Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Temps for FX-8150


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 neko77025

neko77025

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts

Posted 05 January 2012 - 11:29 PM

So, just got my FX-8150. Also got A Corsair CH80.

When I try too OC with 1.45 V temps get like 75c when i run prime 95 .. so i stop.


Anyhow .. My Idle temp is 32 - 34 C ... 56c on Prime 95 with stock.

What are yall geting for stock Temps ... and load temps ?

Edited by neko77025, 05 January 2012 - 11:52 PM.

Window 7-U-65bit AMD 965 @ 4.0Ghz W/ ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-R
Asus Crosshair V G.Skill Sniper 1866 2x4Gb
MSI Lighting 6970 Mushkin Chronos 120GB SSD (SF-2281)
Creative Labs X-fi [ PCI ] Ultra x3 1000w
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P50R

#2 Tjj226_Angel

Tjj226_Angel

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA

Posted 06 January 2012 - 12:31 AM

Lol. I don't stop prime until I hit 100C. 75C is fine for a CPU as long as it is stable. My temps weren't any better with the test sample I got. I was running the D14 on a open air test bench, and my highest temp with a 4.6 ghz over clock while running 1.44v was about 71 max. Could have probably had better temps, but I am using AS5 still and probably put too much on the CPU anyways. I mean, if I were really trying to get that temp down, I probably could have lowered it 4 degrees by making extra sure I mounted the heat sink on right. That might be your problem as well.

You aren't by any chance using the TIM that is already on the cooler when it came out of the box, are you? If so, just get some good TIM. Let your temps get down to 70C. Be happy and call it quits.

However, since I assume that is not the issues, could you tell us your BIOS settings? Maybe you can tweak things to reduce the CPU voltage/ cpu heat.

#3 neko77025

neko77025

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts

Posted 06 January 2012 - 12:53 AM

Lol. I don't stop prime until I hit 100C. 75C is fine for a CPU as long as it is stable. My temps weren't any better with the test sample I got. I was running the D14 on a open air test bench, and my highest temp with a 4.6 ghz over clock while running 1.44v was about 71 max. Could have probably had better temps, but I am using AS5 still and probably put too much on the CPU anyways. I mean, if I were really trying to get that temp down, I probably could have lowered it 4 degrees by making extra sure I mounted the heat sink on right. That might be your problem as well.

You aren't by any chance using the TIM that is already on the cooler when it came out of the box, are you? If so, just get some good TIM. Let your temps get down to 70C. Be happy and call it quits.

However, since I assume that is not the issues, could you tell us your BIOS settings? Maybe you can tweak things to reduce the CPU voltage/ cpu heat.



well ... now I am confused ... I was useing HWinFO64 to see my temps ... I installed Core temp 1.0 .. and it shows them WAY lower ... Almost too Low. Core Temp is showing my Temps of all 8x cores at 12 -14c idle.

What software do yall use to check temps ?


Edit (added info) .. so ran AMD overdrive ... it gives the same temps that Core Temp 1.0 gives .. alot lower then HiwinFo64. ... as far was what the setting are .. right now I have all OC off .. everything set at auto ... just tryn too see where my temps are now. .. back too OCing tomarrow .. if I dont get 5.0 GHZ .. going too be pissed.

Edited by neko77025, 06 January 2012 - 01:37 AM.

Window 7-U-65bit AMD 965 @ 4.0Ghz W/ ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-R
Asus Crosshair V G.Skill Sniper 1866 2x4Gb
MSI Lighting 6970 Mushkin Chronos 120GB SSD (SF-2281)
Creative Labs X-fi [ PCI ] Ultra x3 1000w
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P50R

#4 tacohunter52

tacohunter52

    R34CT1V4T3D

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado

Posted 06 January 2012 - 01:49 AM

Lol. I don't stop prime until I hit 100C. 75C is fine for a CPU as long as it is stable. My temps weren't any better with the test sample I got. I was running the D14 on a open air test bench, and my highest temp with a 4.6 ghz over clock while running 1.44v was about 71 max. Could have probably had better temps, but I am using AS5 still and probably put too much on the CPU anyways. I mean, if I were really trying to get that temp down, I probably could have lowered it 4 degrees by making extra sure I mounted the heat sink on right. That might be your problem as well.

