Overclocking Athlon X4 630

CDMCCDMC

PC Spec:

Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (Build 7600)

Motherboard: M4N72-E SLI 750a

Processor: AMD Athlon II X4 630 Processor (4 CPUs), 3.5GHz

Memory: 8192MB RAM DDR2 800+Mhz (4x2GB)

Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX+ 775M XXX Edition

PSU: ~750W

(CPU Cooling: Coolermaster Hyper TX3)

(RAM Cooling: Titan Cooler 80mm 3 X RED LED)

Untitled_3.jpg

in BIOS core voltage is 1.4500

RAM is set to 667Mhz mode. all other is on auto

how far i can push it? now running at 3.5Ghz stable. (tested with Prime95, played GTAIV on very high.. tried everything.. and still runs perfectly) max temp 54c.

I would like to hit 3.8Ghz. at 3.8Ghz (ram at 908Mhz) it boots up but fails Prime95.

(i'm not a pro at OC)

what i need to lower or increase to get stable 3.8Ghz

thanks for your help! :blush:

your just about at the Voltage limit for that cpu. so 3.5ghz might be your limit. i wouldnt go any further than 1.45 but some people go 1.5 without a problem. if your comfortable with temps then try pushing the voltage a little higher.

:huh: well i don't know about MB but i think that RAM is holding me down..

what voltage have to be set when DDR2 800Mhz running at 900Mhz? ~2.0V?

about CPU voltage i read somewhere that at 3.8Ghz dude used a 1.5500V for stability :blink:

and how about other stuff? i mean that all other settings are on auto.

except

RAM: 677Mhz mode (can't set lower)

CPU: 1.4500V

i know that this 630 CPU can hit 5.5Ghz (of course not on Air Cooling :lol: ). so maybe its ram..maybe MB.. but i think i can reach 3.8Ghz sable B:)

just need to try harder n not blow my self up :D

Try running it with 2 sticks of ram instead of 4. Overclocks tend to work better when all the memory slots are not populated. Check you owners guide also. Sometimes they recommend which slots to use when using only 2 sticks depending on the stock MHz ratings.