Jump to content


Photo

Guide To Smp Folding With Linux In Vmware


  • Please log in to reply
129 replies to this topic

#121 hardnrg

hardnrg

    Overclocking the i7... finally

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16487 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester, UK

Posted 26 January 2010 - 02:11 PM

Server v2.x is somewhat different to Workstation... the UI is via any internet browser and appears to be Java-based.
The shortcut to the server URL (local) is one of the icons in the VMWare folder on the start menu.
Once you are logged into the web UI, it's fairly easy to find the equivalent screens to set up a VM.
Each VM launches in a separate window, rather than tabbed in an app window as Workstation and Server v1.x do.

Also, Workstation v7.x supports 4 cores per CPU (iirc), so that's a way to get 4-way SMP in a single VM of Ubuntu. It maintains the tabbed app window of Server v1.x and previous versions of Workstation which is, admittedly, a lot easier to initialise VMs and otherwise manage them, if you are totally new to VMWare products.

( How To Ask A Question ) · ( F@H Sigpics ) · ( Rules ) · ( USB Bootdrive ) · ( Modding & Computer Stores ) · ( OCC facebook.png )
i7 920 D0 @ 21x196=4116, HT on · D-Tek Fuzion v1 · 3x2GB Corsair XMS3 PC3-10666 @ DDR1176, 8-8-8-22-1T
BFG/XFX GTX260 Maxcore SLI @ 756/1512/1188 (Swiftech MCW60-R + Swiftech GTX200) · Asus P6T Deluxe V2
X-Fi XtremeMusic (Hotrodded) · PCP&C Silencer 750

Athlon II X4 635 @ 2900 · 2x 2GB PC2-6400 · HD5550 1GB · Asus M4A77D · Antec Neopower 480

EeePC 1000H @ 12x164=1965 · 1x 2GB Corsair VS PC2-5300 · Gigabyte Aircruiser N300 GN-WI06N

 


#122 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 27 January 2010 - 12:57 AM

Server v2.x is somewhat different to Workstation... the UI is via any internet browser and appears to be Java-based.
The shortcut to the server URL (local) is one of the icons in the VMWare folder on the start menu.
Once you are logged into the web UI, it's fairly easy to find the equivalent screens to set up a VM.
Each VM launches in a separate window, rather than tabbed in an app window as Workstation and Server v1.x do.

Also, Workstation v7.x supports 4 cores per CPU (iirc), so that's a way to get 4-way SMP in a single VM of Ubuntu. It maintains the tabbed app window of Server v1.x and previous versions of Workstation which is, admittedly, a lot easier to initialise VMs and otherwise manage them, if you are totally new to VMWare products.

well this may not be the recommended method but i think i finally have something going here....my first virtualbox ubuntu 9.10 64bit smp2..tah dah...!!...and oh yea the usual 5 windows consoles. my cpu is at 90+% capacity...temps mid 60s low to mid 70s...i guess i'll see how long i can keep this up...

#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#123 CheeseMan42

CheeseMan42

    Certified NVIDIA Fanboy

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3649 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:McLean, VA

Posted 27 January 2010 - 06:01 AM

I don't think project 4461 is SMP, what core does it use?

i7 950 @ ??? | Noctua NH-D14 | ASUS Sabretooth X58 | 4x2GB GSkill Ripjaws | Palit 460 GTX Sonic 1GB | 64GB Kingston SSDNow + 128GB Kingston SSDNow | Corsair 750TX | CM Stacker 830 | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD555 | Microsoft Habu | CM Quick Fire Rapid
Foxconn HTPC - AMD E350 APU | 4GB RAM || Samsung Chromebook || Google Nexus 7

Steam | Xfire | For Sale Thread | OCC Steam Group | Follow OCC on Posted Image
Gr4vitas (3/18/09) - So moral of the story is. Vista 64 bit makes me happy in the pants.


#124 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 27 January 2010 - 07:17 AM

post

I don't think project 4461 is SMP, what core does it use?

6.29.... when i went to the folding site download page it said this or 6.02 were recommended downloads by browser configuration.
it crashed over night, ive not figured out how to set it up correctly, in fact it died shortly after the picture post i made...3% is all i have credit for
i don't get how to edit the console to keep the logfile continuously updated and insure proper points and credit for the work done

this is turning into a lot of work...
i think i'm just gonna unload all this stuff and keep the windows consoles going for awhile longer...

#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#125 CheeseMan42

CheeseMan42

    Certified NVIDIA Fanboy

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3649 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:McLean, VA

Posted 27 January 2010 - 08:02 AM

post
6.29.... when i went to the folding site download page it said this or 6.02 were recommended downloads by browser configuration.
it crashed over night, ive not figured out how to set it up correctly, in fact it died shortly after the picture post i made...3% is all i have credit for
i don't get how to edit the console to keep the logfile continuously updated and insure proper points and credit for the work done

this is turning into a lot of work...
i think i'm just gonna unload all this stuff and keep the windows consoles going for awhile longer...


