Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Various CPU Temperature Comparisons


  • Please log in to reply
126 replies to this topic

#97 klokan

klokan

    New Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 15 December 2011 - 12:48 PM

So i bulid my new comp, not clocked yet just testing.
So i have i7 with yasya cooler.
Temperatures on all minimum rpm are sometimes:

Core 0: 28°C @3.4Ghz
Core 1: 28°C @3.4Ghz
Core 2: 31°C @3.4Ghz
Core 3: 35°C @3.4Ghz

I am worried about inequality of temperatures in core 3! That big inequality is not allways case, but 7° is maximum deviation that i see sometimes.

Am I normal? :) Do I have to adjust cooler seat?

Tnx

Edited by klokan, 15 December 2011 - 12:49 PM.


#98 medbor

medbor

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 884 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 16 December 2011 - 03:27 AM

So i bulid my new comp, not clocked yet just testing.
So i have i7 with yasya cooler.
Temperatures on all minimum rpm are sometimes:

Core 0: 28°C @3.4Ghz
Core 1: 28°C @3.4Ghz
Core 2: 31°C @3.4Ghz
Core 3: 35°C @3.4Ghz

I am worried about inequality of temperatures in core 3! That big inequality is not allways case, but 7° is maximum deviation that i see sometimes.

Am I normal? :) Do I have to adjust cooler seat?

Tnx

It could of course be that the cooler is on unevenly, but probably not.
My cores can be 34, 30, 27, 25 some times and that is just normal. This is because windows tries to use one core at a time to conserve energy when no more than one is needed so for you right now most windows processes are scheduled on core 3 and the others are not in use, another day or in a few minutes it could be any of the other cores instead that shows a slightly higher temperature.

What is more interesting is when you load it (for example with cinebench, OCCT, Prime95...) and hopefully they will be more even then. if you have exremely high temps on one core during load i would check the seating of the cooler... (use CoreTemp to do the measurements)

CPU - C2Q Q6600 @1.2-3,05 GHz |#| RAM - 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-800 Kingston ValueRam
GPU - MSI Radeon HD4830 512MB @ 295-700MHz |#| GPU2 - GeForce 7500LE 128MB
Cooler - Hyper 212+ (push/pull) |#| SSD - Vertex 2 60GB |#| MoBo - Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4
SATA HDDs - HD154UI 1.5TB, 15EARS 1.5TB, 20EARS 2.0TB, HD501LJ 0.5TB, WD 160GB
USB-HDDs - Seagate 1.0TB |#| Case - Aerocool T40 |#| ODD - PATA DVD-RW |#| PSU - 500W
Screens - Samsung 226BW (Main), HP w19b (Right), Acer V233H (Portrait), SwedX 40" (TV)


#99 klokan

klokan

    New Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 16 December 2011 - 04:01 AM

It could of course be that the cooler is on unevenly, but probably not.
My cores can be 34, 30, 27, 25 some times and that is just normal. This is because windows tries to use one core at a time to conserve energy when no more than one is needed so for you right now most windows processes are scheduled on core 3 and the others are not in use, another day or in a few minutes it could be any of the other cores instead that shows a slightly higher temperature.

What is more interesting is when you load it (for example with cinebench, OCCT, Prime95...) and hopefully they will be more even then. if you have exremely high temps on one core during load i would check the seating of the cooler... (use CoreTemp to do the measurements)


thanx, i use speedfan.
I hade total issue with that cooler, it is hard to put it on 1155. I didnt hear the click, but when see the back it seems it was ok. take lok of photo:
Posted Image

#100 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6682 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 17 December 2011 - 11:11 AM

Updated:
7.i7 950 d0 @ 4.31GHz 1.400v | OCZ Freeze | Swiftech custom 120.3 rad with MCP350 pump and six push/pull 120mm Noctua NF-P12's at ULNA (5v) = 65C
13. i7 2600K @ 4.8GHz 1.455 | Swiftech custom Dual Stack (2) 120.2 rads and two push/pull 120mm Noctua NF-P12's at ULNA (5v) with MCP655 and also cooling two overclocked HD 6970's | Max Temp = 74C
14. i7 2700K @ 5.0 GHz 1.440 | Swiftech custom 120.4 rad and 2 push, 4 pull 120mm Noctua NF-P12's and 120.1 rad and push/pull 120mm Noctua NF-P12's at ULNA (5v) with MCP655 and also cooling two overclocked GTX 580's and a GTX 460 1GB | Max Temp = 72C

#101 NightDiver

NightDiver

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 February 2012 - 06:47 PM

Heres my idle readings...

Posted Image

And here's my full load readings...

