Low -12V

Just wanted to know if -12V is reading at -7.25V OK? The other reading that is a little low is the +5V at 4.92V. But the main deal is the -12V at -7.25V. I was reading somewhere and they said most motherboards really don't use the -12V much but I don't know if this is true or not. :dunno:

Thats super low.

I am not an expert by any means when it comes to motherboard / hardware and the PSU.

I do know with it only providing 7volts it wont hurt anything but you do run in to the possibility of it not providing enough power to something to where it may not work and cause an error/blue screen.

Like Video cards for example if they don't have the power they need, they are not going to work. So maybe right now your hardware is working fine but when you add stress / excessive use to it, it might just shut down on you.

Personally I would take that PSU back and get another one. (Different Brand).

I am sure more Knowledgeable people will post in here though with some better advise lol!

No that is fine. I was reading up on it a while back and your -12v is fine if its below that level. Really any of the - readings can be below. What is more important is all the positive readings.

Strictly speaking the -12V rail shouldn't fall below -10.8V or it doesn't meet the ATX12V V2.3 specification. Having said that I think the only thing it's used for is the now rarely used RS232 serial interface and its derivatives so you may be OK but it could be a sign of power supply failure so my advice would be to get it replaced as soon as possible.

I'm suprised the pc will even boot if the 12v rail is actually running at 7.25v

OP - where are you getting your 12v voltage readings from? BIOS, third party software, or manually measuring with a digital multimeter?

I'm suprised the pc will even boot if the 12v rail is actually running at 7.25v

OP - where are you getting your 12v voltage readings from? BIOS, third party software, or manually measuring with a digital multimeter?