Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Does Gamebooster actually do anything?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 l1o2l

l1o2l

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 400 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 24 April 2011 - 04:40 PM

I came across this program a long time ago, never bothered to try it. What do you guys think of it? I don't think I would see any performance boost.
AMD Phenom II X4 955 C2 - 3.8 gHz @ 1.4 v (kewl)
ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO
G.Skill 4 gb
Sapphire ATI HD5770
1 tB Hard Drive
Antec Basiq 550P Watt
Thermalright HR-01 plus W/ 120 mm fan
KWorld ATSC 110 TV tuner

Blog: http://compootin.blogspot.com

#2 sack_patrol

sack_patrol

    cozza frenzy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2184 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 April 2011 - 04:51 PM

Probably not. There is no software that can give your PC extra power in reality. There's overclocking but that's different.

As for this program, your PC doesn't need it. I'm guessing it's something similar to AMD's Fusion. Those things don't really do anything and aren't worth your time. If the PC is modern then it simply have no effect since you can already run all the games. If the PC is old, then you probably wouldn't be able to run anything to begin with. You might get 5-6 extra frames but that's just silly.

Bottom line, performance gain if any is insignificant in any case.

Timestretch2.png

#1: DFI 790FXB-M3H5 | Phenom II 965 BE @ 3.6Ghz | Sunbeam CCF 4 | Vapor-X 5870 1GB 940/1290 | Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB 1333Mhz 7-7-7-24 | Razer Barracuda AC-1

#2: MSI Z77-GD65 | Intel Core i5 3570k @ 4.4Ghz | Noctua NH-D14 | WindForce GTX 680 2GB 1306/1688 | Ballistix Tracer 2x4GB 1600Mhz 8-8-8-24 | Xonar Essence STX

Chassis: Antec 902 | Corsair Force GT 90GB | Seagate 1TB | WD Caviar Blue 320GB | OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W

Peripherals: Logitech G400 | Rosewill Cherry MX Red | audio-technica ATH-AD700 | Asus vh238h 23' LED


#3 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15418 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 24 April 2011 - 04:59 PM

It can't hurt if your CPU is getting long in the tooth.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#4 TheHippi

TheHippi

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 532 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nebraska

Posted 24 April 2011 - 05:04 PM

If its the thing from advanced system care, then all it does is shut down some of the background processes. If your computer is old enough that using it gives you a noticeable performance boost then it's probably time to upgrade. I've always been wary of shutting down background processes. Unless I know exactly what it is and everything it does, I don't mess with it because it can screw with your computer.
Posted Image

Desktop: i7 950 @ 4.0 w/ 1.3 Vcore | Asus Sabertooth x58 | MSI GTX 460 1 GB | 6 GB G-Skill 1600
Titan Fenrir | WD Black 500 GB & Seagate 7200.12 1TB | XFX 650W PSU | Cooler Master CM 590
Laptop: Gateway P-7908u | p8700 | GTX 260m | 4 GB DDR3

The main difference between intelligence and stupidity is that intelligence can recognize its own stupidity.

#5 l1o2l

l1o2l

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 400 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 24 April 2011 - 05:26 PM

Yeah, thats what I thought. But my friend's computer, 5 years old (i think) he uses it and he doesn't see a noticeable difference in anything.
AMD Phenom II X4 955 C2 - 3.8 gHz @ 1.4 v (kewl)
ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO
G.Skill 4 gb
Sapphire ATI HD5770
1 tB Hard Drive
Antec Basiq 550P Watt
Thermalright HR-01 plus W/ 120 mm fan
KWorld ATSC 110 TV tuner

Blog: http://compootin.blogspot.com

#6 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15418 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 24 April 2011 - 05:32 PM

It'd probably help if you were severely CPU limited but I doubt it would help for much else.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#7 N.E.A

N.E.A

    this is what happens when you spend 100 years before the pc

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2028 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:cairo , egypt

Posted 24 April 2011 - 05:49 PM

The only software that i think is useful in this criteria is : Memory Improve Master ...before using it my RAM was like 50% and not many apps were running. after it went down to 33% and i felt that the PC has gotten a little more responsive.
Simply : (^^) Mr.Brown (^^)
Core i5 2400
P8P67 Pro
G.Skill 4GB 1600MHz @1508
GTX 275
Adata SSD 64GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1.5 TB
CM V8
CM Haf-X
Cougar 700w PSU

#8 Viexi

Viexi

    Lord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1245 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 24 April 2011 - 06:05 PM

Probably not. There is no software that can give your PC extra power in reality. There's overclocking but that's different.

