Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 overclocking


  • Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#1 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 12:57 PM

Hi Guys,
Im new here.

MotherBoard: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo [email protected]
RAM: Mushkin Redline DDR2 2x2G 1000Mhz
Graphic Card: Ati Sapphire 5770 1GB@ 850/1200Mhz
PSU: 450W (old, and low watts)

Ok,
I managed to Get at 3.80Ghz at 1.32V, RAM set at ~1080Mhz and 2.20v with 5-5-5-12 timings.
And the Graphic card at 960/1330Mhz.
My tests were with 3ds Max Design 2011 (As all i want is to render fast, and stable) and im rendering for 12+hours every two days.No problem, fast enough and low Temps (45-55) I tried using Prime95 for my 1st time, the results on "Small FFTs" were good after 2 hours,but when i tried "Blend" ,well, i failed in the 1st minute! The temps went higher than normal, 65-70 was the maximum.
The message.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.4979248047, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.
FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4
Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.


1) Any advises to run stable and complete this test for 2 hours?
2) And can i go further? As i tried, my PC crashes before loading windows. ( i also increased Voltage to 1.4 but the temps went 5-10c higher)

P.S Sorry for my English, sometimes i do silly mistakes.
Posted Image

#2 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:00 PM

You need to run more tests to determine what is failing.

I would guess that not only do you need a bit more voltage on your CPU (1.4v or so) but you also need to check your RAM for stability at that speed. Memtest is a good test for the memory on its own. Linpack in OCCT or Prime95 are pretty good tests for CPU stability.

With your CPU passing small FFTs but not the blend I would lean more towards your RAM being unstable than anything else.

Posted Image

Booyah.


#3 paulktreg

paulktreg

    Member

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Clitheroe, UK.

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:02 PM

If your power supply is an old generic then it may not be helping and probably won't be capable of 450W? What current is available on the +12V rail?

i7 [email protected]/GA-X58A-UD3R/3x2GB Corsair/2 X 460 SLI/Seagate 1TB/Fractal Design Define R3 Case/Seasonic X-Series 760W/SAMSUNG 2032BW/ACER AL1916W/WIN 7 PRO


#4 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:23 PM

@Waco

Memtest found a problem in the RAM, you guess right!
So, reducing the timings at 5-5-5-15, or set the RAM speed lower? (if i remember well, it will go down at ~950Mhz)
@paulktreg

Well, i didnt understand what you need, but i got 2 answers,
1) 12.10V is the current Voltage at HWmonitor.It never went higher.
2) 2 Fans / 1 Hard disk / 1 DvD rom.
Posted Image

#5 paulktreg

paulktreg

    Member

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Clitheroe, UK.

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:47 PM

How many amps (A) is the +12V rail rated for? It should be written on the power supply label. ;)

i7 [email protected]/GA-X58A-UD3R/3x2GB Corsair/2 X 460 SLI/Seagate 1TB/Fractal Design Define R3 Case/Seasonic X-Series 760W/SAMSUNG 2032BW/ACER AL1916W/WIN 7 PRO


#6 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:53 PM

So, reducing the timings at 5-5-5-15, or set the RAM speed lower? (if i remember well, it will go down at ~950Mhz)

It's unlikely you'll see a difference between slightly over and slightly under 1000 MHz - I'd try to keep it in spec if you can and set it to ~950 MHz and rerun memtest. :cheers:

Posted Image

Booyah.


#7 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:58 PM

@paulktreg
+12V1 is 14A
+12V2 is 16A

@Waco
Ok, i ll try it in a few minutes...
Posted Image

#8 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 02:16 PM

@Waco
Memtest seems to working fine now at 956Mhz!4% no errors...
When it goes to 30-50% with no errors, i ll try running Prime again.



So, if i succeded in Prime too...
Can i go further with Overclocking? I really like to reach at the very high FSB! Had a record with a E6700 since i get it at 4.20Ghz from 2.66Ghz! (rendering and gaming: Stable)
Aircooling with Zalman 9700.
Posted Image

#9 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 03 March 2011 - 02:21 PM

If you're already hitting 70+ C with Prime95 I don't think I'd try to push it much further. If you fire up OCCT on the Linpack setting you may very well overheat your chip.

Posted Image

Booyah.


#10 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 02:31 PM

Nope, i didnt pass 70 C.
Im just curious, and i like to "play" with overclocking!
The bad thing is that i know my CPU shouldnt go more than 75C(maximum) and compare to the E6700, i feel sad for E7400 that cant pass 1Ghz overclock.


P.S. I heard some people increase some other voltages like FSB (the only one i remember!) and they can get better results and they can also increase their overclocking.
Im not sure what to do with the other voltages, but i learn quick with a tip or two, i guess...
Posted Image

#11 John_again

John_again

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 02:32 PM

Prime95 is running stable for 5 minutes now, with the temps at 63C (Blend test).

EDITED: Self-test passed,
In the next test, CPU temps raised at 70 C for 2 seconds, and its back to 63C again.

Edited by John_again, 03 March 2011 - 02:45 PM.

Posted Image

#12 dihartnell

dihartnell

    If you don't expect, you dont get

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Zealand

Posted 03 March 2011 - 10:27 PM

You need to run more tests to determine what is failing.

I would guess that not only do you need a bit more voltage on your CPU (1.4v or so) but you also need to check your RAM for stability at that speed. Memtest is a good test for the memory on its own. Linpack in OCCT or Prime95 are pretty good tests for CPU stability.

With your CPU passing small FFTs but not the blend I would lean more towards your RAM being unstable than anything else.


+ 1. I only got that issue with RAM when oc my C2D system.
Gaming Rig:AMD Phenom II 1100T@4.2 GHz | Asus Sabertooth 990FX | XSPC RASA 750 RS360 | Mushkin Redline Ridgeback,2000, 9,10,9,24,1T | Corsair AX850 80PLUS Gold PSU | OCZ Vertex III 120Gb SSD (OS), 1TB WD Black (Data) | HP ZR24W 24" IPS, 1920x1200 LCD Monitor | Powercolor 7990 6Gb OC (1000 MHz Core, 1500 MHz Mem) | CM HAF X | Windows 8 Pro 64 bit | Logitech X530 speakers | Corsair K90 Keyboard and Corsair M60 mouse | Sunbeam Rheosmart 6 Fan Controller, XSPC Rasa 750 RS360 W/C Projects Coming up:Z77, FT03 based HTPC