Recommend me a SSD

Nyt

Hey guys,

So recently my 1Tb WD Caviar Black Sata6G drive has been giving me corruption of data and an abundance of problems - not unexpected considering the number of times its been formatted in its +- 2 years of use.

So what I want to do is get a SSD and use it for my Windows 7 64 bit OS, Office stuff and non-gaming programs while installing games/Steam/storage to my other 500Gb Seagate HDD and once the HDD prices drop, I will replace this with a 1Tb drive for games/Steam/storage.

Now I am a total noob when it comes to SSDs I need your help deciding on a good brand SSD which uses SATA 3.0 aka 6Gbps and is reliable - dont want this thing to die very quickly on me My budget is probably around $200 on newegg so around Performance Pro 128Gb, Force GT 120Gb, OCZ Vertex 3 120Gb, Patriot Wildfire 120Gb and all drives priced like that

So lets discuss ... :)

Of the drives with the size you want and the price point I have used the GT and the Agility and both are outstanding drives. For $204 you can also add the Kingston Hyper X to that mix. You are not going to go wrong with any of these drives. From a speed point of view do not get to caught up in the throughputs as they look impressive on paper but in real world usage do not really amount o much. An SSD gets the real performance boost from the access times.<br><br>If you want to stay under $200 right now then I would go with the Corsair GT, the drive is very snappy and stable. I personally am using a Hyper X which I felt in my testing was a little snappier in day to day performance but the price difference makes this decision tough.<br><br>

Let me caution you. Resistance is futile, Once you experience the difference you will be assimilated by the SSD revolution.:cool2: