Need an incredibly stable mini itx build.

Tjj226_Angel

I am helping a friend of my moms with his iMac. 

To make a very long a frustrating story short, he needs a new computer. 

Normally I would not bother the community over such a PC build, but I am not sure if what I want to do with this computer is even possible. 

1st thing we need this computer to do is dual boot linux mint and NOT windows. (See how I avoided EULA laws right there?). 

OSSuck is the main reason I am insecure about this build. 

2nd: Maximum data security and reliability. This guy has well over 30,000 pictures, and keeping them safe is the main objective of the build. Here is where I start to get a bit iffy on certain things. I would like to have a raid 1 array in the build. 

The idea would be to have a SSD that is formatted in Mac extended journal for the OS and then a raid 1 array that is formatted in FAT32 for the data. 

I do not know if such an idea would work on OSSuck. I have no VERY little experience with OSSuck when it comes to partitioning and very drive formats. 

3: This person has also just purchased an ipod touch. I would like it if the raid 1 array can be accessed over the wifi network so that he could view his pictures and listen to music directly from the PC's storage. 

I know how to make that work on windows and linux, but not OSSuck. 

------------------------------------

As for the actual hardware of the build, I will be using a lot of parts that I have lying around my house. 

The things that will be purchased are a motherboard, CPU, GPU, and case. Everything else I already have. 

For the CPU, I would like to use a Xeon 1240 v3. The reason being is that microcenter has this cpu for a great deal, and the CPU will last forever, so why not. 

I am really struggling with the motherboard. If at all possible, I would like to use a mini itx motherboard, but it is not crucial. We just need a super reliable motherboard and I would like to keep it around 150 bucks or less.