New To Forums. New To Overclocking.

Shiver

Hi. So Like I said. I'm new to the forums and I'm new to overclocking. I've tried before but I've always given up when the system crashed too many times or the results didn't seem worth it. So I was just wanting some tips on overclocking and any info about the limitations of my rig. I've been experimenting in Bios a little bit but lots in AMD Overdrive. Thanks

Rig Info with links on Newegg

ASUS GTX570 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121432

SeaSonic 700W

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151031

G.Skills Ripjaw 8GB

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231314

ASUS M4A79XTD EVO

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131402

Cooler Master V8

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103055

AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103808

Also A full sized Antec case with 7 fans all together with adjustable speed.

Thanks For Any and All Help.

First, welcome to OCC! :)

If you are going to overclock, you generally want to avoid auto settings in the bios, this includes AMD Overdrive.

This is because the motherboard doesn't know a thing about voltages and can over-volt components while the components don't really need it.

If you are going to overclock multiple parts of your pc, i would suggest looking up some guides on the internet.

There are plenty of guides online that will cover your processor and gpu and you will learn a lot from it.

Welcome to OCC, as WW said manually oc'ing in bios is the best way, but amd od is all right to give you an idea of how high your system will go.Then you can go into the bios and and fine tune it like lower cpu voltage , raise multy ,etc. but as WW said auto oc'ing tend to raise voltages too much causing more heat which will harm the cpu over time.

Hi Shiver.  Welcome to our community.  We're glad to have you here.