Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Hackintosh or Hackintosh VM


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Psywar

Psywar

    Social Engineering at its finest.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint Clair, MI

Posted 22 July 2011 - 05:47 AM

(Bringing my post back from the dead: Please go to Page 2 for the new stuff.)
Hey all!

In some of my free time I like to "try" and make short films with my brother. As of late I have just been really focusing on effects and trying to learn how to do them and make them look half way decent.
While Windows does offer me some nice programs to do video editing and what-not in. It really looks to me like Macintosh is the place to be for Video Effect, Video Editing and what not.

A while back Lifehacker posted an article about making a cheap Macintosh since Apple pretty much uses all the same hardware as a Windows system does now.
This is the link :here: if anyone is interested in seeing the build they did.. So I was considering building one instead of spending a bunch of money on an actual Apple system.

Well I still really do not have any money so I have been considering doing 2 things. First I was going to Convert my Desktop PC (which is in the spec's in my signature) over to OS X.
I was also considering running a VM (Virtual Machine) on my Laptop with OS X. (My Laptop is where I actually do all my editing anyways.) My Laptop is a Powerhouse. At least compared to my Desktop it is.
Laptop:
Display 17.3" FHD 16:9 "Glare Type" Super Clear Ultra Bright LED Glossy Screen (1920x1080)
Processor - Intel i7-740QM, 1.73-2.93GHz
Video Card - nVidia GeForce GTX 460M 1,536MB PCI-Express GDDR5
RAM - (8GB) DDR3 1333MHz Dual Channel Memory
(2x) HDD - 500GB (w/ 4GB SSD Memory) Seagate XT 7200RPM NCQ Hybrid 32MB Cache

I was curious if anyone had any experience running either the Home-made Hacintosh or the VM - Hackintosh?
If so, how did it run? How did you like it? Would you recommend it to me for video editing and what not?

If I switched my Desktop over it would not only be for Video Editing but it would be for my Day-to-Day internet surfing trolling the forums n junk.

Anyways that's about it! Let me know. I guess even if you have not done it. Let me know what you think about the idea.

 sigimage.php?un=Psywar&t=12772
ASUS M5A97 R2.0 Motherboard
AMD FX 8350 (4.0GHz 16MB Cache 8-Core)
XFX R7970 Black Edition Video Card
Mushkin Enhanched 16GB RAM
PC Power and Cooling 610w PSU


#2 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 22 July 2011 - 06:22 AM

I would say VM so you have to spend as little time as possible on that os. I personally really dislike it.

What software are you looking to use?
Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#3 Psywar

Psywar

    Social Engineering at its finest.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint Clair, MI

Posted 22 July 2011 - 06:35 AM

I was looking at going with OSX 10 Snow Leopard like they used in the LH article. Mostly because I think I can get it for $10bucks lol.
As for the VM I have used VirtualBox for an Ubuntu setup before and it works pretty well. So I guess as long as it supports the OS X I would probably use it for that as well.

 sigimage.php?un=Psywar&t=12772
ASUS M5A97 R2.0 Motherboard
AMD FX 8350 (4.0GHz 16MB Cache 8-Core)
XFX R7970 Black Edition Video Card
Mushkin Enhanched 16GB RAM
PC Power and Cooling 610w PSU


#4 imm0rt41

imm0rt41

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1000 posts

Posted 22 July 2011 - 06:51 AM

In the past a co-worker worked from a hackintosh...he never really had any issues setting it up (used the same guide with Snow Leopard). A VM is nice, but it is limited compared to the hackintosh route. Your desktop would be enough hardware for the hackintosh route, since Apple had Intel C2Ds in their iMacs, Macbooks, and Mac Pros around the time Snow Leopard was release :)

tumblr | Twitter
Case: Raidmax Smilodon
Mobo: MSI 790XT-G45
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.5GHz 250x14
RAM: Corsair XMS2 Dominator DDR2800
GPU: ASUS Radeon HD 6970 2GB 1005MHz Core/1510MHz Mem @1.3V
PSU: Corsair TX750 750W
Storage: Patriot Inferno 120GB SataII SSD
KB/Mouse: Logitech G15/MS Intellimouse Explorer 3.0


#5 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 22 July 2011 - 06:57 AM

I meant editing software.
Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#6 Psywar

Psywar

    Social Engineering at its finest.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint Clair, MI

Posted 22 July 2011 - 07:09 AM

In the past a co-worker worked from a hackintosh...he never really had any issues setting it up (used the same guide with Snow Leopard). A VM is nice, but it is limited compared to the hackintosh route. Your desktop would be enough hardware for the hackintosh route, since Apple had Intel C2Ds in their iMacs, Macbooks, and Mac Pros around the time Snow Leopard was release :)



Oh! That's good to know. I guess if I try the VM on the Laptop and I like it enough to use as an everyday OS I could boot it on the Desktop to use it to it's full extent.
Can you tell me about any of the Limitations going the VM route?

I meant editing software.


I have not done much research on the editing software yet. I do know if I do this I will be getting Final Cut Pro 7. (Since 10 sucks major butthole.)
I actually bought AE for Windows and I don't plan on buying it again for Mac.

