SSD bootup problem

Lawrie

Hi All,

I am a newbie but hope that someone may be able to help me with my problem.

I have re-installed Windows 7 64 bit onto my computer. To do this, I disconnected my HD and my two external drives and pointed Windows to the only drive I had connected which was my 250GB Corsair SSD.

Windows installed fine but when I went into my BIOS to change boot priority from CD Rom to SSD I could only see the CD Rom listed and the other boot option was "disabled".

However, my computer boots up fine from my "disabled" SSD!

When I re-connect my HD [which has no O/S installed] I get a BSOD. Checked in BIOS and the HD has become Boot Option 1. Disconnect it and my computer boots up fine again.

My two external drives were fine when re-connected.

Does anyone know what I can do to get my SSD seen by the BIOS and how to stop the BIOS from insisting the computer boots up from the HD when connected?

Thanks.

Lawrie

post-131129-0-85247300-1392826465_thumb.jpg

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Please expand the menu option HDD BBS Properties, grab a screen shot and post.  My bet, is that once you expand the HDD BBS Properties menu you are going to find that the SSD isn't the first bootable device on that list.  If that ends up being a true statement, you need to move it to the top of the list.

Thanks for your reply.
I must admit I am a silver surfer and not really computer literate.
However, I have been into the BIOS again and took a couple of photos. I cannot see how I attach them to this reply. Can you explain please.
Thanks again,

In case it is relevant, this is my computer specifications:-

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H

Intel Core i7 3770K @ 4.5GHz

Antec P183 v3 case

2 TB HD

Liteon DVD-RW & Bluray - RW Combo

Windows 7 64 bit Ultimate

300 MBs WiFi

16 GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz

240GB Corsair Force 3 SSD

Corsair H80 water cooler

Corsair TX 750 PSU

MSI Geforce GTX 680 2 GB

SD Memory Card Reader

Hi,