Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

How to set up an online web server


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Endevor

Endevor

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SC

Posted 09 March 2012 - 01:42 PM

Alright, here's my situation:

I have my desktop set up to pretty much run everything from games to music to movies to programs to word processing, etc. A lot pretty much, a lot like a lot of your machines.

What I want to do is be able to access it with my laptop, not necessarily work on it, but add/access files. So far I've been using sites such as Logmein and dropbox which is fine for things like text files, but I've recently run into the issue that I want to watch a movie or a show that's been recorded on my PC on my laptop or on another computer. Is there a way I can in a sense create a website that only I can access and stream movies or shows over? I mean, I know there's ways to do stuff like that, but does anyone know where I can find out how or if I need to go through some company. I'd prefer to do this for free, maintain everything on my own and what not, but if I have to pay a domain or something, I will. What I want to avoid is some sort of monthly payment for someone else to host all my crap. Anyone know how to do this or lead me to some online tutorial?

I've read around these forums and some online, from what I understand I need to set up some sort of WAMP since I'm on a Windows 7 64b system, but I don't really know how to set that up yet.

Thanks!
When life gives you lemons,
find someone who life gave them vodka and have a party.


Case: Modded NZXT Phantom 410
Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1090T (OC: 3.6Ghz)
Graphics Card: Diamond HD Radeon 6950 2g (Flashed to 6970)
RAM: Patriot Viper Xtreme, Division 2 Ed (4x4G) DDR3
Mobo: AsRock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional
HD: Samsung SSD 830 Series SATA 6Gb/s 128GB
CPU and GPU, liquid cooled.

#2 gotdamojo06

gotdamojo06

    burrr...cpu is cold

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 09 March 2012 - 03:31 PM

http://www.zumocast.com/


This is what I use...it will let me watch all my movies and listen to all my music on my PC on my phone.

you can also go to the website from a web browser and play such files :)

Posted Image OCC|GOTDAMOJO06 - Reviewer
Posted Image
5226MHz


#3 Endevor

Endevor

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SC

Posted 09 March 2012 - 04:46 PM

Thanks! That actually does exactly what I wanted. I do though eventually like to make my own software, but that's probably a ways down the road in my programming career. It doesn't stream in HD, at least not over a wireless connection, but I'm still impressed with the lack of lag in the streaming.
When life gives you lemons,
find someone who life gave them vodka and have a party.


Case: Modded NZXT Phantom 410
Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1090T (OC: 3.6Ghz)
Graphics Card: Diamond HD Radeon 6950 2g (Flashed to 6970)
RAM: Patriot Viper Xtreme, Division 2 Ed (4x4G) DDR3
Mobo: AsRock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional
HD: Samsung SSD 830 Series SATA 6Gb/s 128GB
CPU and GPU, liquid cooled.

#4 gotdamojo06

gotdamojo06

    burrr...cpu is cold

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 09 March 2012 - 05:03 PM

Thanks! That actually does exactly what I wanted. I do though eventually like to make my own software, but that's probably a ways down the road in my programming career. It doesn't stream in HD, at least not over a wireless connection, but I'm still impressed with the lack of lag in the streaming.


glad I could help...works perfect for streaming music to my phone...keeps me from having to have it all stored on a card

Posted Image OCC|GOTDAMOJO06 - Reviewer
Posted Image
5226MHz


#5 road-runner

road-runner

    Posting Machine

  • Folding Member
  • 10734 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 09 March 2012 - 05:18 PM

Anything like that to work with blackberry?

sigimage.gif


#6 Endevor

Endevor

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SC

Posted 09 March 2012 - 05:25 PM

Sadly doesn't work on my phone yet. Only have the Droid X. It seems pretty limited as far as phone support
When life gives you lemons,
find someone who life gave them vodka and have a party.


Case: Modded NZXT Phantom 410
Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1090T (OC: 3.6Ghz)
Graphics Card: Diamond HD Radeon 6950 2g (Flashed to 6970)
RAM: Patriot Viper Xtreme, Division 2 Ed (4x4G) DDR3
Mobo: AsRock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional
HD: Samsung SSD 830 Series SATA 6Gb/s 128GB
CPU and GPU, liquid cooled.

#7 road-runner

road-runner

    Posting Machine

  • Folding Member
  • 10734 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 09 March 2012 - 05:28 PM

I was going to download it then saw the phones it worked with and mine wasnt there, also got an error message that my O/S was not supported to check back later... W7 64 bit...

Posted Image

Edited by road-runner, 09 March 2012 - 05:36 PM.


sigimage.gif


#8 Endevor

Endevor

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SC

Posted 09 March 2012 - 05:30 PM

I have W7 Ultimate 64, it works on mine
When life gives you lemons,
find someone who life gave them vodka and have a party.


Case: Modded NZXT Phantom 410
Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1090T (OC: 3.6Ghz)
Graphics Card: Diamond HD Radeon 6950 2g (Flashed to 6970)
RAM: Patriot Viper Xtreme, Division 2 Ed (4x4G) DDR3
Mobo: AsRock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional
HD: Samsung SSD 830 Series SATA 6Gb/s 128GB
CPU and GPU, liquid cooled.

#9 road-runner

road-runner

    Posting Machine

  • Folding Member
  • 10734 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 09 March 2012 - 05:37 PM

I have W7 Ultimate 64, it works on mine


Oh it says existing something another customer...

sigimage.gif