Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Watercooling results


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 red1776

red1776

    Watercool it...then burn it!

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 722 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:mpls mn

Posted 23 February 2012 - 11:56 PM

I recently replaced my 'Big air' Silver Arrow with a dual rad setup and have been trying to put a metric on how well the cooling is working.

I placed sensors on the tubing an equal distance from the corresponding exit fitting using foil tape ....

Delta_T_wc.jpg

I took reading this way, and then covered the sensors with hot melt (which i have learned has the same thermal properties as tubing +/- 5%) to protect from outside heat sources and ran the temps again

Both tests Delta temp were identical. The sensors were used on a known temperature to start and were spot on.

The results were taken after 30 minutes idle and 30 minutes into 100% load test

@ 22 Ambient room

4.9Ghz @1.52v

Delta T Radiator out / CPU block out 3c

Delta T Idle to 100% load stress test 18c

***if anyone else plays with this stuff I would like to hear your results if you care to post them :)





2.2kW Holodeck VII Posted Image

[email protected]/Gigabyte GA-990-FXA-UD7 (rev 1.1)/16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133 MHz/4 X HD 7970 Quadfire / 1x Corsiar AX1200W/2x FSP Group X5 1000W/1XNexXxos XT45 360mm/2 x NexXxos XT45 240mm/1xNexXxos XT45 120mm Rads/ 3 X VPP-655 Pumps/ Koolance 370 CPU Block/ Heatkiller GPU X-3 Waterblocks/ Rad Fans Coolermaster Excaliber/Bitspower & Monsoon Fittings/Primochill Tubing/ Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 2/Heatkiller X-3 Multilink Quad Bridge/BitsPower Z-Multi 250mML Reservoir/ Eyefinity 3+1 Extended 5760 x 1080-25" Monitors

#2 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 24 February 2012 - 12:14 AM

Red go buy a bitspower g1/4 screw in thermister and report back with some other temps, not sure that I can trust the accuracy of readings taken through the tubing.

Either way though temps are looking pretty damn sweet, how is the noise? Cougers doing well?

Posted Image

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#3 red1776

red1776

    Watercool it...then burn it!

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 722 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:mpls mn

Posted 24 February 2012 - 12:25 AM

Red go buy a bitspower g1/4 screw in thermister and report back with some other temps, not sure that I can trust the accuracy of readings taken through the tubing.

Either way though temps are looking pretty damn sweet, how is the noise? Cougers doing well?




Yeah I am going to get a top notch thermo after this, I am really enjoying it. I was guided in this by a WC'ing Guru on this test, so I trust the rad out/CPU block out test to be reasonably accurate. It's also the reason that i am going after Delta temps. The old fashioned method backs it up as well. You are really hard pressed to feel a difference between the two.


Would you throw me a link to the one you recommend? ***** I found it*** :) http://www.sidewinde...g1tesestfi.html

The Cougars were a great choice, very quiet.

Choosing the rad thickness was a guesstimate, and I apparently got lucky. I think 45mm was the way to go :thumbsup:
2.2kW Holodeck VII Posted Image

[email protected]/Gigabyte GA-990-FXA-UD7 (rev 1.1)/16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133 MHz/4 X HD 7970 Quadfire / 1x Corsiar AX1200W/2x FSP Group X5 1000W/1XNexXxos XT45 360mm/2 x NexXxos XT45 240mm/1xNexXxos XT45 120mm Rads/ 3 X VPP-655 Pumps/ Koolance 370 CPU Block/ Heatkiller GPU X-3 Waterblocks/ Rad Fans Coolermaster Excaliber/Bitspower & Monsoon Fittings/Primochill Tubing/ Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 2/Heatkiller X-3 Multilink Quad Bridge/BitsPower Z-Multi 250mML Reservoir/ Eyefinity 3+1 Extended 5760 x 1080-25" Monitors

#4 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2012 - 01:29 AM

Nice temptatures & setup.
But don't you think that 1.52V is a bit high? :dunno:

boozei.gif


#5 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5256 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 24 February 2012 - 01:35 AM

Nice temptatures & setup.
But don't you think that 1.52V is a bit high? :dunno:

Look at ambient and delta T as long as his vrm and mosfet is still being well cooled (look at the spot fan in his pic) he should have no issues at all. Also it is bulldozer not sandybridge.

