Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

AMD 1090T


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Hyper

Hyper

    Of course it will fit, I have power tools.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, WA

Posted 05 October 2011 - 08:54 AM

It's been a while since I've played around with an AMD chip, and was wondering what a safe volage for OC'ing for a 24/7 clock would be?



I currently have it at 1.3875v on the core (20x200) Temp's loaded are around 40c.

It passes IBT and OCCT just fine but reboots after several hours of folding (not sure how long when I check it after 4-6 hrs I've found it had rebooted)... but found some of the memory settings messed up.. and the chipset seems to be getting pretty hot. So will sort that out :)




ASRock 990FX Pro
1090T Black edition
Posted Image

#2 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 05 October 2011 - 09:37 AM

From my experience, if the chipset is too hot, the system will reboot. Get it cooled down, and you'll be fine. If not, raise your vcore, it seems low, or you just have a great chip.

#3 Hyper

Hyper

    Of course it will fit, I have power tools.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, WA

Posted 05 October 2011 - 09:47 AM

chipset seems to be running at about 48c acording to speedfan
Posted Image

#4 red1776

red1776

    Watercool it...then burn it!

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 722 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:mpls mn

Posted 05 October 2011 - 09:54 AM

Assuming that you keep temps in line, 1.55v is the generally accepted upper limit for everyday use. but as EL said, watch the NB temp as well. They are designed to run a bit warm, but some get a bit wonky above 60c

Edited by red1776, 05 October 2011 - 09:56 AM.

2.2kW Holodeck VII Posted Image

[email protected]/Gigabyte GA-990-FXA-UD7 (rev 1.1)/16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133 MHz/4 X HD 7970 Quadfire / 1x Corsiar AX1200W/2x FSP Group X5 1000W/1XNexXxos XT45 360mm/2 x NexXxos XT45 240mm/1xNexXxos XT45 120mm Rads/ 3 X VPP-655 Pumps/ Koolance 370 CPU Block/ Heatkiller GPU X-3 Waterblocks/ Rad Fans Coolermaster Excaliber/Bitspower & Monsoon Fittings/Primochill Tubing/ Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 2/Heatkiller X-3 Multilink Quad Bridge/BitsPower Z-Multi 250mML Reservoir/ Eyefinity 3+1 Extended 5760 x 1080-25" Monitors

#5 Hyper

Hyper

    Of course it will fit, I have power tools.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, WA

Posted 05 October 2011 - 10:16 AM

Assuming that you keep temps in line, 1.55v is the generally accepted upper limit for everyday use. but as EL said, watch the NB temp as well. They are designed to run a bit warm, but some get a bit wonky above 60c



ok, thanks. I put a fan blowing on the chipset and it seems stable at 48c. I bumped the vcore up to 1.400 in the bios but speed fan and CPU-Z says 1.44v... used to a lower value then set rather then higher. Other voltages are on auto. I'll see how long this runs :)
Posted Image

#6 medbor

medbor

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 884 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 05 October 2011 - 12:19 PM

ok, thanks. I put a fan blowing on the chipset and it seems stable at 48c. I bumped the vcore up to 1.400 in the bios but speed fan and CPU-Z says 1.44v... used to a lower value then set rather then higher. Other voltages are on auto. I'll see how long this runs :)

Don't use auto voltages. they might overvolt under load far higher than you want...

CPU - C2Q Q6600 @1.2-3,05 GHz |#| RAM - 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-800 Kingston ValueRam
GPU - MSI Radeon HD4830 512MB @ 295-700MHz |#| GPU2 - GeForce 7500LE 128MB
Cooler - Hyper 212+ (push/pull) |#| SSD - Vertex 2 60GB |#| MoBo - Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
SATA HDDs - HD154UI 1.5TB, 15EARS 1.5TB, 20EARS 2.0TB, HD501LJ 0.5TB, WD 160GB
USB-HDDs - Seagate 1.0TB |#| Case - Aerocool T40 |#| ODD - PATA DVD-RW |#| PSU - 500W
Screens - Samsung 226BW (Main), HP w19b (Right), Acer V233H (Portrait), SwedX 40" (TV)


#7 Hyper

Hyper

    Of course it will fit, I have power tools.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 887 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, WA

Posted 05 October 2011 - 12:47 PM

Don't use auto voltages. they might overvolt under load far higher than you want...



Here's a screenshot with the verious monitors running.


<a%20href=Posted Image">
Posted Image

#8 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15456 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 05 October 2011 - 07:38 PM

Those look good to me!

Isn't 1.4 volts below the stock voltage for that chip when it hits turbo mode? If so, that's a damn good chip! :cool2:

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.