Posted Image

AMD FX-8120 Zambezi 3.1GHz (OC'd to 4.1)
Zalman CNPS9900Max (red) cpu cooler
Chieftec Dragon Case.............................................Cooler Master CM Storm Series Trooper
Enermax Noisetaker 470W......................................Corsair Enthusiast Series TX850 PSU
Abit IC7-G................................................................Asus Crosshair V Formula mobo
3.0E P4 (OC'd to 3.52).............................................AMD FX-8120 Zambezi 3.1GHz (OC'd to 4.1)
1GB Corsair XMS 4000 RAM...................................G.Skill Ripjaws Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Dual 80GB Baracuda SATA HD's in RAID 0.............Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA 6.0 internal HD
XFX GeForce 6800GT..............................................2 Asus Radeon HD 6870 (for x16,x16 crossfire setup)
Posted Image

#102 ivangela

ivangela

    Professional Student

  • Folding Member
  • 672 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:PA, USA

Posted 05 March 2012 - 03:04 PM

I was going to post my first OC attempt WITHOUT auto voltage, so I'll add it to this thread also.

AMD Phenom II x4 940 @ 3.485 with Vcore 1.4375
Temps are 33C at load while folding. Didn't use any other stress method for stability but it's been 6 hours at full load. I fold 24/7, so we'll see how she hangs!
:foldon:

Attached Thumbnails

  • Validation 3_485 attempt 2.png

HTPC......Phenom II X4 940 BE @ 3.38.....AC Freezer 64 Pro......ASUS M4A79 Deluxe......2x2GB OCZ Platinum 1066......ASUS EN9500GT......Corsair CX430 PSU......WD Caviar Black 640GB and 1 TB......LG SuperMulti Blu-ray......Silverstone Black HTPC case
 

New Rig....i7 3770K (stock for now)....CM Hyper 212 Evo....ASrock Z77 Extreme4....16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 2x8GB....XFX Black Edition 7770....Mushkin 550W modular....Corsair Force GS 240GB SSD....2x640GB WD Black....CM Storm Scout 2

 
sigimage.gif
 
"wealth...that first and greatest of all the forces within the grasp of man" Dumas


#103 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Ghillie in the Mist

  • Folding Member
  • 541 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 20 March 2012 - 03:50 PM

E8600 4200.07 MHz With Corsair H100 set on Med. speed And all case fans on Med. speed, ambient air temp. 24.8 c.

Edited by Braegnok, 20 March 2012 - 03:58 PM.

i7-4790K

Maximus VII Gene

GTX Titan Black 6GD5

G.SKILL 4X4GB 3200MHz

Corsair AX760i

Corsair Obsidian 450D

Cooling by Black Ice & EK 

 

                    


#104 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Ghillie in the Mist

  • Folding Member
  • 541 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 21 March 2012 - 06:04 AM

E8600 @4450.00 MHz With Corsair H100 on Med. speed, and all case fans on Med. speed, Ambient Air Temp. 24.6c

i7-4790K

Maximus VII Gene

GTX Titan Black 6GD5

G.SKILL 4X4GB 3200MHz

Corsair AX760i

Corsair Obsidian 450D

Cooling by Black Ice & EK 

 

                    


#105 boinker

boinker

    Im a Watchin you......

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3302 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Del Sity, Oklahoma

Posted 02 May 2012 - 09:26 PM

Room temperature @ about 72' F

Core temp readings in Photo.

I7 950 DO at 4,10 ghz.
Vcore: 1.40
QPI: 1.410
PLL: 1.92

Shot of 4.10Ghz.PNG

"It works Because I threatened it. :lol:" - " did you show it the sledgehammer" - "No, A flight of stairs"
"I don't want to be much of a forum Nazi but this situation calls for a hail Bosco and blitzkrieg someone".

If that does not work I hop in a Madcat and Blast it to microscopic Particles.


#106 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6682 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 06 June 2012 - 01:05 PM

Room temperature is about 72F.

Ended up moving my i7 2700K to my Test Bench, since my main rig will now have a 3930K.

Finally used a Maingear Epic T1000 (Indigo Xtreme), and here are my temps:
CPU: i7 2700K @4.9 GHz w/HT 1.420 Vcore BIOS 3202; 1.416V - 1.424V CPU-Z | Maingear Epic T1000 + Swiftech Apogee XT 120.3 Push + Pull (5v) Max 67C Prime95
CPU: i7 2700K @5.0 GHz w/HT 1.460 Vcore BIOS 3202; 1.464V - 1.472V CPU-Z | Maingear Epic T1000 + Swiftech Apogee XT 120.3 Push + Pull (5v) Max 70C Prime95

Posted Image

#107 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 12 July 2012 - 08:13 AM

I have an AMD FX-6100, and room temp is around 20C

Stock
Idle Temp: ~35C
Load Temp: ~40C

O.C. +400MHz
Idle Temp: ~35C
Load Temp: ~45C


The maximum limit for the CPU is 60C, so it is well within limits

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#108 nickk47

nickk47

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 12 July 2012 - 12:14 PM

Intel E6500 Pentium D 775

Stock: ??

OC: 4004 MHz
Volt: 1.41 v

Idle: 33c
Load: 61c
Ambient: 21c

I need a new cpu....

| AMD A10-5800K @ 4.4GHz 1.46Vcore | Asus F2A85-V | AMD 7770HD 1GB | Asus N53 Wireless | Asus 21.5 Inch LED Monitor | Corsair Force GS 128GB | Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1866MHz @ 9-9-9-27 | Seasonic FL2 460W Platinum | Corsair Carbide 200R with Sound Dampening | Corsair H60 Cooler |