Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Minecraft System Requirements


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Black64

Black64

    Black It Out

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3353 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The internet

Posted 11 March 2011 - 02:04 PM

So I was wondering what do you guys think the recommended and minimum requirements for Minecraft should be. I still do have slow downs on my current system(check my sig) with it. Like when generating a map, using more then 15 TNT and using smoke grenades. (SDK gun mod)

Current System

[CPU]Intel Xeon W3670 (i7-970) @3.20Ghz---[CPU Cooling]Thermalright Silver Arrow---[MOBO]ASUS Rampage Gene III---[RAM]G-Skill Rip Jaws (24GB)(6x4GB)---[GPU]ASUS GTX 780 OC---[PSU]KingWin Lazar LZ-1000---[CASE]Bitfenix Colossus Venom Edition---[HDDs]WD Dives(6.5TB total storage) and Samsung 250GB SSD(boot)---[Monitors] 3X NEC 24" LCD2490WUXi ISP Panels and 1X Seiki 39" 4K monitor

 

PC Audio System (Speakers) Triad InRoom Silver's --- (DAC) Schiit Modi --- (AMP) Emotiva MiniX-a-100 --- (Headphones) Sennheiser Momentums and Paradigm H15NC --- (Headphone AMP) --- Schitt Magni

 

 


#2 Black64

Black64

    Black It Out

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3353 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The internet

Posted 11 March 2011 - 02:43 PM

recommended
CPU 3GHz Dual core
RAM 2GB
GPU AMD 4000 or Nvida equivalent


minimum
CPU 2 GHz Pentium 4 or AMD equivalent
RAM 1GB
GPU AMD 3000 or Nvida equivalent

Current System

[CPU]Intel Xeon W3670 (i7-970) @3.20Ghz---[CPU Cooling]Thermalright Silver Arrow---[MOBO]ASUS Rampage Gene III---[RAM]G-Skill Rip Jaws (24GB)(6x4GB)---[GPU]ASUS GTX 780 OC---[PSU]KingWin Lazar LZ-1000---[CASE]Bitfenix Colossus Venom Edition---[HDDs]WD Dives(6.5TB total storage) and Samsung 250GB SSD(boot)---[Monitors] 3X NEC 24" LCD2490WUXi ISP Panels and 1X Seiki 39" 4K monitor

 

PC Audio System (Speakers) Triad InRoom Silver's --- (DAC) Schiit Modi --- (AMP) Emotiva MiniX-a-100 --- (Headphones) Sennheiser Momentums and Paradigm H15NC --- (Headphone AMP) --- Schitt Magni

 

 


#3 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15455 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 11 March 2011 - 05:45 PM

You're stuck with TNT making it lag - the engine isn't built to handle it smoothly.

Your specs are so far beyond the system requirements it's not even funny. :lol: My frickin' EeePC (with the Atom) can run it pretty decently with the new updates.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#4 Savan

Savan

    I'm a thread killer

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2042 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 11 March 2011 - 05:46 PM

minimum graphics card could probably be dropped to x800 or NV equivalent.

I can run it on integrated graphics in a 5 year old laptop. It runs like crap, but it runs.

(\__/) Doctor Steel
(='.'=) "and then when no one expects it ... BAM !! No more unicorns" - Nyt Ryda
(")_(") Not that I don't trust you, but to be honest I don't really trust you. - Locutus


#5 Black64

Black64

    Black It Out

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3353 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The internet

Posted 11 March 2011 - 06:04 PM

Well I just made this thread to see what you guys think the requirements should be since the official ones have not been released. Like after the bugs are fixed.

Waco, thanks I thought I was the only one getting TNT lag. :P Also I first ran Minecraft on my EeePC too.

Well I don't know if is only the engine but I can't get a steady 60 fps on it for more then 80% of the time.

Current System

[CPU]Intel Xeon W3670 (i7-970) @3.20Ghz---[CPU Cooling]Thermalright Silver Arrow---[MOBO]ASUS Rampage Gene III---[RAM]G-Skill Rip Jaws (24GB)(6x4GB)---[GPU]ASUS GTX 780 OC---[PSU]KingWin Lazar LZ-1000---[CASE]Bitfenix Colossus Venom Edition---[HDDs]WD Dives(6.5TB total storage) and Samsung 250GB SSD(boot)---[Monitors] 3X NEC 24" LCD2490WUXi ISP Panels and 1X Seiki 39" 4K monitor

 

PC Audio System (Speakers) Triad InRoom Silver's --- (DAC) Schiit Modi --- (AMP) Emotiva MiniX-a-100 --- (Headphones) Sennheiser Momentums and Paradigm H15NC --- (Headphone AMP) --- Schitt Magni

 

 


#6 flareback

flareback

    justified through faith

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1759 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SC, USA

Posted 11 March 2011 - 06:37 PM

Well I just made this thread to see what you guys think the requirements should be since the official ones have not been released. Like after the bugs are fixed.

Waco, thanks I thought I was the only one getting TNT lag. :P Also I first ran Minecraft on my EeePC too.

Well I don't know if is only the engine but I can't get a steady 60 fps on it for more then 80% of the time.

