Jump to content


Photo

Water Cooling Kit from AMA Tested


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Nemo

Nemo

    Will Fold 4 Food

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Franklin, TN

Posted 22 March 2009 - 08:34 PM

OCC checks out the AMA Aragon 900 Water Cooling Kit - http://www.overclock...ews/ama_aragon/

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz / ASUS P5Q Deluxe / Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB PC2-9600 DDR2-1200MHz / 2x Seagate ST3160827AS 160GB RAID 1 / Seagate ST31000340AS 1TB
Corsair TX750W / Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5 / SilverStone TJ05 / Scythe Zipang 140mm CPU Cooler / ASUS VH202T-P 20" widescreen monitor (x2) / XP Pro SP 3
"however, i cannot claim to be such a fish as i am not a fish at all..." - hardnrg,Jul 4 2005, 02:49 PM
 

Posted Image

Posted Image

Follow OCC on Posted Image
Subscribe to the OCC Newsletter

Lucky Mudder Race 2013


#2 silbluever

silbluever

    Member

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 23 March 2009 - 10:50 AM

I liked your review but the temps seemed a little high for this watercooling kit. I noticed that the waterblock orientation may have been off. I thought the outlet barb on the block was supposed to be at the top to let out trapped air.

#3 Zertz

Zertz

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2574 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quebec, Canada

Posted 23 March 2009 - 02:46 PM

I liked your review but the temps seemed a little high for this watercooling kit. I noticed that the waterblock orientation may have been off. I thought the outlet barb on the block was supposed to be at the top to let out trapped air.


The system is still installed so I'll check this out :)

Some people are like slinkies - not really good for anything but they bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.


#4 silbluever

silbluever

    Member

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 24 March 2009 - 12:11 PM

Just checking if you had a chance to change up the waterblock?

#5 Zertz

Zertz

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2574 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quebec, Canada

Posted 25 March 2009 - 06:41 PM

Okay, just tested it. The results are within margin of error, about a single degree above or below my original results.

Some people are like slinkies - not really good for anything but they bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.


#6 silbluever

silbluever

    Member

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 25 March 2009 - 08:45 PM

cool or should I say warm. I have about the same setup as this system but my temps are much lower.

Phenom II 720 BE @ 3.4ghz
D TEK FUSION Waterblock
3/8 hose
Dander Den Black Ice GT Stelth 240 X Flow Radiator.
Thermaltake Pump/Res.

The waterloop goes from the pump to the rad to the block and back to the pump. At the time of this writing the proc is sitting at 18oC and gets to about 22oC under load.
It might be the 95W proc or the rad and block are REALLY good. I just figured that this system would perform better even on the proc in the system you tested with.

#7 Bosco

Bosco

    OCC Boss

  • Senior Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32397 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 25 March 2009 - 10:50 PM

The i7's do run anywhere near as cool as the Phenom II's.

Main Gaming Rig
Intel 3960X
MSI X79A-GD65 8D
16GB of Corsair Vengeance
NVIDIA 780TI's in SLI
Corsair Force 3 GT 240GB SSD
Coolermaster 932 Case
Noctua D14 CPU Cooler
Thermaltake Toughpower XT Platinum 1275 Watts
3 X 24" LCD's
Donating to OCC :::: OCC Site Rules :::: OCC Reviews
RIP Verran and Nemo gone but never will be forgotten.


#8 Zertz

Zertz

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2574 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quebec, Canada

Posted 26 March 2009 - 08:47 AM

Are you sure the software you're using to measure temperatures is accurate? 18C even at idle sounds a bit low unless your room temperature is incredibly low as well. And like Bosco said, i7 run much hotter - their TDP is 130W

I will give testing another shot tonight using the fans on 12V instead

Some people are like slinkies - not really good for anything but they bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.


#9 silbluever

silbluever

    Member

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 26 March 2009 - 11:13 AM

Here is a snap of the temps at idle. The house thermostat says it is 66F inside the living room. My rig is in the bedroom closet and I don't know if that temp is accurate.TempPic.JPG

#10 Water_Hazard

Water_Hazard

    Geek

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GA, USA

Posted 26 March 2009 - 11:29 AM

Are you sure the software you're using to measure temperatures is accurate? 18C even at idle sounds a bit low unless your room temperature is incredibly low as well. And like Bosco said, i7 run much hotter - their TDP is 130W

I will give testing another shot tonight using the fans on 12V instead


I have the phenom II 720 too and idle temps are 16c at stock speed on air. overclocked to 3.7 idle is still 20c, full load is 40c!! Room temp is 22c. I am very pleased and amazed at the temps of this processor even if it hits an overclock wall at 3.7.. I also have the i7 920 and have to say the thing I hate the most about this cpu is the temps.. Idle at stock is 28c-30c full load is 50c-53c. Overclocked to 4.0 temps are 36c-38c load are 63-64c on water with the the swiftech gtz block

Edited by Water_Hazard, 26 March 2009 - 11:34 AM.

Main rig
Case:
Corsair 800D CPU: Intel I7 970 @ 4.2 1.37v H2O Cooler: Swiftech apogee XT MoBo: EVGA x58 Classified Memory:Patriot viper 12GB (3x4GB) DDR3 2000Mhz Video Card: 2xGTX 580
Storage:
2xOCZ Agility 2 120gb raid0, 2xWD black 640gb raid0 Power Supply: Antec True Power Quattro 1200w OS: 7 x64 Monitor: Dell Ultrasharp 3007wfp 2560x1600
Posted Image
"Drifting... Nothing like showing the guy in the other lane your taillights... Then looking in the rear view and seeing his face.'"


#11 silbluever

silbluever

    Member

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 26 March 2009 - 12:29 PM

Holy crap that is warm for the i7. but I guess that is what comes with 130w proc.
Here is a screen with the 720 under load after about 30 min.Temp_Load.JPG

#12 Zertz

Zertz

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2574 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quebec, Canada

Posted 26 March 2009 - 02:53 PM

I understand the PII-720 runs cooler, but sub-ambient temperatures with water is impossible

Water_hazard: your results are in line with what we've been seeing on i7

Edited by Zertz, 26 March 2009 - 02:56 PM.

Some people are like slinkies - not really good for anything but they bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.