Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

SSD how big do you really need?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 pkilway

pkilway

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 946 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zionsville, IN

Posted 08 October 2010 - 04:57 PM

Looking at starting to peice together a new pc. I'm really intrigued by the new SSD technology. It seems most are just using SSD's as OS drives and then using a larger SATA hard drive as the primary storage for files, games, video, mp3's, etc.

So, with that in mind, how big of an SSD do you really need to buy to use as a boot drive for your OS? It doesn't make much sense to by a $500 256GB SSD drive if most of the files are going to be on a second non-SSD hard drive.
Current PC:
CASE: COOLER MASTER Elite 430 PSU: Antec NEO ECO 620W Card Reader: Rosewill RCR-AK-IM5002 CPU HSF: COOLER MASTER HYPER 212 plus
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-880GA-UD3H AM3 ATX (BIOS: F6) CPU: AMD AM3 Phenom II X3 740 (4th core unlocked, 16.5 x 213 = 3.5Ghz @ 1.392v)
GPU: PNY XLR8 GTX 460 OC 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 (800Mhz Core/1600mhz Shader/1900Mhz Memory) SOUND: Realtek ALC892
DEDICATED PHYSX: Galaxy GT240 512MB GDDR5 (600Mhz Core/1400mhz Shader/1900Mhz Memory) RAM: Mushkin Enhanced Silverline 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1333
SSD(OS):
OCZ Agility 2 120GB HDD(STORAGE): SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 1TB KEYBOARD & MOUSE: Logitech Wireless EX 100 Keyboard and Mouse
BURNER: LITE-ON iHBS212 Blu-Ray Burner PLAYER: LITE-ON iHOS104-08 OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

#2 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20559 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 08 October 2010 - 05:33 PM

Well with one that big you wouldn't have to run off of a secondary HDD
Honestly I'd personally never buy smaller than a 128GB and just be conservative with installing stuff on it...and then not run other programs off of a second HDD. That way you get the full experience of the SSD IMHO, I don't understand why people buy 32GB or 64GB SSDs and then still run other stuff off of a regular HDD. Kills half of the point

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 8GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#3 Hemidare

Hemidare

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1398 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sylvan Lake, AB

Posted 08 October 2010 - 06:44 PM

I myself want to run 2 60gb ssd's in raid 0. I know there is no trim support for raid 0 but i have heard that the performance degradation is not that bad, besides i reinstall every 6 months or so. So in answer to your question i would go with a minimum 128 gbs for your windows install (personal preference).
Posted Image

#4 Speedway

Speedway

    IRL is back, Go Penske!

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2265 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Speedway, IN

Posted 09 October 2010 - 08:20 AM

I have 2 80GB Intel SSD in RAID 0. I use it for my OS and for Steam, and I don't have enough space. Now granted my Steam folder is pretty big, but still..... So when it comes to SSD'd I would go as big as you can afford. If you only have your OS in a small SSD then you will see fast boot times, but if all of your commonly used programs are still sitting on a HDD then you will still see the same load times coming off of the mech drive! So really the only person who can possibly know what size SSD you need is you ;) Windows7 takes up close to 20GB, not sure what your OS is, but add that to a list of all the programs you use on a regular basis and would want on your SSD, and figure out how much space you will need!

Life Begins @ 220mph


I7 2600K - ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z - 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133MHz - ASUS GTX 680- (2) Corsair Force GT 120GB SSDs RAID 0 - (2) 750GB WD Black HDDs RAID 0 - 900W Tagan BZ Series - U2-UFO

Dual Loop Water Cooling - Koolance RP-452X2 - CPU -> Koolance CPU-360 - Thermochill TA 120.3 - Liang D5 GPU -> D5 - XSPC RX360 - Koolance VID-NX680

The Cube Build Log - Update Coming


Guide for Unlocking MSi Afterburner


Heatware


#5 Jump4h

Jump4h

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 753 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Posted 09 October 2010 - 08:52 AM

I use 128GB and struggle with it. I have only 3-4 games installed and my programs + OS. 128GB minimum, 256GB and you do not have to uninstall stuff all the time

#6 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 09 October 2010 - 09:47 AM

I have 2 80GB Intel SSD in RAID 0.

I thought TRIM didn't work with RAID?

ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#7 davidst

davidst

    Fermi Folds Fast!

  • Folding Member
  • 770 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pearland, Tx

Posted 09 October 2010 - 11:17 AM

I have been kicking this around it sounds like the best of both worlds.
This would be my boot drive.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817997011
http://www.newegg.co...6-555-_-Product
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820211485
Windows 7 HOME Antec 900 * Gigabyte P35-DS3R Rev 2
Kingston Hyper X 1066 4x2GB KHX8500D2T1K2/4G
Core 2 Duo E8500 @3562 mhz 1.072V Zalman 9500a HSF
NIVIDA MSI GeForce GTX 470 (FERMI) CM 600W PS RS600-PCARE3-US
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty Champion Series
2 Seagate ST3250318AS 250G Raid 0 * 1 Seagate ST31500341AS 1.5 TB
2 Western Digital 6400AACS 640G * Samsung SH-S223L SATA DVD Burner LightScribe
MITSUMI Black 1.44MB 3.5" w/ USB 2.0 dig card read Samsung 245BW 24"LCD * Polk AMR-150 4.1 speakers

Posted Image

#8 adriantrances

adriantrances

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts

Posted 09 October 2010 - 08:16 PM

All I can say is regarding SSD's atm, size matters.

I'm currently using an 80gig Intel, but planning to get a Sandforce around 120-200GB. So I think the sweetspot for me would 150 GB, enough for no more than 10 games, software and windows.

#9 camaro_dude15

camaro_dude15

    If you cant DODGE it, RAM it

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 12 October 2010 - 11:13 PM

im regreting my decision on getting my 60 gb ssd i think it is definately worth more money for a bigger ssd

Case Coolermaster Haf 932| MoBo ASUS Crosshair V Formula Z| CPU AMD FX 8320 and Noctua D 14|7990, 7970 gpu's
RAM Kingston 16gb ddr3| PSU cougar 1000w|OCZ Agility 2 60gb WD blue's 500gb, 320gb |


#10 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15418 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 13 October 2010 - 03:23 AM

I'd say 128 GB bare minimum.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#11 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6630 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 13 October 2010 - 06:49 AM

Only because I have SQL Server, Visual Studios, and Video editing software, I need 128GB at the least for my main gig. I put all my games on my 4 HDD RAID 10 array, and it loads games just as fast as my SSD. On my laptop, I also need 128GB since I don't have a secondary drive for storage on it.

Otherwise, I can easily get away with 64GB. Just as long as you have an HDD RAID array, size for your OS/App SSD doesn't matter too much. My girlfriend could get away with a 32GB SSD. All I put on it was her OS and Microsoft Office, and a few other apps. The rest I put on 2 HDD RAID 1. Her 64GB SSD still has like 44GB free space.