Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

underclocking gtx 560 ti


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 juliox

juliox

    New Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 28 August 2011 - 03:54 PM

ok guys the thing is that is have a factory overclocked gtx 560 ti from gigabyte, is at 900 MHZ i boy it like in february up untilnow it has never gived me eny troble except for 4 games that are Crysis 2 DX11, fear DX11 Dragon age 2 DX11 and just cause 2DX10, the games pause starts buzzing sound fron the speakers then goes to black screem whit the game BMG still plays then i have to reset mi PC. some tell me if becuase DX11 but i played other games like lost planet 2, dirt 2 and 3, metro 2033 and the whitcher 2( only whit Hyper sampling of) at max(at 1920 X 1080)whit AA at 2 or 4x(for me that enough) and never have any problem whit those.

some other tell me that is because mi card is overclocked making it unstable and they give me 2 solutions: 1: increasing the voltaje of the card and 2: underclock the card to nvidia stock speed

so mi question is first what do you thing about the problems that is have and second i am not going to increase the voltaje of the card(i know thats is very risky) i more like underclocking the thing whit MSI afterburner, but is there any risk in undercloking a video card.

i dont thinck is heat i had GPUZ runing making a log file and it never passed from 80C.

mi sistem is
core i5 750 stock
8 gigs of RAM DDR3 1333MHZ
a GV-N560OC-1GI gigabyte 560ti factory overclock.
Thermaltake 600W PSU

Edited by juliox, 28 August 2011 - 04:25 PM.


#2 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20792 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 28 August 2011 - 04:46 PM

Are you running the newest drivers from nvidia.com??

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#3 juliox

juliox

    New Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 28 August 2011 - 05:04 PM

yea 275.33 right now, those 4 games that give me trouble run fine they crash after a time of playing them that for most of the cases if 30 minutes and is completely random sometimes is so much stuff going on in the game sometimes nothing.

Edited by juliox, 28 August 2011 - 05:30 PM.


#4 The Smith

The Smith

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quebec, Canada

Posted 28 August 2011 - 06:38 PM

Just try to underclock it. If you can make it stable that way, you should consider RMAing it.


Socket 1366 OC competition - 3DMark Competition - AMD Overclocking Competition
Posted Image
"They should have just called it the Intel Core iAMBROKE." -cirro


#5 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6719 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 28 August 2011 - 07:09 PM

Just try to underclock it. If you can make it stable that way, you should consider RMAing it.

+1

Install MSI Afterburner to check temps. Install Unigine Heaven V2.1 (1920 x 1080 Fullscreen, Anisotropy x16, and Anti-Aliasing 8x) and run a Benchmark (press F9). See how it goes on stock voltages and settings. If it doesn't crash, then it might not be the card... but monitor your max GPU temp in MSI Afterburner.

Let us know how it goes and what the temps are.

#6 juliox

juliox

    New Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 28 August 2011 - 08:34 PM

well guys i underclock it to 822MHZ nvidia stock speed and i trie it whit FEAR 3 DX11 as i said in the first post when playing that game it crashed like 15 minutes of gameplay, but underclocked i was able to play for 2:30 hours nonstop hell i was able to beat the game, more soo i barely se performance go down

so it seams some games not work well oveclocked

i will trie unigine and tell you how it goes

if there any other good software that is free to underclock manually the card let me know please or were do i register msi afteburner(or its free? and is only the beta that expires) that way i will only use it for the game that give me problems

Edited by juliox, 28 August 2011 - 09:14 PM.


#7 boinker

boinker

    Im a Watchin you......

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Del Sity, Oklahoma

Posted 28 August 2011 - 09:08 PM

MSI afterburner or EVGA precision tuner will underclock or overclock it wherever you want to out it. IMHO it should not give you any issues to begin with. The question really is if the manufacture has approved that card to work properly at that overclock. if they have then its a defective card and needs to be replaced.

/rant
The main issue I see here is we have a card that is factory rated to do what the manufacture has stated at a specific core/shader/memory clock. It is not doing this so the graphics card is defective and needs to be RMA'ed through the manufacture or replaced with a known good component.
/erant

"It works Because I threatened it. :lol:" - " did you show it the sledgehammer" - "No, A flight of stairs"
"I don't want to be much of a forum Nazi but this situation calls for a hail Bosco and blitzkrieg someone".

If that does not work I hop in a Madcat and Blast it to microscopic Particles.


#8 juliox

juliox

    New Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 28 August 2011 - 09:23 PM

well let me tell you i have like 60 games all released from 3 years ago to these date, and of all those games only the 4 i listed have gived me problems, so to tell the truth i am really pleased whit the card, and in crisys 2 forums states that the game on DX11(i finished in DX9 and dint give problems) does not run well in a overclock card even if it is factory evoerclock so i am guesing that the same goes to FEAR 3(that afther underclock works fine) and Just Cause 2 because DRagon age 2 i crashed but it not makes me to reset pc mi it only returns to windows and tells me the program was closes because an error so i am thinking that game is more like a software issue

Edited by juliox, 28 August 2011 - 09:58 PM.


#9 juliox

juliox

    New Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 28 August 2011 - 09:52 PM

ok guys i did the unigine all max at 1920*1080, i did it on factory clock 900MHZ and nvidia stock 822MHZ, in the 2 test worked fine it didn´t crash here are mi results

900MHZ
FPS-23.7
score-598
min FPS-3.3(i thinck these es because loading times)
max FPS-51.3
GPU Max temp- 75C

822MHZ
FPS-22.6
score-570
min FPS-11.6(yep loading times)
Max FPS-48.1
GPU Max temp- 71C

so yea i thinck mi card is fine the games are the ones that dont run well in a oveclock card whit stock voltage(as i said i am not touching these i prefer underclock some say is even good for the card i dont know really, what are 3 freames anyway), i will keep afterburner just for the games that give me problems, i will go and trie crisys 2 underclocked and see what hapens

leave you opinion of mi tests please

Edited by juliox, 28 August 2011 - 09:55 PM.


#10 sword_fish

sword_fish

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 625 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philippines

Posted 29 August 2011 - 06:59 AM

yea 275.33 right now, those 4 games that give me trouble run fine they crash after a time of playing them that for most of the cases if 30 minutes and is completely random sometimes is so much stuff going on in the game sometimes nothing.


no, latest driver is 280.26
i have the MSI GTX560-Ti OC edition
try to install the latest

My Rig: Project One

2674416.png


#11 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5270 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 29 August 2011 - 02:04 PM

no, latest driver is 280.26
i have the MSI GTX560-Ti OC edition
try to install the latest

:withstupid:
I just went through a whole bunch of hassle uninstalling and cleaning to reinstall drivers yesterday the newest nividia graphics drivers are 280.26.
Had to reseat both graphics cards and sli bridge, to get it to recognize sli.

med_gallery_78215_532_67141.png

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#12 juliox

juliox

    New Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 30 August 2011 - 05:46 AM

ok new thing i tested crisys 2 whit DX11, that game crashed on mi like afther 5 minutes of gameplay but underclocked again worked fine, so yea i whatch mi voltage whit aftherburner and it was 0.985 yea i thinck is a litle low, but like is said i will leave like that and just underclock the card mi performace loss is only of 3 frames per secound(not much of a deal)

But if in any case i whant to encrease voltage what voltage do you recomend me for 900MHZ.

Edited by juliox, 30 August 2011 - 05:51 AM.