increasing cpu multiplier?

GaryT

okay, let me start by saying I'm kind of new to overclocking, not new to computers at all, just never bothered with overclocking. anyway my current desktop setup is not necessarily slow, but could be faster, it's a little outdated, I've been pulling parts from anywhere I can get them free, the main source being my dads old pc which the cpu went out on, right now I'm running an AMD athlon 64 X2 3600+ on a Biostar TA780G M2+ with 8 gigs of DDR2, anyway if I let the thing do whatever it wants the cpu runs at a bus speed of 200mhz with a multiplier of 10x putting my speed at 2000mhz. I don't have the money to buy a faster processor so I'm trying to speed this up a bit by overclocking, not running any programs for it, just what I can change in BIOS, I went to 220 bus speed and it still seems stable, 230 crashed. but I heard that raising the bus speed can crash your computer faster than the multiplier, so I was wanting to raise my multiplier some, but 10X seems to be the max it will let me go. is there anything I can do about this? I mean my laptop, a lenovo thinkpad T61 is running at 12x right now, my friends new "gaming" computer is running at 27x, but I account that to the quad core. anyway, is there anything I can do to jack up my multiplier a bit? also, when I upped my bus speed it upped the speed of my memory, CPU-Z tells me that the max bandwidth is "pc2-6400 (400mhz)" but after upping my bus speed my memory has jacked itself up to 440mhz, should I be lowering the voltage on that to bring it back down to 400 or is it okay? I realize I'm taking some ammount of risk on all my components when I overclock but I don't have the money to buy 8 more gigs of ram if I kill this stuff. sorry if this seems kind of all over the place, I'll list me specs again.

motherboard: Biostar TA780g M2+
Ram: kingston DDR2 2gb x 4 = 8gb
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+