Jump to content


Photo

My First Official Worklog (Bahamut's Lagoon)


52 replies to this topic

#13 sticknstone

sticknstone

    Good Times!

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 01 January 2012 - 09:04 PM

Yeah, honestly I like the FX990 chipset better than the X79 in most regards. Native USB 3.0, a ton of SATA 3 ports, sure it has I think 8 less lanes, which kinda sucks, and no PCI-e 3.0 (another thing the X79 wins).


At least there are options of expansion cards for usb 3 or sata 3, but it wouldn't be native.

Too bad we can't have the best of both works, eh?


I find the same thing with many components.
Gigabyte mobo GA-MA790GP-DS4H, AMD Phenom x4 CPU 9950 BE 3.08 GHz

#14 NikoDG

NikoDG

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1130 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 January 2012 - 10:24 PM

I've updated this post, my CPU still hasn't arrived, but I've figure out my watercooling set up. I also changed the name of my build, and the theme slightly, to better reflect what I'm planning on doing. I'm no longer going to be waiting for the GTX 700 series, I'm going to go straight for the HD 7970 once it is released. Based on that I've decided to go with a red and blue theme, and I have also decided to change my HAF X side panel, trading it in for a HAF 932 AMD Edition side panel with the dragon.

#15 Tjj226_Angel

Tjj226_Angel

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2526 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA

Posted 02 January 2012 - 11:14 PM

Um... Niko? I hate to break it to you, but I don't think that case will work for that water cooling setup. People can correct me, but I don't think you are going to have enough room.

Can you exchange it for a cosmos 2?

#16 NikoDG

NikoDG

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1130 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 January 2012 - 11:20 PM

Um... Niko? I hate to break it to you, but I don't think that case will work for that water cooling setup. People can correct me, but I don't think you are going to have enough room.

Can you exchange it for a cosmos 2?

Oh snap. I just saw the Cosmos II review on our front page. This thing dwarfs the HAF X! With dimensions like 344x704x644mm the HAF X's 230x550x590 just seems tiny. I will most likely be taking your advice and sending the HAF X back so I can get the Cosmos II, thanks TJ.

Edited by NikoDG, 02 January 2012 - 11:55 PM.


#17 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 03 January 2012 - 01:58 AM

Oh snap. I just saw the Cosmos II review on our front page. This thing dwarfs the HAF X! With dimensions like 344x704x644mm the HAF X's 230x550x590 just seems tiny. I will most likely be taking your advice and sending the HAF X back so I can get the Cosmos II, thanks TJ.


yeah get the cosmos 2, that case is beastly

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#18 NikoDG

NikoDG

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1130 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 January 2012 - 07:04 AM

Gah, that price, lol. I don't think I'm gonna get the Cosmos II unfortunately, the main reason being money. If I RMA my HAF X I will lose almost $100 thanks to the restocking fee and shipping cost, that on top of what will probably be a $400 case in Canada, and I'm assuming about the same amount to ship, and then taxes. It will cost me near $600 to send my HAF X back and replace it with a Cosmos II, which just isn't justifiable.

#19 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15070 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 03 January 2012 - 07:29 AM

I'd take the HAF X over the Cosmos 2...the latter is just soooo expensive and the features don't seem to warrant the price. I mean...they're cool, but I can buy a fan controller myself thank you very much. :lol:

Also - your pump - isn't it just a regular D5 vario? The 655B is the non-vario set to speed 4.

Posted Image

Booyah.


#20 NikoDG

NikoDG

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1130 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 January 2012 - 07:42 AM

I think so, maybe Alphacool modifies it a little, or maybe it simply runs faster without the housing. It's also possible that those specs are just crap, lol.

#21 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 January 2012 - 08:40 AM

nice start there. ;)

boozei.gif


#22 NikoDG

NikoDG

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1130 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 January 2012 - 12:17 PM

Thanks :)
Since I'm getting a different side panel I'm only going to have the front 230mm fan as an intake so I'm thinking U should probably get a better fan to improve over the stock one. Does anyone know if the Bitfenix Spectre Pro 230mm Red LED fan would be a significant improvement over my case's stock fan? The Bitfenix is rated for 156CFM at 900RPM while the stock fan is rated at 110CFM at 700RPM. I'm basically just asking because I don't know of anyone with one of the Bitfenix fans, so I don't know if the CFM they advertise is correct, I don't know what the build quality is like, and I don't know how loud they would be.

#23 boinker

boinker

    Im a Watchin you......

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3275 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Del Sity, Oklahoma

Posted 08 January 2012 - 08:37 PM

If you want something with airflow and don't mind noise then a silverstone air penetrator is the only way to go. All you have to do is drill extra holes in the fans shroud and you can fit it in there well.

"It works Because I threatened it. :lol:" - " did you show it the sledgehammer" - "No, A flight of stairs"
"I don't want to be much of a forum Nazi but this situation calls for a hail Bosco and blitzkrieg someone".

If that does not work I hop in a Madcat and Blast it to microscopic Particles.


#24 Tjj226_Angel

Tjj226_Angel

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2526 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA

Posted 08 January 2012 - 09:04 PM

If you want something with airflow and don't mind noise then a silverstone air penetrator is the only way to go. All you have to do is drill extra holes in the fans shroud and you can fit it in there well.


+1 . I just recently discovered how good the fans are, and for the price, I would go with the silverstone fans. They have some for 13 bucks on newegg, so compared to some 22 buck NF-F12 fans, they could definitely save you a pretty penny on something like your build.



Reply to this topic