You aren't by any chance using the TIM that is already on the cooler when it came out of the box, are you? If so, just get some good TIM. Let your temps get down to 70C. Be happy and call it quits.

However, since I assume that is not the issues, could you tell us your BIOS settings? Maybe you can tweak things to reduce the CPU voltage/ cpu heat.


This is incorrect. Intel chips can hit high temperatures yes, but doing the same thing to an AMD chip is a good way to kill it.

Most of these newer AMD chips should stay below 60C, the FX 8150's max temp is 61C:

http://www.cpu-world...es FX-8150.html

@OP you'll need to lower the vcore, this may require you to lower your OC.

Posted Image

Generic Most Awesome Sig


#5 VaporX

VaporX

    Sapphire Gaming Evangelist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1710 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 06 January 2012 - 04:27 AM

Okay the issue with the FX chips seems to be the only really accurate numbers are those from the BIOS. AOD and other programs all gave me much lower numbers often as much as 10C below ambient room temp at idle. Even AMD has told me that the BIOS numbers are closest to accurate. With that bein g the case I have seen my 8150 hit 70C at higher overclockers as well under stress and run fine.

Edward "Vapor-X" Crisler

Sapphire North America PR Represenative

"I don't play when it comes to gaming"

 


#6 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 06 January 2012 - 09:09 AM

My 8120, when i had it, read waaaay off for temps also. 8 C idle in a 25 C room? Right. :lol:

sig.png

Booyah.


#7 Tjj226_Angel

Tjj226_Angel

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA

Posted 06 January 2012 - 09:47 AM

This is incorrect. Intel chips can hit high temperatures yes, but doing the same thing to an AMD chip is a good way to kill it.

Most of these newer AMD chips should stay below 60C, the FX 8150's max temp is 61C:

http://www.cpu-world...es FX-8150.html

@OP you'll need to lower the vcore, this may require you to lower your OC.


Well I get that AMD chips aren't supposed to get hot, but 61 max? I think that as long as your aren't getting into the 75 range on prime you should be fine and it would probably be smart to make sure the max is below 70. I look at prime as though my CPU will be 10 degrees cooler because the chances of me running max load on a CPU is slim. Even running a game at max settings won't put as much stress on the CPU as prime. Basically I take that "max temp" as a max temp in real world applications. That is why I am not too concerned with a max prime 95 at 69. However, I will say that the OP temps aren't making sense and that they should probably be about 9 degrees cooler (especially since he probably has lower ambient temps than I did when I did my overclock), but I think a better application of TIM and maybe some Silverstone air penetrator fans should solve the issue. Basically my point was that he shouldn't have to back off that OC. He should lower the temps, but it isn't like the chip is hitting 90C either. So all I am saying is it is a little snag, but it isn't like a crysis or anything.

#8 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 06 January 2012 - 11:06 AM

61 C is the max for AMD chips.

sig.png

Booyah.


#9 tacohunter52

tacohunter52

    R34CT1V4T3D

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado

Posted 06 January 2012 - 11:53 AM

61 C is the max for AMD chips.


+1

This is the MAX operating temperature. Running at temps higher than this will quickly degrade your chip.

Example: I've had a 920 running higher than 100c. Did the chip still work. Yes. Are those safe temps. No.

Posted Image

Generic Most Awesome Sig


#10 Tjj226_Angel

Tjj226_Angel

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA

Posted 06 January 2012 - 12:02 PM

+1

This is the MAX operating temperature. Running at temps higher than this will quickly degrade your chip.