As for this program, your PC doesn't need it. I'm guessing it's something similar to AMD's Fusion. Those things don't really do anything and aren't worth your time. If the PC is modern then it simply have no effect since you can already run all the games. If the PC is old, then you probably wouldn't be able to run anything to begin with. You might get 5-6 extra frames but that's just silly.

Bottom line, performance gain if any is insignificant in any case.

This is usually true, but Gamebooster isn't like that ;)

Gamebooster shuts down UNUSED background processes. As in, your clever computer anticipates which processes are currently in use so it doesn't break anything, shuts down the rest, and frees up resources.

If your PC is old, this program has been slated as working pretty damn well. However, nothing will work as well as upgrading hardware.


"I think we can put our differences behind us. For Science. You monster."

Posted Image


#9 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5434 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 24 April 2011 - 06:24 PM

just msconfig and turn everything off. whats with people using software to close programs and using bloated Anti-virus stuff. i have yet to get a virus and i haven't used any crap for a few years now.... turn everything on startup off, it makes old computers and laptop faster

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#10 sack_patrol

sack_patrol

    cozza frenzy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2184 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 April 2011 - 07:21 PM

This is usually true, but Gamebooster isn't like that ;)

Gamebooster shuts down UNUSED background processes. As in, your clever computer anticipates which processes are currently in use so it doesn't break anything, shuts down the rest, and frees up resources.

If your PC is old, this program has been slated as working pretty damn well. However, nothing will work as well as upgrading hardware.

except that I take the time to turn all the useless processes and services and stuff off whenever I make a fresh install of my OS this means that any of these programs will have zero effect since I've already turned off everything that is not supposed to run. Whatever is left, is obviously left for a reason otherwise I'd have gotten rid of it as well.

Taking into consideration that not everyone does this, there might be a small performance gain by this program, but I'd still say that if you have the NEED to use something like this, it's high time for some new hardware instead of struggling to get an extra fps.

It's your time and money so you can invest them into whatever you like, I'm just saying that I would probably go with something a bit more efficient, but that's just me since as I said, maybe other people can't manage their Windows as well and they just wanna have it installed and play some games without any other worries or stuff to mess around with.

Timestretch2.png

#1: DFI 790FXB-M3H5 | Phenom II 965 BE @ 3.6Ghz | Sunbeam CCF 4 | Vapor-X 5870 1GB 940/1290 | Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB 1333Mhz 7-7-7-24 | Razer Barracuda AC-1

#2: MSI Z77-GD65 | Intel Core i5 3570k @ 4.4Ghz | Noctua NH-D14 | WindForce GTX 680 2GB 1306/1688 | Ballistix Tracer 2x4GB 1600Mhz 8-8-8-24 | Xonar Essence STX

Chassis: Antec 902 | Corsair Force GT 90GB | Seagate 1TB | WD Caviar Blue 320GB | OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W

Peripherals: Logitech G400 | Rosewill Cherry MX Red | audio-technica ATH-AD700 | Asus vh238h 23' LED


#11 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15418 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 25 April 2011 - 02:58 AM

just msconfig and turn everything off. whats with people using software to close programs and using bloated Anti-virus stuff. i have yet to get a virus and i haven't used any crap for a few years now.... turn everything on startup off, it makes old computers and laptop faster

You could have a virus and not know it. Stop advocating using no antivirus.

except that I take the time to turn all the useless processes and services and stuff off whenever I make a fresh install of my OS this means that any of these programs will have zero effect since I've already turned off everything that is not supposed to run. Whatever is left, is obviously left for a reason otherwise I'd have gotten rid of it as well.

Taking into consideration that not everyone does this, there might be a small performance gain by this program, but I'd still say that if you have the NEED to use something like this, it's high time for some new hardware instead of struggling to get an extra fps.

It's your time and money so you can invest them into whatever you like, I'm just saying that I would probably go with something a bit more efficient, but that's just me since as I said, maybe other people can't manage their Windows as well and they just wanna have it installed and play some games without any other worries or stuff to mess around with.

:rolleyes: It's free and it takes zero time to set up. You also don't have to remember to re-enable those services when you're done gaming (which would be a pain in the butt).

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.