You can probably just use the Windows SMP client now. From what I've heard it is close to even with using Linux as far as PPD. If you need any help with that let me know. It should be a lot easier, and I believe Stanford even has directions for it.

i7 950 @ ??? | Noctua NH-D14 | ASUS Sabretooth X58 | 4x2GB GSkill Ripjaws | Palit 460 GTX Sonic 1GB | 64GB Kingston SSDNow + 128GB Kingston SSDNow | Corsair 750TX | CM Stacker 830 | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD555 | Microsoft Habu | CM Quick Fire Rapid
Foxconn HTPC - AMD E350 APU | 4GB RAM || Samsung Chromebook || Google Nexus 7

Steam | Xfire | For Sale Thread | OCC Steam Group | Follow OCC on Posted Image
Gr4vitas (3/18/09) - So moral of the story is. Vista 64 bit makes me happy in the pants.


#126 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 27 January 2010 - 08:28 AM

You can probably just use the Windows SMP client now. From what I've heard it is close to even with using Linux as far as PPD. If you need any help with that let me know. It should be a lot easier, and I believe Stanford even has directions for it.

thanx cheeseman42, you.ve been really patient with this. fact is i have very little experience with linux/ubuntu and minimal understanding of how to navigate, create and utilize it's features...on the outside it looks pretty straight forward but under the hood the differences from windows evade me...i currently have 16 windows consoles spread out between 3 machines and right now that seems like enough...i mostly wanted the "linux/virtual machine" experience from this endeavor, and i got some of that so for now i'm good. i appreciate your help !!

#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#127 CheeseMan42

CheeseMan42

    Certified NVIDIA Fanboy

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3649 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:McLean, VA

Posted 27 January 2010 - 09:01 AM

thanx cheeseman42, you.ve been really patient with this. fact is i have very little experience with linux/ubuntu and minimal understanding of how to navigate, create and utilize it's features...on the outside it looks pretty straight forward but under the hood the differences from windows evade me...i currently have 16 windows consoles spread out between 3 machines and right now that seems like enough...i mostly wanted the "linux/virtual machine" experience from this endeavor, and i got some of that so for now i'm good. i appreciate your help !!



If you ever have any questions just let me know. I was simply referring to the Windows SMP being a better use of your CPU than the multiple single core clients.

i7 950 @ ??? | Noctua NH-D14 | ASUS Sabretooth X58 | 4x2GB GSkill Ripjaws | Palit 460 GTX Sonic 1GB | 64GB Kingston SSDNow + 128GB Kingston SSDNow | Corsair 750TX | CM Stacker 830 | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD555 | Microsoft Habu | CM Quick Fire Rapid
Foxconn HTPC - AMD E350 APU | 4GB RAM || Samsung Chromebook || Google Nexus 7

Steam | Xfire | For Sale Thread | OCC Steam Group | Follow OCC on Posted Image
Gr4vitas (3/18/09) - So moral of the story is. Vista 64 bit makes me happy in the pants.


#128 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 27 January 2010 - 09:15 AM

If you ever have any questions just let me know. I was simply referring to the Windows SMP being a better use of your CPU than the multiple single core clients.

gotcha...done...waiting for files...

#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#129 Lackadaisical

Lackadaisical

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 580 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arizona

Posted 08 February 2013 - 06:49 PM

Will the performance of F@H be similar/identical on CentOS? I'm just much more familiar with CentOS and if the ppd is basically the same I would rather avoid having to use ubuntu, does anyone know?


sigimage.gif?c1=FFFFFF&c2=000000&c3=0000


#130 CheeseMan42

CheeseMan42

    Certified NVIDIA Fanboy

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3649 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:McLean, VA

Posted 09 February 2013 - 06:11 AM

Will the performance of F@H be similar/identical on CentOS? I'm just much more familiar with CentOS and if the ppd is basically the same I would rather avoid having to use ubuntu, does anyone know?

 

I never tried it on CentOS but I don't see why it would be any different. Instructions on how to get everything up and running should be the same. I chose Ubuntu because I was most familiar with it.


i7 950 @ ??? | Noctua NH-D14 | ASUS Sabretooth X58 | 4x2GB GSkill Ripjaws | Palit 460 GTX Sonic 1GB | 64GB Kingston SSDNow + 128GB Kingston SSDNow | Corsair 750TX | CM Stacker 830 | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD555 | Microsoft Habu | CM Quick Fire Rapid
Foxconn HTPC - AMD E350 APU | 4GB RAM || Samsung Chromebook || Google Nexus 7

Steam | Xfire | For Sale Thread | OCC Steam Group | Follow OCC on Posted Image
Gr4vitas (3/18/09) - So moral of the story is. Vista 64 bit makes me happy in the pants.