Jump to content


Photo

Guide To Smp Folding With Linux In Vmware


  • Please log in to reply
129 replies to this topic

#13 Verran

Verran

    RIP 1981-2009

  • Honorary Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7026 posts
  • Location:Holt, MI

Posted 22 January 2009 - 06:06 AM

Really nice guide. This will be helpful for any VMWare stuff, not just folding. Thanks for taking the time to put it all together!
Posted Image
[E7400 Gaming]~[Q6600 Burning]~[Opt148 Wife's]~[3200+ HTPC1]~[3500+ HTPC2]
"Thank you for helping us help you help us all."

#14 road-runner

road-runner

    Posting Machine

  • Folding Member
  • 10731 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 22 January 2009 - 06:10 AM

I usually add the -advmethods attribute aswell to the command, ie ./fah6 -smp -advmethods as that will bring you work units for the SMP GROMACS CVS core which is newer and faster.

You can and have to set this in the client if you want the a2 cores. A2 cores are only available if 4 or more cores are detected but will run on 2 which will get you even more PPD. I am not sure if it will work with Linux in VMware but if you have a Quad and run Native Linux this is the way to go. On a Q6600 @ 3.6Ghz running dual SMP clients for instance the WU 2674 in getting 3600 ppd, so your looking at around 7200 ppd. The A2s are only available in Linux, so do not look for them in Windows, they cant get windows to run them I think it overloads it or something...

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

sigimage.gif


#15 kingdingeling

kingdingeling

    King of the Autobahn

  • Folding Member
  • 10247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hannover, Germany

Posted 22 January 2009 - 05:49 PM

Very nice guide, I especially like the pictures! Thanks for putting one like this together, it will certainly help new folders :)

Maybe I am missing it somehow, but have you also described how to run it in the "DOS-like" mode as we were speaking about in the other thread? It gives a couple more PPD as well :)

I guess I have no excuse for not being as awesome as King... - iKillSteal

Seriously, big credit goes out to King for maintaining this list. He puts a lot of work into this thing and he deserves our thanks! - Verran

RIP

| Samsung P480-Pro | Core i3 370M 2.4GHz | 4GB DDR3-1066 | GeForce GT330M | 320GB | 14" |


#16 CheeseMan42

CheeseMan42

    Certified NVIDIA Fanboy

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3649 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:McLean, VA

Posted 22 January 2009 - 07:34 PM

Very nice guide, I especially like the pictures! Thanks for putting one like this together, it will certainly help new folders :)

Maybe I am missing it somehow, but have you also described how to run it in the "DOS-like" mode as we were speaking about in the other thread? It gives a couple more PPD as well :)


I honestly don't remember what the key combination for that is. I believe there is an option at the login screen to do it.

i7 950 @ ??? | Noctua NH-D14 | ASUS Sabretooth X58 | 4x2GB GSkill Ripjaws | Palit 460 GTX Sonic 1GB | 64GB Kingston SSDNow + 128GB Kingston SSDNow | Corsair 750TX | CM Stacker 830 | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD555 | Microsoft Habu | CM Quick Fire Rapid
Foxconn HTPC - AMD E350 APU | 4GB RAM || Samsung Chromebook || Google Nexus 7

Steam | Xfire | For Sale Thread | OCC Steam Group | Follow OCC on Posted Image
Gr4vitas (3/18/09) - So moral of the story is. Vista 64 bit makes me happy in the pants.


#17 333

333

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arkansas

Posted 22 January 2009 - 07:41 PM

Wow...I really feel like a noob. Even with pictures and the great write up, I was still scratching my head...
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 | Foxconn G33M | WD 640 GB Sata | Evga 9800 GT 512 Mb | 6GB DDR2-666 (5-5-5-15)
http://overclockersc...=3&name=OCC_333

#18 road-runner

road-runner

    Posting Machine

  • Folding Member
  • 10731 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 22 January 2009 - 08:41 PM

I honestly don't remember what the key combination for that is. I believe there is an option at the login screen to do it.

I think ctrl+alt+F1 changes to text mode but I cant remember what keys change it back...

sigimage.gif


#19 DLS2008

DLS2008

    Wait, what goes here?

  • Folding Member
  • 1047 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warren, MI

Posted 22 January 2009 - 10:22 PM

Great guide like I said earlier. I'm almost all done with getting the Linux SMP up and running on my Q9450. For some reason, I couldn't get VMware Server 2 to work, but I got VMware Server 1.something to work.

road-runner, how do you get FAHMon to monitor your Linux SMP production. I'm curious how to monitor my 2 VMware clients and my GPU2 clients all on the same rig...

