Jump to content


Photo

Amd's Latest Socket Am3 Processors Benched


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Nemo

Nemo

    Will Fold 4 Food

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Franklin, TN

Posted 08 February 2009 - 09:38 PM

AMD unveiled its Phenom II X4 940 processor at CES based on the AM2+ socket which included support for DDR2 memory. AMD is now bringing the newer and faster speeds of DDR3 memory to the AMD platform with the new AM3 processors . You can check out the review of the Phenom II 720 and 810 AM3 processors here - http://www.overclock...ii_720_810_am3/

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz / ASUS P5Q Deluxe / Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB PC2-9600 DDR2-1200MHz / 2x Seagate ST3160827AS 160GB RAID 1 / Seagate ST31000340AS 1TB
Corsair TX750W / Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5 / SilverStone TJ05 / Scythe Zipang 140mm CPU Cooler / ASUS VH202T-P 20" widescreen monitor (x2) / XP Pro SP 3
"however, i cannot claim to be such a fish as i am not a fish at all..." - hardnrg,Jul 4 2005, 02:49 PM
 

Posted Image

Posted Image

Follow OCC on Posted Image
Subscribe to the OCC Newsletter

Lucky Mudder Race 2013


#2 Timmy94

Timmy94

    Clock Me Higher

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia

Posted 08 February 2009 - 09:43 PM

Nice Review

Asus GTX 295
Acer 24" + Acer 19"
Coolermaster CM 690
Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3P
4GB Patriot Viper-2 1600
Intel Core i7 860 @ 2.94Ghz
Great Wall 700W + TT 450W VGA


#3 damian

damian

    Nerd Life

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2760 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tx

Posted 08 February 2009 - 10:51 PM

Shame there are no AM3 motherboards out yet.
Nice review though.

#4 Voltes_5

Voltes_5

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2017 posts

Posted 08 February 2009 - 10:57 PM

That will become my next build, AM3, I hope it does well.......i had a feelling that 810's multi will be locked.

Edited by Voltes_5, 08 February 2009 - 11:32 PM.

Asus P8 P67 Pro_i5 25K_RipjawsX 2x4GB_OCZ Vertex 3 128GB_GTX 470 SLI (MSI Twin Frozr II/Asus ENGTX)_Corsair AX-1200_W7 Home Premium


#5 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 09 February 2009 - 05:02 AM

Nice review....

I am also waiting to see what the difference will be with running a AM3 CPU in a AM3 board....running it backwards doesnt really show the effectiveness or true power of the CPU....



That will become my next build, AM3, I hope it does well.......i had a feelling that 810's multi will be locked.


I am sure they will have a Black Edition X4....they always do...
Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#6 MrAlex

MrAlex

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 424 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paphos, Cyprus

Posted 09 February 2009 - 05:21 AM

Good review,
but stupid to but a this as a con:

No DDR3 motherboard support currently available

Hell it's not their fault.
And by the way, GIGABYTE release AM3 boards already on Thursday/Friday...

#7 Crow47

Crow47

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1309 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 February 2009 - 06:39 AM

Good review,
but stupid to but a this as a con:

Hell it's not their fault.
And by the way, GIGABYTE release AM3 boards already on Thursday/Friday...


Well, technically, it is a con of the platform that the technology as of now does not exist yet to take full advantage of the chip's potential. Thought it may not be AMD's fault per se, it is still a downside to the platform as a whole.

CrowcompVII

Intel DZ77GA-70K - i7-3770 3.4GHz - 16GB DDR3 1866 HyperX Predator - eVGA GTX 780 SC 3GB  - 240GB Mushkin Chronos SSD -

850 Watt Seasonic M12ii - H60 Closed Loop Cooler - Corsair Air 540 - Win 8.1 Pro x64 - QNix QX2710 27" 1440p  @ 85 Hz (Samsung PLS)


CrowBook
Lenovo U410

1.8 GHz Intel Core i5 3337UM - 8GB DDR3 1600 (2 x 4GB) - 750GB + 25GB SSD Cache - 14" LED

nVidia 610m 1GB - Windows 8.1 Pro x64


#8 Verran

Verran

    RIP 1981-2009

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7026 posts
  • Location:Holt, MI

Posted 09 February 2009 - 06:50 AM

Hell it's not their fault.

It doesn't have anything to do with 'fault' though. It's useful information for a potential shopper, that's all. If the product can't currently be used to its full potential, then I'd consider that a con, regardless of whose fault it is.

Personally, I think it's a cool idea. It's a good way to make a smooth transition between DDR2 and DDR3 with a chip that does both.
Posted Image
[E7400 Gaming]~[Q6600 Burning]~[Opt148 Wife's]~[3200+ HTPC1]~[3500+ HTPC2]
"Thank you for helping us help you help us all."

#9 Kuronin

Kuronin

    Stand back, it's killing time.

  • Folding Member
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 February 2009 - 07:46 AM

Holy crap, I might have to change my mind about AMD, that X3 720, falls just short of beating out Intel's much more expensive chips, and actually beats out the X4 720 in some cases, can anyone tell me why?

f97234c9dd3c960b.png


#10 Verran

Verran

    RIP 1981-2009

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7026 posts
  • Location:Holt, MI

Posted 09 February 2009 - 07:54 AM

Holy crap, I might have to change my mind about AMD, that X3 720, falls just short of beating out Intel's much more expensive chips, and actually beats out the X4 720 in some cases, can anyone tell me why?

:withstupid: Agreed! If I hadn't already had a 775 board laying around, my current secondary build would have been an AMD. I'd really like to take one of these P2's for a spin.
Posted Image
[E7400 Gaming]~[Q6600 Burning]~[Opt148 Wife's]~[3200+ HTPC1]~[3500+ HTPC2]
"Thank you for helping us help you help us all."

#11 CheeseMan42

CheeseMan42

    Certified NVIDIA Fanboy

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3639 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:McLean, VA

Posted 09 February 2009 - 08:08 AM

Nice review, too bad I'm not currently looking.

i7 950 @ ??? | Noctua NH-D14 | ASUS Sabretooth X58 | 4x2GB GSkill Ripjaws | Palit 460 GTX Sonic 1GB | 64GB Kingston SSDNow + 128GB Kingston SSDNow | Corsair 750TX | CM Stacker 830 | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD555 | Microsoft Habu | CM Quick Fire Rapid
Foxconn HTPC - AMD E350 APU | 4GB RAM || Samsung Chromebook || Google Nexus 7

Steam | Xfire | For Sale Thread | OCC Steam Group | Follow OCC on Posted Image
Gr4vitas (3/18/09) - So moral of the story is. Vista 64 bit makes me happy in the pants.


#12 redtigerdragon

redtigerdragon

    Asus Xtreme Design 2009 3rd Place

  • Folding Member
  • 1061 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:columbia, MO

Posted 09 February 2009 - 08:10 AM

Tom's has a review with the am3 socket (I think i read it briefly) and the x3 does well there too. They also tried to take the pins off of a 940 to make it fit ROFL!
“Rumor has it the State of the Union is today rather than tomorrow to avoid conflicting with the Lost premiere. But my feelings towards one are pretty similar to my feelings towards the other: I’m confused by the most recent plot twists and skeptical that the writers can wrap it all up in one tidy package.” By Ezra Klein, talking about the 2010 State of the Union Address.