16GB DDR3-2133 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD - Seagate 500GB + 750GB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Sennheiser HD-280 Pro + HD-555 - Thermolab BARAM 2010 - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
eUYPk97.png


#3 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 March 2012 - 07:16 AM

Go with HX850, instead of being going for AX750. Almost same price and higher wattage. And you will need at least 750Watt to be safe.

Edited by d6bmg, 26 March 2012 - 07:22 AM.

boozei.gif


#4 dragonsdontfly

dragonsdontfly

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 369 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 March 2012 - 07:52 AM

Go with HX850, instead of being going for AX750. Almost same price and higher wattage. And you will need at least 750Watt to be safe.


He's right. It's usually good practice to get about 100W more than you're required to. Especially because overclocking is far more stable when you're within a certain amount of PSU load.

#5 boinker

boinker

    Im a Watchin you......

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Del Sity, Oklahoma

Posted 26 March 2012 - 03:52 PM

depends on what you are going to get as the new system.. If you intend to 4 way sli then try a 1.2KW PSU or better... lol, But the question is what kind of system will you be building so I can make a educated recommendation.

"It works Because I threatened it. :lol:" - " did you show it the sledgehammer" - "No, A flight of stairs"
"I don't want to be much of a forum Nazi but this situation calls for a hail Bosco and blitzkrieg someone".

If that does not work I hop in a Madcat and Blast it to microscopic Particles.


#6 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15404 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 26 March 2012 - 03:54 PM

IMHO the 650 you have right now would be more than enough for what you're planning. A pair of 7870s uses what, 300 watts max?

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#7 mojunikey7

mojunikey7

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pearl Harbor, HI

Posted 26 March 2012 - 04:02 PM

As for the new system, it would be either a 2500k or 2600k build, with an h60 or h80, a decent Asus mobo and 12gb ram. Hdd, ssd, and video cards would be transferred with psu, as well as case, fans, and my fan controller an optical drive. May throw in a blue ray drive for giggles
AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE (currently OCing)
ATI Radeon HD 5770 x2 in Crossfire
8GB GSKILL Ripjaw series PC 10700 @ 9.9.9.25 (currently OCing)
Corsair TX650W PSU
Coolermaster HAF932
Corsair H50 in Push-Pull Config
Asus DVD Burner
Seagate 1TB HDD @ 7200 RPM

#8 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15404 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 26 March 2012 - 04:05 PM

I think you'd be even better off with the Intel build. An i7 will use a lot less power than your 965 especially when overclocked.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#9 Tjj226_Angel

Tjj226_Angel

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA

Posted 27 March 2012 - 03:55 AM

Yeah, I would go with 750 w PSU. 750 w is the absolute max your PC can take up and I have never in my life seen anyone get up to max power consumption. The only time it is possible is when you are running prime 95, heaven benchmark set to max, Crysis 2 set as high as possible, and you are repairing a raid array all at once. As long as you don't overclock, you should be fine.

Then when you get your intel system with some Nvidia cards (nvidia looking to be cheaper and more powerful than AMD this year ;) ) your PSU should be overkill :evilgrin:

#10 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15404 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 27 March 2012 - 04:12 AM

Even at max, with the upgrades he's talking about, his current PSU is more than enough IMHO.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#11 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15404 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 27 March 2012 - 04:12 AM

Stupid phone...

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#12 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 March 2012 - 08:31 AM

IMHO the 650 you have right now would be more than enough for what you're planning. A pair of 7870s uses what, 300 watts max?


Yes. At max 300, after overclocking it may be around 350. :dunno: But I think PSU is one time purchase, and its better to have a very good one which can handle some future updates easily and above all last in at least 2 builds.

boozei.gif