Thermaltake Armor+ w/ 4 Scythe S-FLEX SFF21E fans/Gigabyte GA-X48T-DQ6 motherboard/Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8) 1.280V (CPU-z)/PC P&C Silencer 750W
HP w2408h 24" Widescreen 1920 x 1200/Zalman CNPS9700 HSF/2 x ATI Radeon HD 4870 @ 750 MHz Core/900 MHz Memory/Vista Ultimate 32-bit/4 x 500 GB WD Caviar in RAID 10
Sound Blaster Audigy X-Fi ExtremeGamer/4 GB (2x2GB) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1080 5-5-5-18/2 x 320 GB WD Caviar in RAID 1
http://overclockersc...me=DLS2008&.jpg


#20 CheeseMan42

CheeseMan42

    Certified NVIDIA Fanboy

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3649 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:McLean, VA

Posted 23 January 2009 - 04:57 AM

Great guide like I said earlier. I'm almost all done with getting the Linux SMP up and running on my Q9450. For some reason, I couldn't get VMware Server 2 to work, but I got VMware Server 1.something to work.

road-runner, how do you get FAHMon to monitor your Linux SMP production. I'm curious how to monitor my 2 VMware clients and my GPU2 clients all on the same rig...


See my second post about setting up Samba. This will allow you to do exactly that. I've got FAHMon checking my 2 SMP clients and my 4850.

i7 950 @ ??? | Noctua NH-D14 | ASUS Sabretooth X58 | 4x2GB GSkill Ripjaws | Palit 460 GTX Sonic 1GB | 64GB Kingston SSDNow + 128GB Kingston SSDNow | Corsair 750TX | CM Stacker 830 | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD555 | Microsoft Habu | CM Quick Fire Rapid
Foxconn HTPC - AMD E350 APU | 4GB RAM || Samsung Chromebook || Google Nexus 7

Steam | Xfire | For Sale Thread | OCC Steam Group | Follow OCC on Posted Image
Gr4vitas (3/18/09) - So moral of the story is. Vista 64 bit makes me happy in the pants.


#21 road-runner

road-runner

    Posting Machine

  • Folding Member
  • 10731 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 23 January 2009 - 06:37 AM

Great guide like I said earlier. I'm almost all done with getting the Linux SMP up and running on my Q9450. For some reason, I couldn't get VMware Server 2 to work, but I got VMware Server 1.something to work.

road-runner, how do you get FAHMon to monitor your Linux SMP production. I'm curious how to monitor my 2 VMware clients and my GPU2 clients all on the same rig...


I use this guide... http://ubuntuforums....ad.php?t=202605

sigimage.gif


#22 CheeseMan42

CheeseMan42

    Certified NVIDIA Fanboy

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3649 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:McLean, VA

Posted 23 January 2009 - 06:54 AM

I use this guide... http://ubuntuforums....ad.php?t=202605


My little blurb on Samba is basically the same thing in much less steps. If you want to follow that guide it would work just the same. I just tried to cut down on some of the steps.

i7 950 @ ??? | Noctua NH-D14 | ASUS Sabretooth X58 | 4x2GB GSkill Ripjaws | Palit 460 GTX Sonic 1GB | 64GB Kingston SSDNow + 128GB Kingston SSDNow | Corsair 750TX | CM Stacker 830 | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD555 | Microsoft Habu | CM Quick Fire Rapid
Foxconn HTPC - AMD E350 APU | 4GB RAM || Samsung Chromebook || Google Nexus 7

Steam | Xfire | For Sale Thread | OCC Steam Group | Follow OCC on Posted Image
Gr4vitas (3/18/09) - So moral of the story is. Vista 64 bit makes me happy in the pants.


#23 road-runner

road-runner

    Posting Machine

  • Folding Member
  • 10731 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 23 January 2009 - 07:45 AM

My little blurb on Samba is basically the same thing in much less steps. If you want to follow that guide it would work just the same. I just tried to cut down on some of the steps.

Well this is what I have been using for the last couple years before your guide... :)

sigimage.gif


#24 DLS2008

DLS2008

    Wait, what goes here?

  • Folding Member
  • 1047 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warren, MI

Posted 23 January 2009 - 07:49 AM

All that is left to do now is to point your choice monitoring program to this directory and you are good to go.


Where is this directory? I've looked under my Virtual Machines folder and there's no folders. I've looked on the network and there's no folders there either. Am I not looking in the right places, or did I set up Samba wrong?

Thermaltake Armor+ w/ 4 Scythe S-FLEX SFF21E fans/Gigabyte GA-X48T-DQ6 motherboard/Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8) 1.280V (CPU-z)/PC P&C Silencer 750W
HP w2408h 24" Widescreen 1920 x 1200/Zalman CNPS9700 HSF/2 x ATI Radeon HD 4870 @ 750 MHz Core/900 MHz Memory/Vista Ultimate 32-bit/4 x 500 GB WD Caviar in RAID 10
Sound Blaster Audigy X-Fi ExtremeGamer/4 GB (2x2GB) OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1080 5-5-5-18/2 x 320 GB WD Caviar in RAID 1
http://overclockersc...me=DLS2008&.jpg