Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

GPU acceleration


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3815 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 21 September 2010 - 05:56 PM

Hi Guys
Haven't posted anything new for a while. Anyway, i am hoping to get Adobe CS5 Production Premium or Photoshop CS5 Extended(educational prices rock! :thumbsup: the suite 449 just photoshop 200, i cant let tht deal pass me buy 2 programs for 200 each or 11 for 449, what can i say but Yeahaaaaaaaaaw, here i come) but in the computer requirements it says

Adobe-certified GPU card for GPU-accelerated performance in Adobe Premiere Pro; visit the Adobe Premiere Pro system requirements page for the latest list of supported cards

What does that mean, unfortunately the first 400 series card is the 470.... and i cant afford that on top of my software and other purchases, and deffinetly not a quadro as much as i would like it(if i could afford a quadro id get a SSD and some more RAM). Does this mean it wont work? or just that it will work better?
Thanks :thx:

Edited by SpeedCrazy, 21 September 2010 - 06:00 PM.

Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#2 CowKing

CowKing

    Phil ain't got nothin' on me

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1445 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eagan, MN

Posted 21 September 2010 - 06:55 PM

it should work on any 4xx GFX card. I think what they are saying is that the 470 was tested and they know it works, not that any other card wouldn't work.
CPU: (Intel)q9450@3.36GHz|1.4v
Power Supply: (Antec)BP550|550w
GFX Card: (PNY)GTX 460|800-1600-4000 biggest GTX 460 dud OCer
Motherboard: (Gigabyte)P35-DS3R |P35|
Memory: (Mushkin) Redline 2x2GB DDR2 1000|1050MHz 5-5-5-12|
Ayn Rand is the author for people who want to act like complete douche-bags, but don't have the balls to just admit that they are douche-bags.
"There are two novels that can change a bookish fourteen-year old's life: The Lord of the Rings and Atlas Shrugged. One is a childish fantasy that often engenders a lifelong obsession with its unbelievable heroes, leading to an emotionally stunted, socially crippled adulthood, unable to deal with the real world. The other, of course, involves orcs."

OCC Cool Club Member


#3 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 21 September 2010 - 07:11 PM

:withstupid:
Let me see the list, I'm not sure if the 450/460 are necessarily supported yet if that's a new list but anything 470 and older (but not over two gens) should work I'd imagine

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#4 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3815 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 23 September 2010 - 04:08 AM

(sigh of relief) But would i be right in saying that in this case i would be better off upgrading to the 470 rather than SLIing when the time comes? Or by that point the new cards maybe out.
Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#5 NearlyEpic

NearlyEpic

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 166 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:behind you

Posted 23 September 2010 - 06:24 AM

Premiere Pro will work with any of the 2xx series cards, I have a GTX 260 Core 216 and all i had to do was edit a text file :/


=Main Rig=
Motherboard: Asus EVO Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1050T @ 3.5 GHz
RAM: 8GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 | Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 560
Case: Cooler Master Centurion 534+ | Heatsink: Zalman CNPS 9900ALED
And an awesome side panel.


#6 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 23 September 2010 - 08:04 AM

It will work perfectly fine without GPU acceleration - it just won't be as fast.

Posted Image

Booyah.


#7 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3815 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 23 September 2010 - 09:14 AM

Anyone got any idea what a new Kepler card would cost, when they come out?
Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#8 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6460 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 23 September 2010 - 09:20 AM

Here's a good article to read: http://www.notebookr... Pro CS5 Review

#9 MrAlex

MrAlex

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 424 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paphos, Cyprus

Posted 23 September 2010 - 09:27 AM

Anyone got any idea what a new Kepler card would cost, when they come out?


The same price the current NVIDIA cards where released for.

#10 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3815 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 23 September 2010 - 09:29 AM

@ El_Capitan if you are recommending i get CS4 instead, i cant. CS5 Production Premium Educational price is much cheaper than CS4 Production Premium.
Also it will last me longer than buying already updated software,plus i like working in 64-bit.
Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#11 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6460 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 23 September 2010 - 09:39 AM

@ El_Capitan if you are recommending i get CS4 instead, i cant. CS5 Production Premium Educational price is much cheaper than CS4 Production Premium.
Also it will last me longer than buying already updated software,plus i like working in 64-bit.

That came out of left field. No, the article link is an Adobe Premiere Pro CS5 Review. Here's some snippets:

They also added greater GPU acceleration to it, allowing Photoshop to scale and alter images in the UI on the graphics card, dependent largely on the amount of video memory available.

Adobe also likes to cite their Mercury Playback Engine, which is supposed to offer enhanced GPU acceleration even over CS4, and brings some CUDA-accelerated features for owners of workstation-class and high-end Nvidia video cards. Adobe and Nvidia are both a little bit cagey on their secret sauce and unfortunately all the video hardware in my household is ATI, so it's hard to see any real differences.


That last quote... how can the reviewer experience any GPU acceleration differences if all he has is ATI video cards?