60 fps on an EeePC? That's actually not bad. I can updwards of 250 - 270 on the machine in my sig.
Primary Rig - Intel core i7 920 | Gigabyte EX58 UD4P | 6 GB DDR3 1333 | Sapphire Radeon HD 4850
Secondary Rig - 20 inch iMac | 2.4 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo | 2 GB DDR2 RAM
Mobile Rig - Asus Eee pc 1000 - 1.6Ghz intel atom | 40Gig SSD | Ubuntu Netbook Remix

#7 Black64

Black64

    Black It Out

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3353 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The internet

Posted 11 March 2011 - 06:40 PM

That was also an older version of minecraft to.

Current System

[CPU]Intel Xeon W3670 (i7-970) @3.20Ghz---[CPU Cooling]Thermalright Silver Arrow---[MOBO]ASUS Rampage Gene III---[RAM]G-Skill Rip Jaws (24GB)(6x4GB)---[GPU]ASUS GTX 780 OC---[PSU]KingWin Lazar LZ-1000---[CASE]Bitfenix Colossus Venom Edition---[HDDs]WD Dives(6.5TB total storage) and Samsung 250GB SSD(boot)---[Monitors] 3X NEC 24" LCD2490WUXi ISP Panels and 1X Seiki 39" 4K monitor

 

PC Audio System (Speakers) Triad InRoom Silver's --- (DAC) Schiit Modi --- (AMP) Emotiva MiniX-a-100 --- (Headphones) Sennheiser Momentums and Paradigm H15NC --- (Headphone AMP) --- Schitt Magni

 

 


#8 Teddey305

Teddey305

    New Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 February 2012 - 09:55 PM

So my laptop should run Minecraft with no lag right? But I get a good amount of it and have no idea why, it even gets lag when I run Gamebooster on it.
HP G60 230-US
Pentium Dual-Core 2.0ghz T4200
4GB of DDR2 Ram 800mhz
120gb Seagate Momentus
Mobile Intel 45 Express Chipset (64mb dedicated memory and 1695 total memory) Uses DirectX 10

#9 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 01 February 2012 - 10:29 PM

minecraft is so poorly written its not funny. notch said he would re-write it so it can work with plugins and mods much better, as well as coping with tnt, but none of that has happened

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#10 Deathmineral

Deathmineral

    No soup for you!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3811 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MO, USA

Posted 01 February 2012 - 10:55 PM

minecraft is so poorly written its not funny. notch said he would re-write it so it can work with plugins and mods much better, as well as coping with tnt, but none of that has happened

That might not happen for a while yet too, for starters Notch really doesn't deal with Minecraft much anymore, he's focusing on a new IP right now, and while there are still improvements being made to the game, the focus really just isn't on it at the moment.

Honestly, you can't even give a good estimate on the requirements for this game, each time they update it, performance does and will change. There have been version where you play moderately well on a netbook and there have been versions that even some nicer rigs struggle with a little bit.

At the moment, my own computer isn't fairing too great with the game, I get a lot of very inconsistent frame rates and frame rate drops. So as you can imagine, the game's in need of some optimization at this point. Your best hope at getting the game to play is to just lower the settings as much as possible, specifically your render distance, lowering that should help tremendously. However if you don't want to sacrifice that then you can try turning off the little things like smooth lighting, graphics, and particles. Using myself as an example, if I put all of it to the lowest possible settings, my FPS jumps from about 100 to 300, so that's a pretty good performance gain.

Posted Image


#11 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 01 February 2012 - 11:21 PM

That might not happen for a while yet too, for starters Notch really doesn't deal with Minecraft much anymore, he's focusing on a new IP right now, and while there are still improvements being made to the game, the focus really just isn't on it at the moment.

Honestly, you can't even give a good estimate on the requirements for this game, each time they update it, performance does and will change. There have been version where you play moderately well on a netbook and there have been versions that even some nicer rigs struggle with a little bit.

At the moment, my own computer isn't fairing too great with the game, I get a lot of very inconsistent frame rates and frame rate drops. So as you can imagine, the game's in need of some optimization at this point. Your best hope at getting the game to play is to just lower the settings as much as possible, specifically your render distance, lowering that should help tremendously. However if you don't want to sacrifice that then you can try turning off the little things like smooth lighting, graphics, and particles. Using myself as an example, if I put all of it to the lowest possible settings, my FPS jumps from about 100 to 300, so that's a pretty good performance gain.


also minecraft hates crossfire, i got way more fps when i removed my other 6970

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#12 greengiant912

greengiant912

    hl2.exe has stopped working

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1453 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Waukesha, WI

Posted 01 February 2012 - 11:24 PM

I have found success with a little more ram, it helps sometimes....

My Website  Twitter  XBL  PSN  STEAM

MSI Z68A-GD65(G3) - Intel i7 2600k - eVGA GTX570 Classified - 16gb Gskill DDR3 - Windows 7 Professional x64

15 inch Macbook Pro with Retina Display - Apple iPhone 5s 32gb - iPad 2 - 32gb - Xbox 360 Elite - PlayStation 3 (Slim) - Nintendo Wii - Xbox One - PlayStation 4

Server+ Certified - A+ Certified - Bachelors of Science in Information Technology