Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Crossfire Crash


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 mojunikey7

mojunikey7

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pearl Harbor, HI

Posted 18 March 2012 - 04:16 AM

So my troubles began with the new HDDs that I recently purchased. Up until I installer them (120GB Corsair Force 3, 1TB Seagate Baraacuda) everything worked just fine, but when I did, I couldn't boot. Had to do a clean install on the SSD after everything else failed, so I re-downloaded all of my drivers and now crossfire will not work.

This is what I have tried (in no particular order):
Re-seating the cards
Swapping the card in the PCIe slots
Re-seating the Crossfire bridge, and switching it to a different bridge point on the cards
Re-Installing the drivers (three times)
Disabling and re-enabling crossfire in CCC (or whatever it is called now)
Disabling and re-enabling Dual GPU support in Bios
Flashing the CMOS

and none of that seems to work. CCC shows two different cards, as does GPU-Z, and the Device manager shows both 5770's, but in GPU-Z it says Crossfire is disabled, and in CCC the second card is shown as 0% on everything, and the clock speeds all read really low.
Also on GPU-Z, it says both of the Cards are running at x8... Which is really weird considering my mobo supports both cards running at x16, as they were this morning. I am starting to think It is my power supply maybe? Or possibly the fact that I have too much crap crammed into my SATA II connectors (which I heard share the same bus as the GPU's sometimes???)

Here is my gear, I can provide screenshots of everything if anybody wants.
Phenom II x4 965 BE Stock
ASUS M4A79T Deluxe (790FX)
x2 Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1GB
x2 1TB Seagate Barracuda (one is sata III, one is sata II)
120GB Corsair Force 3 SSD
8GB G-Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333
Corsair TX650W PSU
Corsair H50 in Push/Pull
NZXT Touch-Screen Fan Controller
x2 200MM fans
x5 120MM LED Fans
and a generic ASUS DVD burner

Help?!
AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE (currently OCing)
ATI Radeon HD 5770 x2 in Crossfire
8GB GSKILL Ripjaw series PC 10700 @ 9.9.9.25 (currently OCing)
Corsair TX650W PSU
Coolermaster HAF932
Corsair H50 in Push-Pull Config
Asus DVD Burner
Seagate 1TB HDD @ 7200 RPM

#2 TraptPatriot

TraptPatriot

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 999 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 18 March 2012 - 06:05 AM

Seems like you are running a lot for a 650W PSU. Two 5770's require a 600w at least, and you have a TON of extra stuff feeding off of it. Where are all of your fans connected? Other than that, I have no idea man. Hope ya get it figured out.

i5 2500K | ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
8GB Corsair Vengeance | Samsung 840 EVO
MSI 780ti Gaming | Corsair 750D
Corsair RM1000 | Custom Watercooling


#3 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 March 2012 - 09:00 AM

Which version of catalyst are you using?

boozei.gif


#4 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 18 March 2012 - 09:16 AM

Install your motherboard chipset drivers, then reboot. Then uninstall CCC again but use Atiman Uninstaller v.6.3.1. Then continue onto Step 5 on the guide in my sig: [Guide] How to update AMD Catalyst Drivers. When you're done, enable Crossfire in CCC.

#5 mojunikey7

mojunikey7

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pearl Harbor, HI

Posted 18 March 2012 - 12:45 PM

Install your motherboard chipset drivers, then reboot. Then uninstall CCC again but use Atiman Uninstaller v.6.3.1. Then continue onto Step 5 on the guide in my sig: [Guide] How to update AMD Catalyst Drivers. When you're done, enable Crossfire in CCC.

So I need to uninstall and reinstall my chipset, then CCC? Never tried that. Thanks!

To answer the previous question most of the fans are plugged into my fan controller, only the push/pull configure on the H50 is plugged into my mobo.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE (currently OCing)
ATI Radeon HD 5770 x2 in Crossfire
8GB GSKILL Ripjaw series PC 10700 @ 9.9.9.25 (currently OCing)
Corsair TX650W PSU
Coolermaster HAF932
Corsair H50 in Push-Pull Config
Asus DVD Burner
Seagate 1TB HDD @ 7200 RPM

#6 mojunikey7

mojunikey7

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pearl Harbor, HI

Posted 18 March 2012 - 02:12 PM

Alright, got crossfire to work, shows both in MSI afterburner and GPU-Z, but in MSI it shows the core clock at 157Mhz for the second card, and the memory clock at 300Mhz. Any idea why it isnt running normally? Btw, on GPU-Z it shows both running at x16, with a core clock of 850Mhz and a Memory Clock of 1200Mhz.

Edited by mojunikey7, 18 March 2012 - 03:53 PM.

AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE (currently OCing)
ATI Radeon HD 5770 x2 in Crossfire
8GB GSKILL Ripjaw series PC 10700 @ 9.9.9.25 (currently OCing)
Corsair TX650W PSU
Coolermaster HAF932
Corsair H50 in Push-Pull Config
Asus DVD Burner
Seagate 1TB HDD @ 7200 RPM

#7 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deming, NM

Posted 18 March 2012 - 07:07 PM

Alright, got crossfire to work, shows both in MSI afterburner and GPU-Z, but in MSI it shows the core clock at 157Mhz for the second card, and the memory clock at 300Mhz. Any idea why it isnt running normally? Btw, on GPU-Z it shows both running at x16, with a core clock of 850Mhz and a Memory Clock of 1200Mhz.


If the second card is at those clocks while just browsing the web, that is fine. If it does that while gaming, then you have a problem. Those clocks are what the card drops down to in order to save power, nothing out of the ordinary unless it doesn't spool back up to the 3D clocks.

AMD Phenom II X6 1075T @ 3.6GHz - ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO - EVGA GTX 770 2GB
G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 - OCZ Agility 4 128GB SSD - Seagate 500GB + 750GB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Sennheiser HD-280 Pro + HD-555 - Thermolab BARAM 2010 - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
fqIbpPl.png


#8 mojunikey7

mojunikey7

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pearl Harbor, HI

Posted 18 March 2012 - 11:43 PM

If the second card is at those clocks while just browsing the web, that is fine. If it does that while gaming, then you have a problem. Those clocks are what the card drops down to in order to save power, nothing out of the ordinary unless it doesn't spool back up to the 3D clocks.

Yeah, figured that out when I ran OCCT arlier. Thank you guys for all of your help. Turns out the new catalyst control center was causing the problem. Threw in my old driver disc from sapphire and told CCC and the drivers not to update and its working fine now. All I had to do after that was reset my fan curve.in afterburner so they wont go above 78c on full load.

Edited by mojunikey7, 18 March 2012 - 11:45 PM.

AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE (currently OCing)
ATI Radeon HD 5770 x2 in Crossfire
8GB GSKILL Ripjaw series PC 10700 @ 9.9.9.25 (currently OCing)
Corsair TX650W PSU
Coolermaster HAF932
Corsair H50 in Push-Pull Config
Asus DVD Burner
Seagate 1TB HDD @ 7200 RPM