Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 overclocking


  • Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#1 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 12:57 PM

Hi Guys,
Im new here.

MotherBoard: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo [email protected]
RAM: Mushkin Redline DDR2 2x2G 1000Mhz
Graphic Card: Ati Sapphire 5770 1GB@ 850/1200Mhz
PSU: 450W (old, and low watts)

Ok,
I managed to Get at 3.80Ghz at 1.32V, RAM set at ~1080Mhz and 2.20v with 5-5-5-12 timings.
And the Graphic card at 960/1330Mhz.
My tests were with 3ds Max Design 2011 (As all i want is to render fast, and stable) and im rendering for 12+hours every two days.No problem, fast enough and low Temps (45-55) I tried using Prime95 for my 1st time, the results on "Small FFTs" were good after 2 hours,but when i tried "Blend" ,well, i failed in the 1st minute! The temps went higher than normal, 65-70 was the maximum.
The message.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.4979248047, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.


1) Any advises to run stable and complete this test for 2 hours?
2) And can i go further? As i tried, my PC crashes before loading windows. ( i also increased Voltage to 1.4 but the temps went 5-10c higher)

P.S Sorry for my English, sometimes i do silly mistakes.
Posted Image

#2 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15504 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:00 PM

You need to run more tests to determine what is failing.

I would guess that not only do you need a bit more voltage on your CPU (1.4v or so) but you also need to check your RAM for stability at that speed. Memtest is a good test for the memory on its own. Linpack in OCCT or Prime95 are pretty good tests for CPU stability.

With your CPU passing small FFTs but not the blend I would lean more towards your RAM being unstable than anything else.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#3 paulktreg

paulktreg

    Member

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3904 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Clitheroe, UK.

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:02 PM

If your power supply is an old generic then it may not be helping and probably won't be capable of 450W? What current is available on the +12V rail?

i7 [email protected]/GA-X58A-UD3R/3x2GB Corsair/2 X 460 SLI/Seagate 1TB/Fractal Design Define R3 Case/Seasonic X-Series 760W/SAMSUNG 2032BW/ACER AL1916W/WIN 7 PRO


#4 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:23 PM

@Waco

Memtest found a problem in the RAM, you guess right!
So, reducing the timings at 5-5-5-15, or set the RAM speed lower? (if i remember well, it will go down at ~950Mhz)
@paulktreg

Well, i didnt understand what you need, but i got 2 answers,
1) 12.10V is the current Voltage at HWmonitor.It never went higher.
2) 2 Fans / 1 Hard disk / 1 DvD rom.
Posted Image

#5 paulktreg

paulktreg

    Member

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3904 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Clitheroe, UK.

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:47 PM

How many amps (A) is the +12V rail rated for? It should be written on the power supply label. ;)

i7 [email protected]/GA-X58A-UD3R/3x2GB Corsair/2 X 460 SLI/Seagate 1TB/Fractal Design Define R3 Case/Seasonic X-Series 760W/SAMSUNG 2032BW/ACER AL1916W/WIN 7 PRO


#6 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15504 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:53 PM

So, reducing the timings at 5-5-5-15, or set the RAM speed lower? (if i remember well, it will go down at ~950Mhz)

It's unlikely you'll see a difference between slightly over and slightly under 1000 MHz - I'd try to keep it in spec if you can and set it to ~950 MHz and rerun memtest. :cheers:

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#7 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:58 PM

@paulktreg
+12V1 is 14A
+12V2 is 16A

@Waco
Ok, i ll try it in a few minutes...
Posted Image

#8 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 02:16 PM

@Waco
Memtest seems to working fine now at 956Mhz!4% no errors...
When it goes to 30-50% with no errors, i ll try running Prime again.



So, if i succeded in Prime too...
Can i go further with Overclocking? I really like to reach at the very high FSB! Had a record with a E6700 since i get it at 4.20Ghz from 2.66Ghz! (rendering and gaming: Stable)
Aircooling with Zalman 9700.
Posted Image

#9 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15504 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 03 March 2011 - 02:21 PM

If you're already hitting 70+ C with Prime95 I don't think I'd try to push it much further. If you fire up OCCT on the Linpack setting you may very well overheat your chip.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#10 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 02:31 PM

Nope, i didnt pass 70 C.
Im just curious, and i like to "play" with overclocking!
The bad thing is that i know my CPU shouldnt go more than 75C(maximum) and compare to the E6700, i feel sad for E7400 that cant pass 1Ghz overclock.


P.S. I heard some people increase some other voltages like FSB (the only one i remember!) and they can get better results and they can also increase their overclocking.
Im not sure what to do with the other voltages, but i learn quick with a tip or two, i guess...
Posted Image

#11 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 02:32 PM

Prime95 is running stable for 5 minutes now, with the temps at 63C (Blend test).

EDITED: Self-test passed,
In the next test, CPU temps raised at 70 C for 2 seconds, and its back to 63C again.

Edited by John_again, 03 March 2011 - 02:45 PM.

Posted Image

#12 dihartnell

dihartnell

    If you don't expect, you dont get

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1015 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand

Posted 03 March 2011 - 10:27 PM

You need to run more tests to determine what is failing.

I would guess that not only do you need a bit more voltage on your CPU (1.4v or so) but you also need to check your RAM for stability at that speed. Memtest is a good test for the memory on its own. Linpack in OCCT or Prime95 are pretty good tests for CPU stability.

With your CPU passing small FFTs but not the blend I would lean more towards your RAM being unstable than anything else.


+ 1. I only got that issue with RAM when oc my C2D system.
Gaming Rig:AMD Phenom II 1100T@4.2 GHz | Asus Sabertooth 990FX | XSPC RASA 750 RS360 | Mushkin Redline Ridgeback,2000, 9,10,9,24,1T | Corsair AX850 80PLUS Gold PSU | OCZ Vertex III 120Gb SSD (OS), 1TB WD Black (Data) | HP ZR24W 24" IPS, 1920x1200 LCD Monitor | Powercolor 7990 6Gb OC (1000 MHz Core, 1500 MHz Mem) | CM HAF X | Windows 8 Pro 64 bit | Logitech X530 speakers | Corsair K90 Keyboard and Corsair M60 mouse | Sunbeam Rheosmart 6 Fan Controller, XSPC Rasa 750 RS360 W/C Projects Coming up:Z77, FT03 based HTPC