Credit card questions

IVIYTH0S

So I'm still fairly newbish to credit cards still (only have two, the first of which is just about to hit 1 year) and I had some questions that some of you may be able to answer...

1st: I have an offer for an American Express that's tempting (Right now I have a CapitolOne-Mastercard and a DiscoverIt) with a free first year... Now if I were to cancel it right before it starts up the membership fee, would my credit rating take a hit?? (and if so, would it still be more beneficial to have it for that almost-year to build credit with, assuming I still come out higher than if I never got it)

2nd: Related to the nature of the first question, my CapitolOne has always has had an annual fee (I had no choice, it was my first card and nothing else would accept me) and I'm thinking about canceling it or switching to another one of their cards that still is a cashback card but doesn't have an annual fee. Would it still hurt my credit score if I switched cards within the same company??

Thanks for any help ya'll can give.

Cancelling any card is going to negatively effect your credit, no matter how long or how short you've had it. That's just a fact of credit, regardless of how much or how little credit you have established the cancelling of a card is a fairly minor dent though. In my experience the annual fees are never worth it, so i agree with your desire to get rid of that annual fee.

Are you aware that most American Express cards are not actually credit cards, they are usually charge cards. Suffice to say, you are usually required to pay the full balance every month, this is something you'll want to double check on the AMex offer. Maybe you already knew and that's what you want, i just find that most people don't realize the difference between a credit card and a charge card. And they are pretty major differences.