Jump to content


Photo

Guide to Folding @ Home


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#37 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3817 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 24 December 2010 - 07:51 PM

Well i'll let it go for a day first. Lol, how else do i get ppd. Yeah i'll post tomorrows ppd. The thing is already 34%through a wu. Size set to normal. Only been going about 30 mins i think. I rarely look at the clock till my stomach growls.

Edited by SpeedCrazy, 24 December 2010 - 07:57 PM.

Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#38 mattyamdfanboi

mattyamdfanboi

    Certified Geek

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 24 December 2010 - 08:32 PM

FAHmon tells u ppd straight away.. u can either get instant ppd or average.. i use average coz its more accurate.. dont have to wait a day or anything..
Phenom II x6 1055T 4.2ghz, Inno3D GTX 580 x2 940/1880/2200, 8gb Kingston HyperX Blu 1567mhz, 890FXA-UD5 Gigabyte, Corsair TX850

Posted Image

Posted Image

#39 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3817 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 24 December 2010 - 08:44 PM

I downloaded fahmon but it wont tell me my smp stuff. Every time smp is entered any other way than through command line it goes to an old unit that was never finished because i switched to using the -smp flag so fahmon cant find my actual current log.
Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#40 mattyamdfanboi

mattyamdfanboi

    Certified Geek

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 24 December 2010 - 09:40 PM

Hmmm works for me.. I dunno.. Atleast what's ur gpu doin
Phenom II x6 1055T 4.2ghz, Inno3D GTX 580 x2 940/1880/2200, 8gb Kingston HyperX Blu 1567mhz, 890FXA-UD5 Gigabyte, Corsair TX850

Posted Image

Posted Image

#41 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3817 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 25 December 2010 - 04:48 AM

Its done 4 units now but theres no ppd showing up in that column. A well i am going to neglect it for today and figure it out tomorrow.
Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#42 t0asty

t0asty

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 705 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA

Posted 08 January 2011 - 09:11 AM

I am thinking of trying this FAH thing out with the 6950 but I am hearing that ATI sucks for folding. I've also read that it's gotten better, but is it still worth it? I wouldn't mind folding while I was away during the day.

i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz | Antec 620 H2O Kuhler | MSI GeForce GTX n780 | 8 GB G.Skill | MSI X79-GD65 GAMING | TX750 W Corsair PSU | Cooler Master 690 | 128 GB Corsair Pro SSD  | 3 x 24" w2408h in Eyefinity

 


#43 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3817 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 08 January 2011 - 09:44 AM

Every little is worth it.
Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#44 Nyt_Ryda

Nyt_Ryda

    Total Nerd

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 19 January 2011 - 04:39 AM

This is a great guide to how to fold, Im going to start folding soon on my pc and this explains excellently how I must do it. This is great for folding noobs like me :P So I pinned it

i7 4770K | Corsair H105

ASUS Maximus VI Hero | EVGA GTX980 SC ACX 2.0
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz 4x4Gb | Corsair AX860i
Cooler Master Storm Trooper | Seagate Barracuda 2Tb


#45 Prunes

Prunes

    Geek

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 26 May 2011 - 12:23 PM

I've been thinking about investing in a New PC dedicated to my folding. Just not sure if it's fast enough..

Formerly known as Ecofriendly

My rig:

Mobo: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen 3
CPU: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.3
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i with 2x Corsair SP 120 Quiet Edition
GPU: MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB
HDD: WD Cavier Black 1TB
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Case: Fractal Design R4 Black

 


#46 DrDigitized2

DrDigitized2

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jamestown KS. USA

Posted 05 January 2013 - 10:07 PM

I have been trying to get my AMD 7950 to work but it wont let me. Keeps saying "At present your GPU is not supported and you need a current driver. You may wish to consider running our standard client, which you can download at folding.stanford.edu" Does anyone have a suggestion on how to get around this? I have spent hours trying to figure it our on my own but I feel it is a waste of time. 


sigimageu=32359&c1=FFFFFF&c2=000000&c3=0
 
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Fatal1ty,   Case: HAF 932 Blue edition, CPU: i5 2500K, PSU SeaSonic X-1250, GPU GIGABYTE GV-R795WF3-3GD Radeon HD 7950, RAM: Mushkin 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800),
 SSD: Corsair Force Series 3 120GB, HDD: 250GB, Water Cooler: XSPC Rasa 750 RX360, OS:Win 7 Home Premium 64 Bit TIM: Tuniq TX-2 Monitor PLANAR 27"


#47 DrDigitized2

DrDigitized2

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Jamestown KS. USA

Posted 05 January 2013 - 10:39 PM

One other thing I noticed today. I thought it was running to slow so I started watching the viewer and it would run 60 iter / sec for about 30 seconds and thin it would slow down to 1 iter / sec unless I clicked on it. I don't have anything running on my computer at the moment and I turned off sleep and hibernate along time ago so I don't what could be causing this. Did I set it up wrong?

 

I selected for Core Priority: Lowest Possible.

Set CPU usage percent at 100 even though my computer says its only using about 30%

I checked Do NOT lock cores to specific CPU

 

Please let me know what you think. Thanks.


sigimageu=32359&c1=FFFFFF&c2=000000&c3=0
 
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Fatal1ty,   Case: HAF 932 Blue edition, CPU: i5 2500K, PSU SeaSonic X-1250, GPU GIGABYTE GV-R795WF3-3GD Radeon HD 7950, RAM: Mushkin 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800),
 SSD: Corsair Force Series 3 120GB, HDD: 250GB, Water Cooler: XSPC Rasa 750 RX360, OS:Win 7 Home Premium 64 Bit TIM: Tuniq TX-2 Monitor PLANAR 27"