Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Digi+ VRM


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Tazman167

Tazman167

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 313 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bronx, New York

Posted 12 August 2011 - 03:39 AM

so under AI tweaker in my mobo i found this DIgi + VRM thign im not sure what it does or how to use it. can someone tell me how and if it will help me get better overclocks?

Attached Thumbnails

  • Capture.PNG

AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.3GHz 1.46v
Thermaltake TP XT 775watt
NZXT Havik 140 / NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooler Master Storm Enforcer
WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATA 3
2X4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1640Mhz 9-9-9-24
HIS Radeon 7850 IceQ X 1160/1250
Creative Sounblaster X-Fi titanium
Posted Image

#2 TCcomputers29

TCcomputers29

    I get excited about Tech. Don't laugh...

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aus.

Posted 12 August 2011 - 04:18 AM

so under AI tweaker in my mobo i found this DIgi + VRM thign im not sure what it does or how to use it. can someone tell me how and if it will help me get better overclocks?

im pretty sure Digi+VRM is by asus. the VRM is the Voltage regulator module, it supplies the CPU with the right voltage. good overclocking motherboards have solid capacitors and a high power phrase eg. 8+2 like the UD7 or UD5 or UD3 ect. the VRM should be left of the CPU socket (bunch of capacitors lined up, i have and AMD mobo)
thats just a little definition from my prospective. :thumbsup:
New Sig! Cant post link in sig :/

 


#3 TCcomputers29

TCcomputers29

    I get excited about Tech. Don't laugh...

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aus.

Posted 12 August 2011 - 04:22 AM

im pretty sure you dont have to touch the settings of the VRM, you got the new ASUS mobo (VRM under large heatsink near cpu)
New Sig! Cant post link in sig :/

 


#4 TCcomputers29

TCcomputers29

    I get excited about Tech. Don't laugh...

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aus.

Posted 12 August 2011 - 04:32 AM

DIGI+ VRM = Digital Voltage regulator module which provides better overclocking, and lasts longer
the VRM spread spectrum option, asus claims it enhances system stability
New Sig! Cant post link in sig :/

 


#5 Tazman167

Tazman167

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 313 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bronx, New York

Posted 12 August 2011 - 05:17 PM

DIGI+ VRM = Digital Voltage regulator module which provides better overclocking, and lasts longer
the VRM spread spectrum option, asus claims it enhances system stability

oh i get it now. thanks for clarifying. i guess i wont mess with it.

Edited by Tazman167, 12 August 2011 - 05:17 PM.

AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.3GHz 1.46v
Thermaltake TP XT 775watt
NZXT Havik 140 / NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooler Master Storm Enforcer
WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATA 3
2X4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1640Mhz 9-9-9-24
HIS Radeon 7850 IceQ X 1160/1250
Creative Sounblaster X-Fi titanium
Posted Image

#6 TCcomputers29

TCcomputers29

    I get excited about Tech. Don't laugh...

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aus.

Posted 13 August 2011 - 01:01 AM

your already at 4.1GHz with the 955 which is good, you dont have to overclock any further...or do you?
New Sig! Cant post link in sig :/

 


#7 Tazman167

Tazman167

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 313 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bronx, New York

Posted 13 August 2011 - 03:16 AM

your already at 4.1GHz with the 955 which is good, you dont have to overclock any further...or do you?

well i dont have to but i wouldnt mind a bit higher lol
AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.3GHz 1.46v
Thermaltake TP XT 775watt
NZXT Havik 140 / NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooler Master Storm Enforcer
WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATA 3
2X4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1640Mhz 9-9-9-24
HIS Radeon 7850 IceQ X 1160/1250
Creative Sounblaster X-Fi titanium
Posted Image

#8 TCcomputers29

TCcomputers29

    I get excited about Tech. Don't laugh...

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aus.

Posted 13 August 2011 - 03:27 AM

well i dont have to but i wouldnt mind a bit higher lol

greedy on overclocks :biggrin:
New Sig! Cant post link in sig :/

 


#9 iskout

iskout

    For Aiur

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1155 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Delmar, NY

Posted 13 August 2011 - 03:27 AM

well i dont have to but i wouldnt mind a bit higher lol

That kind of thing is dangerous... for your wallet.


You'll find yourself dishing hundreds of dollars out for a few extra MHz and a few less degrees for temps. :lol:

Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU:PC Power & Cooling Silencer Mk III 750w
Memory:Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz 9-9-9-24
Mobo: Gigabyte Z87x-UD4H
CPU: Core i7 4770k @ Stock for now!
GPU: EVGA GTX 770 Hawk @ Stock for now!
Cooling: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo With 1x stock fan, 1x CM Sickleflow fan
Storage: 2x 1.5TB Western Digital Caviar Green, 1x 1TB WD Caviar Blue, 1x Mushkin 240GB SSD


#10 Tazman167

Tazman167

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 313 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bronx, New York

Posted 13 August 2011 - 03:10 PM

well ive tried hard and this 955 doesnt seem to want to go any higher. guess ill have to wait for bulldozer then.
AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.3GHz 1.46v
Thermaltake TP XT 775watt
NZXT Havik 140 / NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooler Master Storm Enforcer
WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATA 3
2X4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1640Mhz 9-9-9-24
HIS Radeon 7850 IceQ X 1160/1250
Creative Sounblaster X-Fi titanium
Posted Image

#11 Drdeath

Drdeath

    Certified Geek

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1573 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago Burbs

Posted 16 August 2011 - 08:03 AM

You do not have to do anything through your bios. Use AI Suite II to overclock. It works as good as the bios with no reboot. Digi+VRM is a powerful combination of analog and digital design elements that reduces Vdroop and increases stability when overclocking...... If your at 4.1GHz stable at 1.38V on Vcore, I will eat your shorts...... You are not stable at that overclock......

Edited by Drdeath, 16 August 2011 - 08:04 AM.

WACO NEEDS A HUG KILLER: Intel Core i7 3770K Overclocked to 4.9GHz stable 24/7
Gigabyte Z77 UD7/ Nexus 1100/ 3 x Sappire Dual 7970's 1150-1600/ 16G G.Skill Tridents Memory Overclocked to 2200MHz cas 9
OCZ 240G Revo Drive/ Phobya WayCooLit TestBench
Custom Water/ Swiftech Apogee XT/ Liang MCP655/ Thermalchill PA120.3 plus 120.2

JEALOUS BLUE PANDA GOT MUGGED AND KICKED BY GIRL SCOUTS KILLER: Same as above with 3930K/ Gigabyte X79 UD4 when I feel like it.

JEALOUS WACO KILLER II: A10-5800K TRINITY/ ASRock A85 Extreme 4/Noctua C-14 Air Cooling/ Radeon 6670/ Seasonic 550W PSU/ 8G Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz Low-Profile Memory/ 120G OCZ Vertex 3/ 320 Veloci-Raptor/ Hauppauge Win-TV TV Tuner/ Zalman HD503 HTPC case

 

 


#12 The Smith

The Smith

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quebec, Canada

Posted 16 August 2011 - 08:54 AM

If your at 4.1GHz stable at 1.38V on Vcore, I will eat your shorts......

Tazman, please run a stability test for say 8h, take a screenshot and post it here.

Then, wear your underpants for like a week, package them and send them to this guy. It will be funny. :D


Socket 1366 OC competition - 3DMark Competition - AMD Overclocking Competition
Posted Image
"They should have just called it the Intel Core iAMBROKE." -cirro