Jump to content


Photo

Cubitek Magic Cube 8HDD Modular Computer Chassis Reviewed


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Nemo

Nemo

    Will Fold 4 Food

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Franklin, TN

Posted 22 April 2011 - 03:22 AM

You've heard of modular power supplies where you get to use only the cables you need for your particular build. But what about a modular computer chassis? Unlike the Thermaltake Level 10 where each module was still unified in a single structure, the case we're looking at today consists of three distinct cubes to house the separate components. Kick back and join OCC reviewer Compxpert as he takes us on a tour of the Cubitek Magic Cube 8HDD - http://www.overclock...agic_cube_8hdd/

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz / ASUS P5Q Deluxe / Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB PC2-9600 DDR2-1200MHz / 2x Seagate ST3160827AS 160GB RAID 1 / Seagate ST31000340AS 1TB
Corsair TX750W / Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5 / SilverStone TJ05 / Scythe Zipang 140mm CPU Cooler / ASUS VH202T-P 20" widescreen monitor (x2) / XP Pro SP 3
"however, i cannot claim to be such a fish as i am not a fish at all..." - hardnrg,Jul 4 2005, 02:49 PM
 

Posted Image

Posted Image

Follow OCC on Posted Image
Subscribe to the OCC Newsletter

Lucky Mudder Race 2013


#2 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 22 April 2011 - 04:52 AM

I'm shocked that it didn't come with a single cable to handle SATA connections and power. I mean...who the heck wants that many cables running behind such a clean case? :blink:

Posted Image

Booyah.


#3 Compxpert

Compxpert

    You may be getting Facepalmed

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2711 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 22 April 2011 - 08:11 AM

I'm shocked that it didn't come with a single cable to handle SATA data connections. I mean...who the heck wants that many cables running behind such a clean case? :blink:

Fixed. It does come with SATA power cables more than enough to hook up everything even 8 hard disks. What it does not come with are any data cables so it requires you to buy them. Not really sure I liked the fact that the cables run outside the case to other compartments either however the modular design definitely works. I much preferred the way the ThermalTake Level 10 did it since it contained the individual units into the entire chassis rather than 3 separate chassis.

Posted Image
>> >>Buy my stuff!!<< <<
XT-1264, X-Fighter, M59, Element T

Lappy - Gateway FX P-7805u - C2D E8400 - 4gb DDRIII - Nvidia 9800M 1gb discrete (1920x1200) - 320gb hdd
Core2Duo E8400 - DFI Lanparty UT P45-T2RS - 4gb OCZ Reaper HPC DDRII 1066 - 600W OCZ GameXStream - Visiontek HD4870
Core i7 920 @ 4.00GHz - DFI LP UT X58-T3eHS - Mushkin 3x 2gb DDR3 - 700W OCZ ModXStream Pro - 2x Sapphire Radeon HD4870 Toxic Ed.
Come join OCC IRC... /server irc.skullboxz.net /join #occ Use the Occ IRC JApplet or check out an IRC Client: mIRC : XChat : HydraIRC
Posted Image
Follow OCC on Posted Image


#4 jjjrmy

jjjrmy

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 299 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:My Computer

Posted 22 April 2011 - 06:55 PM

The pictures confused me. I think you should take on one a normal background like your room. Not on white. I don't know what is what.
Case: XION Predator Gaming Series (Modded Sidepanel)
PSU: Antec EarthWatts 650W
RAM: 4 x 1GB Kingston ValueRAM
Motherboard: Foxconn 0RY007
CPU: Intel Core2 Duo E6550 @ 2.33GHz
GPU: MSI R6850 Cyclone PE/OC 1GB, PNY GeForce FX 5200
Storage: 1 x 500GB (OS), 1 x 250GB (Files), 1 x 1TB (Files)
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium (x64)
Monitors: 7 x Dell 1703FP*
Laptop: Thinkpad e420s (i5 2410m, 4GB[1 DIMM], 320GB@ 7200rpm, 14")

#5 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 22 April 2011 - 07:15 PM

Fixed. It does come with SATA power cables more than enough to hook up everything even 8 hard disks. What it does not come with are any data cables so it requires you to buy them. Not really sure I liked the fact that the cables run outside the case to other compartments either however the modular design definitely works. I much preferred the way the ThermalTake Level 10 did it since it contained the individual units into the entire chassis rather than 3 separate chassis.

Even with that I'm surprised.

I was expecting it to come with a single big cable that carried power and data...

Posted Image

Booyah.


#6 Compxpert

Compxpert

    You may be getting Facepalmed

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2711 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 24 April 2011 - 07:55 AM

The pictures confused me. I think you should take on one a normal background like your room. Not on white. I don't know what is what.

Really? I've been taking pictures on a white background for awhile now and your the first to say something about it.

Even with that I'm surprised.

I was expecting it to come with a single big cable that carried power and data...

Would have made a lot of sense and yet it didn't. The case seems like a great idea but there appears to have been a lot of overhead in its total design process. Its like someone said lets make a modular case with 3 seperate compartments. Oh cool that looks nice. Oh wait how are we gonna get power and data to the hard drives and optical drive(s)?

Posted Image
>> >>Buy my stuff!!<< <<
XT-1264, X-Fighter, M59, Element T

Lappy - Gateway FX P-7805u - C2D E8400 - 4gb DDRIII - Nvidia 9800M 1gb discrete (1920x1200) - 320gb hdd
Core2Duo E8400 - DFI Lanparty UT P45-T2RS - 4gb OCZ Reaper HPC DDRII 1066 - 600W OCZ GameXStream - Visiontek HD4870
Core i7 920 @ 4.00GHz - DFI LP UT X58-T3eHS - Mushkin 3x 2gb DDR3 - 700W OCZ ModXStream Pro - 2x Sapphire Radeon HD4870 Toxic Ed.
Come join OCC IRC... /server irc.skullboxz.net /join #occ Use the Occ IRC JApplet or check out an IRC Client: mIRC : XChat : HydraIRC
Posted Image
Follow OCC on Posted Image


#7 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 24 April 2011 - 08:49 AM

Oh wait how are we gonna get power and data to the hard drives and optical drive(s)?

It seems like this didn't even occur to them. :lol:

Posted Image

Booyah.