Example: I've had a 920 running higher than 100c. Did the chip still work. Yes. Are those safe temps. No.


Alright then I will take you word on that then.

#11 neko77025

neko77025

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts

Posted 06 January 2012 - 12:45 PM

Ok ... so this is what I think I know / can tell.


In bios (ASUS Crossair V ROG) CPU idle temp is 34c ... CPU is running At 3600mhz (stock speed) [ I think this is right ]

In Windows with " Core Temp program " CPU Idle temp Per Core is 9c - 12c ... However the CPU / all cores are at 1400mhz (drops when in idle) [ this seems very low ]

In Windows with " AMD Overdrive " CPU idle temps Per Core is 9c - 12x ( this matches "Core Temp" & CPU is running at 1400mhz)

In Windows with " HWiNFO64 " I see 2x temps they look like this.

1) AMD 10h+ CPU Thermal Sensor
CPU 0 9.3c - 11.8 C

2) ITE IT8721F
CPU 0 32.0 C - 32.0C

Other Info. With System running Prime95 -64bit Core Temp & AMD 10h+ CPU Thermal Sensor show A max of 37c @ Full LOAD. The ITE IT8721F shows MAX temp 55c.
Also in bios i have volts set at stock (auto) ... reads 1.308 Volts. in CPU-Z

And yes I do not want to go above 61c with prime 95 ... .... witch temps should I go buy ... if I OC one temps see very high .. but with out OC .. the other seem very low.

System Info.
AMD FX-8150 , Corsair h80, Asus Crossair V, G.Skill 1866 DDR, Mushkin Chronos 120GB Sata III, MSI 6970 Lighting, Ultra x3 1000w, WD black 750gb, Window 7 64bit ultra
Window 7-U-65bit AMD 965 @ 4.0Ghz W/ ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-R
Asus Crosshair V G.Skill Sniper 1866 2x4Gb
MSI Lighting 6970 Mushkin Chronos 120GB SSD (SF-2281)
Creative Labs X-fi [ PCI ] Ultra x3 1000w
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P50R

#12 Drdeath

Drdeath

    Certified Geek

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1573 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago Burbs

Posted 06 January 2012 - 01:29 PM

So, just got my FX-8150. Also got A Corsair CH80.

When I try too OC with 1.45 V temps get like 75c when i run prime 95 .. so i stop.


Anyhow .. My Idle temp is 32 - 34 C ... 56c on Prime 95 with stock.

What are yall geting for stock Temps ... and load temps ?


Something is wrong. Those temps are way high for your cooling. Perhaps your block is not installed correctly.

FYI with custom water setup with Apogee XT rev. 1 and Thermalchill TA 120.3 I get max load temp of 45 celsius at 1.6 volts with 21 ambient on a FX-8150 at 4.6 GHz stable 24/7.

WACO NEEDS A HUG KILLER: Intel Core i7 3770K Overclocked to 4.9GHz stable 24/7
Gigabyte Z77 UD7/ Nexus 1100/ 3 x Sappire Dual 7970's 1150-1600/ 16G G.Skill Tridents Memory Overclocked to 2200MHz cas 9
OCZ 240G Revo Drive/ Phobya WayCooLit TestBench
Custom Water/ Swiftech Apogee XT/ Liang MCP655/ Thermalchill PA120.3 plus 120.2

JEALOUS BLUE PANDA GOT MUGGED AND KICKED BY GIRL SCOUTS KILLER: Same as above with 3930K/ Gigabyte X79 UD4 when I feel like it.

JEALOUS WACO KILLER II: A10-5800K TRINITY/ ASRock A85 Extreme 4/Noctua C-14 Air Cooling/ Radeon 6670/ Seasonic 550W PSU/ 8G Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz Low-Profile Memory/ 120G OCZ Vertex 3/ 320 Veloci-Raptor/ Hauppauge Win-TV TV Tuner/ Zalman HD503 HTPC case