Jump to content


Photo

Gigabyte E350N-USB3 AMD Fusion Mini-ITX Motherboard Examined


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Nemo

Nemo

    Will Fold 4 Food

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Franklin, TN

Posted 18 April 2011 - 03:51 AM

OCC reviews a mini-ITX motherboard from Gigagbyte with an embedded AMD Dual-Core E350 APU. Take a moment to read about the Gigabyte E350N-USB3 - http://www.overclock...yte_e350n_usb3/

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz / ASUS P5Q Deluxe / Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB PC2-9600 DDR2-1200MHz / 2x Seagate ST3160827AS 160GB RAID 1 / Seagate ST31000340AS 1TB
Corsair TX750W / Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5 / SilverStone TJ05 / Scythe Zipang 140mm CPU Cooler / ASUS VH202T-P 20" widescreen monitor (x2) / XP Pro SP 3
"however, i cannot claim to be such a fish as i am not a fish at all..." - hardnrg,Jul 4 2005, 02:49 PM
 

Posted Image

Posted Image

Follow OCC on Posted Image
Subscribe to the OCC Newsletter

Lucky Mudder Race 2013


#2 Heeron

Heeron

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden - Stockholm

Posted 18 April 2011 - 05:59 AM

Does anyone know how well Minecraft performs on the fusion boards?

This could be ideal for my dad, the only gaming he does is Minecraft :)
Posted Image

#3 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3050 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 18 April 2011 - 06:42 AM

Does anyone know how well Minecraft performs on the fusion boards?

This could be ideal for my dad, the only gaming he does is Minecraft :)


i dont play minecraft, but i do play borderlands and half life on this board occasionally. honestly it's not the greatest in borderlands, half life is much better...i haven't done any benchmarking, but i can tell you that anything other than standard settings in borderlands causes the gpu to lag (probably due to cpu limitations)...there were several driver failures while playing borderlands, so i reverted back to 10.2 drivers and that stopped the crashing. my machine was built primarily to replace some very old office equipment, use MS office and counseling specific type programs, browse the web/email, etc, not games...i'm looking for amd to come forth with the low profile, low end 6000 series graphics cards like the 6350 to pair up with the onboard 6310 gpu for games...

other thoughts: i use a buffalo 300mbps wireless adapter, and it works fine on our office net, so i don't miss the wifi, i don't have bluetooth in anything except my cellphone....

#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#4 Indybird

Indybird

    New Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan, US

Posted 18 April 2011 - 03:45 PM

Does anyone know how well Minecraft performs on the fusion boards?

This could be ideal for my dad, the only gaming he does is Minecraft :)

I can actually confirm it does play minecraft just fine...but it will bog down a little bit if theres alot of stuff on the screen @ full view distance, but thats kinda expected.

-Nick

#5 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18034 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 20 April 2011 - 08:33 AM

wife was having the same issue on a Fusion board..I noticed a couple of things so for giggles I added a 4650 video card..that fixed the issue but the CPU runs 2-4c hotter with the video card installed...
Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#6 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3050 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 24 April 2011 - 02:49 PM

wife was having the same issue on a Fusion board..I noticed a couple of things so for giggles I added a 4650 video card..that fixed the issue but the CPU runs 2-4c hotter with the video card installed...


huh, that's interesting doc... why do you think it runs hotter with a card on-board?

#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "