Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Been thinking about upgrading anyway


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Hyper

Hyper

    Of course it will fit, I have power tools.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, WA

Posted 28 April 2010 - 03:34 PM

Getting ready to redo my water loop's and take a shot at sleeving all the cables.. while Im at it have been thinking about changing out the video cards for something new (not that I realy need to)..

Here's my thinking.. I generally don't have SLI enabled as some of the stuff I run gets twitchy with it enabled, so single GPU card with a gtx260 as a phyx card (have one in my other system which will get my 2x285's for some folding fun and a back up system :rolleyes: ).

Heat and power consumptions do not consern me, I will throw a water block on whatever ever I get.

Looking at

http://www.newegg.co...on=gtx 480 evga

or

http://www.newegg.co...2-891-_-Product
(or maybe just the vapor-x one)

I like running full settings (1920x1200) and aa and mainly play online rpg type games, some movie watching (sometimes at the same time :rolleyes: ).. 2nd monitor can run off the phyx card..

Any real reason to choose one over the other?
Posted Image

#2 Drdeath

Drdeath

    Certified Geek

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1573 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago Burbs

Posted 28 April 2010 - 10:56 PM

Get this one. Powercolor Eyefinity 5870 2G. No more AGP. Connects via firewire/HDMI(5 ports and I think you can run 5 monitors) for $499. I have it and it is phenominal.....


http://www.newegg.co...1-353-_-Product

http://www.powercolo...ures.asp?id=240

Edited by Drdeath, 28 April 2010 - 10:58 PM.

WACO NEEDS A HUG KILLER: Intel Core i7 3770K Overclocked to 4.9GHz stable 24/7
Gigabyte Z77 UD7/ Nexus 1100/ 3 x Sappire Dual 7970's 1150-1600/ 16G G.Skill Tridents Memory Overclocked to 2200MHz cas 9
OCZ 240G Revo Drive/ Phobya WayCooLit TestBench
Custom Water/ Swiftech Apogee XT/ Liang MCP655/ Thermalchill PA120.3 plus 120.2

JEALOUS BLUE PANDA GOT MUGGED AND KICKED BY GIRL SCOUTS KILLER: Same as above with 3930K/ Gigabyte X79 UD4 when I feel like it.

JEALOUS WACO KILLER II: A10-5800K TRINITY/ ASRock A85 Extreme 4/Noctua C-14 Air Cooling/ Radeon 6670/ Seasonic 550W PSU/ 8G Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz Low-Profile Memory/ 120G OCZ Vertex 3/ 320 Veloci-Raptor/ Hauppauge Win-TV TV Tuner/ Zalman HD503 HTPC case

 

 


#3 sdy284

sdy284

    Mr. Staypuft

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Chicago 'Burbs, Illinois

Posted 28 April 2010 - 11:05 PM

Get this one. Powercolor Eyefinity 5870 2G. No more AGP. Connects via firewire/HDMI(5 ports and I think you can run 5 monitors) for $499. I have it and it is phenominal.....


http://www.newegg.co...1-353-_-Product

http://www.powercolo...ures.asp?id=240


Posted Image

please try and know what you're talking about before you go spouting things off.

First, you say "no AGP" i assume you mean no VGA? I haven't seen VGA on a newer GPU in forever, which is almost as long as the last time I saw a GPU using AGP :withstupid:

Second, it connects via Mini-Displayport. Thats it. No HDMI, ESPECIALLY not firewire.

Anyway, that card is pointless for the OP. He's running a single 1920x1200 monitor that most likely is running a DVI connection. Not to mention the fact that the 2gb 5870's really show no performance increase @ that resolution anyway.

#4 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6301 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 28 April 2010 - 11:09 PM

Lol, easy sdy, easy.

Btw, I never owned a GPU with a mini-displayport. What is that, anyway? Are there mini-displayport adapters to connect to DVI or HDMI?

#5 sdy284

sdy284

    Mr. Staypuft

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Chicago 'Burbs, Illinois

Posted 28 April 2010 - 11:21 PM

Lol, easy sdy, easy.

Btw, I never owned a GPU with a mini-displayport. What is that, anyway? Are there mini-displayport adapters to connect to DVI or HDMI?


I'm sorry, but my tolerance for spewing out misinformation is very low...

http://en.wikipedia....ini_DisplayPort

and yes there are

#6 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6301 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 28 April 2010 - 11:29 PM

Ah, interesting. I guess I'll get to that when I start upgrading to the 30" Monitors with 2560 x 1600 resolutions. :P

Anyways, I do everything with my GTX 275 using my 28" 1920 x 1200 monitor(s) just fine (playing games - SC2 beta, watching blu-ray movies, using dual displays). Anything more powerful than that is for your personal pleasure. :)

#7 slick2500

slick2500

    mmm beer

  • Folding Member
  • 1933 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Box Elder SD

Posted 28 April 2010 - 11:54 PM

One thing to note the Vapor X's use a non reference design cooler so you have to make sure you get the right waterblock, EK is usually the only ones that make the blocks that will fit the Vapor X's. Never really understood why Danger Den doesn't or didn't, I don't know if they do but they didn't the last time I checked. I think Koolance makes one but its all aluminum IIRC.


-Edit- Yeah for some reason DangerDen doesn't like making blocks for non reference cards.... I'm not sure why tho.

Edited by slick2500, 29 April 2010 - 12:02 AM.

slick2500.jpg
Main Rig AMD FX 6300 Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 Team Dark 2x4GB DDR3 1600 9-9-9-24 Sapphire Vapor-X Radeon R9 270X Corsair TX850 PSU Coolermaster Stacker 830SE


#8 Hyper

Hyper

    Of course it will fit, I have power tools.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, WA

Posted 29 April 2010 - 05:24 AM

One thing to note the Vapor X's use a non reference design cooler so you have to make sure you get the right waterblock, EK is usually the only ones that make the blocks that will fit the Vapor X's. Never really understood why Danger Den doesn't or didn't, I don't know if they do but they didn't the last time I checked. I think Koolance makes one but its all aluminum IIRC.


-Edit- Yeah for some reason DangerDen doesn't like making blocks for non reference cards.... I'm not sure why tho.



Yea, I saw the EK blocks thats why I was looking at the vapor-x cards as I knew I could get a block for them and they had the dvi ports :) And would rather stay away from the 6 display port ones, as the most I'll hook up is maybe a triple monitor set up, later on..(dont have the desk space at the moment..)
Posted Image

#9 hierovision

hierovision

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newport News

Posted 29 April 2010 - 05:38 AM

Heat and power consumptions do not consern me, I will throw a water block on whatever ever I get.

In that case, get a stock GTX 480 without a doubt. Combine with your favorite DD block (they already have like 3 different ones for the GTX 480).
Silverstone Raven 2-E | Gigabyte P67A-UD5-B3 | i7-2600k | OCZ Vertex 3 120GB | EVGA GTX 580