I think I would also look into getting Autodesk (I think it's called) for OS X as well.

 sigimage.php?un=Psywar&t=12772
ASUS M5A97 R2.0 Motherboard
AMD FX 8350 (4.0GHz 16MB Cache 8-Core)
XFX R7970 Black Edition Video Card
Mushkin Enhanched 16GB RAM
PC Power and Cooling 610w PSU


#7 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 22 July 2011 - 07:38 AM

Autodesk has a huge variety of products and they run well on windows. Though they are really expensive. I only can use them because students can get them free. Final cut pro is editing no fx? If so get lightworks. Open source professional editing suite. No it is a beta at the moment but it is really professional level, eg. it was the software used for the Kings Speech. Try it, it will save you bucket loads of money on other software.
Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#8 Psywar

Psywar

    Social Engineering at its finest.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint Clair, MI

Posted 22 July 2011 - 07:45 AM

Oh sweet! Thanks! I will give it a look. I see it runs on Windows too so that's a plus!
I too am hoping that I can get access to Adobe and Autodesk products free once I get in to more advance classes at the College.

Downside is I won't have any free time to use them once College starts next month lol!

 sigimage.php?un=Psywar&t=12772
ASUS M5A97 R2.0 Motherboard
AMD FX 8350 (4.0GHz 16MB Cache 8-Core)
XFX R7970 Black Edition Video Card
Mushkin Enhanched 16GB RAM
PC Power and Cooling 610w PSU


#9 imm0rt41

imm0rt41

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1000 posts

Posted 22 July 2011 - 08:01 AM

Oh! That's good to know. I guess if I try the VM on the Laptop and I like it enough to use as an everyday OS I could boot it on the Desktop to use it to it's full extent.
Can you tell me about any of the Limitations going the VM route?

Disk space and memory have been limitations for me in the past when using VMs regardless of the OS. You're going to want a lot of memory and a boatload of HDD space available for editing videos.

As for the OS, it's different than Windows but each do certain things better than the other. It's a nice change for me every now and again. I'm going to be upgrading my Macbook to Lion this weekend to see how it is. One thing about OSX that is really funny, it's like the porn-mode OS since you tend to not get many viruses or malware :P

tumblr | Twitter
Case: Raidmax Smilodon
Mobo: MSI 790XT-G45
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.5GHz 250x14
RAM: Corsair XMS2 Dominator DDR2800
GPU: ASUS Radeon HD 6970 2GB 1005MHz Core/1510MHz Mem @1.3V
PSU: Corsair TX750 750W
Storage: Patriot Inferno 120GB SataII SSD
KB/Mouse: Logitech G15/MS Intellimouse Explorer 3.0


#10 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 22 July 2011 - 08:06 AM

All you need to get free access to autodesk products is a .edu email. Adobe as far as i know only give 80% discount not full free versions to students. But still 80% aint anything to be sneezed at. And it is a full license unlike the autodesk ones.

EDIT: Lightworks is not currently compatible with OSX.

Edited by SpeedCrazy, 22 July 2011 - 08:12 AM.

Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#11 Psywar

Psywar

    Social Engineering at its finest.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint Clair, MI

Posted 22 July 2011 - 02:11 PM

Disk space and memory have been limitations for me in the past when using VMs regardless of the OS. You're going to want a lot of memory and a boatload of HDD space available for editing videos.

As for the OS, it's different than Windows but each do certain things better than the other. It's a nice change for me every now and again. I'm going to be upgrading my Macbook to Lion this weekend to see how it is. One thing about OSX that is really funny, it's like the porn-mode OS since you tend to not get many viruses or malware :P



I did not even think about that. I would have to make the VM Partition big enough to actually store the videos n crap on the OS X.
I really don't want to waste my HDD space on a VM OS.

All you need to get free access to autodesk products is a .edu email. Adobe as far as i know only give 80% discount not full free versions to students. But still 80% aint anything to be sneezed at. And it is a full license unlike the autodesk ones.

EDIT: Lightworks is not currently compatible with OSX.


Hrmm.. I will definitely check that out as well since I do have an edu account.


btw: Thanks again both of you for the help/insight!

 sigimage.php?un=Psywar&t=12772
ASUS M5A97 R2.0 Motherboard
AMD FX 8350 (4.0GHz 16MB Cache 8-Core)
XFX R7970 Black Edition Video Card
Mushkin Enhanched 16GB RAM
PC Power and Cooling 610w PSU


#12 Psywar

Psywar

    Social Engineering at its finest.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint Clair, MI

Posted 23 July 2011 - 11:44 AM

Hey SpeedCrazy do you know of any Windows Programs that easily change like the Aspect Ratio of footage for you? Like if I wanted to change the video ratio to what movies usually use with the top and bottom cut off. (I cant think of what its called atm)
Thanks.

 sigimage.php?un=Psywar&t=12772
ASUS M5A97 R2.0 Motherboard
AMD FX 8350 (4.0GHz 16MB Cache 8-Core)
XFX R7970 Black Edition Video Card
Mushkin Enhanched 16GB RAM
PC Power and Cooling 610w PSU