Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

grub help


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 bishop245

bishop245

    So broke I can't even pay attention.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma

Posted 25 August 2011 - 02:40 PM

I was dual booting the work comp with win vista business and ubuntu 10, but I forgot my password for ubuntu, I decided to go ahead and just format that partition and swap partition. Now grub is still there and I dont know how to get into my windows drive to back it up and maybe go back to xp on it.


nudder linux noob in need of major help :teehee:

#2 wormy

wormy

    I overclock b4 I think Iii|; )'

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 563 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Carolina

Posted 25 August 2011 - 03:26 PM

well if i read that right you got rid of Ubuntu and just want windows right? if so you can put the vista cd in and go to the command line repair and run fixmbr that should remove grub and restore the windows boot loader
Phenom II 925 @ 3.9GHz
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Corsair Vengeance @1488 Timings of 9-9-9-24-1T
Sapphire 5850 Toxic
Cooler Master CM690, Samsung Sync Master 2232BW plus
Razer Death Adder, Dell USB Keyboard

Posted Image

#3 bishop245

bishop245

    So broke I can't even pay attention.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma

Posted 25 August 2011 - 03:30 PM

I forgot to add thanks to our old office manager I can't find the vista disk only xp and there are things I need to keep in the windows partition or I would say screw it and go back to xp. These are the problem you run into backing up once a week lol. I do my back up on friday and I fubared the comp on thursday and yes I have new data I need to keep

#4 wormy

wormy

    I overclock b4 I think Iii|; )'

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 563 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Carolina

Posted 25 August 2011 - 03:58 PM

well as long as you have the coa sticker I don't see why you cant find a disk online loard knows there are plenty out there



EDIT. I sent you a PM

Edited by wormy, 25 August 2011 - 04:03 PM.

Phenom II 925 @ 3.9GHz
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Corsair Vengeance @1488 Timings of 9-9-9-24-1T
Sapphire 5850 Toxic
Cooler Master CM690, Samsung Sync Master 2232BW plus
Razer Death Adder, Dell USB Keyboard

Posted Image

#5 bishop245

bishop245

    So broke I can't even pay attention.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma

Posted 25 August 2011 - 06:47 PM

Well the mbr is fubar but I will fix it on Saturday most likely. Not real sure if I will go ahead and dual boot again or just go with my last backup and run winblows or Ubuntu.



I like having Linux on my comp because it means coworkers stay away from it :)



#6 Skipinder

Skipinder

    New Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 25 August 2011 - 07:28 PM

If you are using grub 1, hit 'c' to go to the command line (it'll say what to press at the bottom of the screen) then type "root(hd0,0)" (assuming your windows install is on the first partition on the first disk, 0 is the first, 1 is the second, etc) hit enter. then type "chainloader +1" then "boot" so it will be something like

grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> chainloader +1
grub> boot

Or you can edit an entry with 'e' and change it to
root (hd0,0)
chainloader +1

On grub 2, you do the same thing but the commands are slightly different, its

grub> set root=(hd0,1)
grub> chainloader +1

assuming your windows install is on the first partition on the first disk.

Edited by Skipinder, 25 August 2011 - 07:29 PM.


#7 bishop245

bishop245

    So broke I can't even pay attention.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma

Posted 26 August 2011 - 06:21 PM

Thanks I will try that in the morning when I go into work just to play with my borked computer lol. I still havent decided if I am going to just say screw it and run ubuntu or some other linux distro, or just stay with windows.

I would like to use linux as my primary for work so maybe I could learn to use it more aptly.

#8 bishop245

bishop245

    So broke I can't even pay attention.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma

Posted 27 August 2011 - 08:32 AM

yeah windows is C drive while linux was e drive windows was first install with linux a few years later after the comp moved to my desk