That is the one Red also comes in black. Also check this out for a cool addition to the loop.

Posted Image

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#6 red1776

red1776

    Watercool it...then burn it!

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 722 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:mpls mn

Posted 24 February 2012 - 08:03 AM

@ d6, Like stoner said. This is BD not SB. The max Vcore for normal cooling methods is 1.55v. I am not coming close to the max thermal for the CPU.

@ Stoner, The NB and VRM are running in the high 30's , but I ordered a chipset/VRM block anyway for it.

If I can find the sensor/readout set you linked to, I have a spot for it :) 


2.2kW Holodeck VII Posted Image

[email protected]/Gigabyte GA-990-FXA-UD7 (rev 1.1)/16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133 MHz/4 X HD 7970 Quadfire / 1x Corsiar AX1200W/2x FSP Group X5 1000W/1XNexXxos XT45 360mm/2 x NexXxos XT45 240mm/1xNexXxos XT45 120mm Rads/ 3 X VPP-655 Pumps/ Koolance 370 CPU Block/ Heatkiller GPU X-3 Waterblocks/ Rad Fans Coolermaster Excaliber/Bitspower & Monsoon Fittings/Primochill Tubing/ Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 2/Heatkiller X-3 Multilink Quad Bridge/BitsPower Z-Multi 250mML Reservoir/ Eyefinity 3+1 Extended 5760 x 1080-25" Monitors

#7 boinker

boinker

    Im a Watchin you......

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Del Sity, Oklahoma

Posted 24 February 2012 - 09:39 AM

Waco did a simalar test on this with actaul in loop temp sensors. Ill just wait for him to come on the tell us what's up.

"It works Because I threatened it. :lol:" - " did you show it the sledgehammer" - "No, A flight of stairs"
"I don't want to be much of a forum Nazi but this situation calls for a hail Bosco and blitzkrieg someone".

If that does not work I hop in a Madcat and Blast it to microscopic Particles.


#8 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2012 - 11:18 AM

Sorry guys. I forget to look at the signature while posting at the first place. :blush:

boozei.gif


#9 ccokeman

ccokeman

    Frank <3 Reesa

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11294 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2012 - 06:06 PM

Nice Red! Will she go to 5.0 and stay stable or is that all shes got?
Processor Intel Core I7 920 @ 3.6
Memory Mushkin 998995 Blackline 12GB 9-9-9-24
Motherboard MSI X58 Big Bang
Graphics ASUS GTX 580
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor Gateway UXD3000, LG W3000H, ASUS VG236 x 3
Water Cooling By DangerDen & Swiftech
Follow OCC on Posted Image

#10 sticknstone

sticknstone

    Good Times!

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 26 February 2012 - 07:06 PM

I have that liquid sensor and the specs are 10k @ 25c. When I purchased mine I searched all over the web for those specs but ended up ordering it with my fingers crossed hoping it would work. Other sensors are 50k @ 25c so that got me thinking that the resistance difference is probably the reason that some software temp monitors report temps off by the 10 or so degrees sometimes.
Gigabyte mobo GA-MA790GP-DS4H, AMD Phenom x4 CPU 9950 BE 3.08 GHz

#11 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15204 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 26 February 2012 - 07:15 PM

You get 18 C delta T under full load? You need more cooling!!! With my 5970 @ 1.3 volts, 1000/1200, and my Phenom II at 1.55 volts, 3.4 GHz (tri->quad unlocked), I only get a 4 C rise over ambient. :teehee:


The biggest delta T within my loop was less than a single degree when I had my two 4870X2s (at 800/900) and the same Phenom II. It looks like your flow might be a bit low.

Posted Image

Booyah.


#12 sticknstone

sticknstone

    Good Times!

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 26 February 2012 - 07:38 PM

I added a 2x120 rad in my loop and seen my flow indicator spin slightly slower, but my occt test for 3.08 ghz dropped ~6c despite using the two 80mm fans on the top of my case (60 cfm). I wonder what two 120mm fans would give me?
Gigabyte mobo GA-MA790GP-DS4H, AMD Phenom x4 CPU 9950 BE 3.08 GHz