Basic things about overclocking

Hi, i'm a beginner in overclocking, but i think i know some stuff and i want to make sure it's right. To occ a cpu you increase the multiplier or that other clock (the one which is multiplied by the multiplier. Then you shoud increare the voltage because it shall use more power. The thing i don't understand is: i don't know how much power can go through the cpu socket, but i know that my psu on the 3.3 volt carries 150 max of power. Let's say that i overclock and the required wattage goes beyond 150w, will it crash? The cpu which i'm talking about here would be a 3770k or 4770k. Thanks

Possible..... however it would be peak loads that would ever get you beyond 150watts and is however unlikely either way i am fairly certain most new aged boards run vcore off of the 12v rail so this is something you shouldn't worry about.  You get the gist of it though just watch your vcore and only increase it as it is needed.

The 3770k is only a 77watt cpu.  

So is my 3570K, I overclocked to 4.7ghz and hardly ever hit even a 70watt draw.  So at full OC I don't think you'll actually draw more than the rated 77, just up to it.   Plus I've heard the 3770k takes even a little less voltage to oc than the 3570k.  

The thing i don't understand is: i don't know how much power can go through the cpu socket,

More than enough to fry the cpu.  Keep the voltage to 1.35v max unless you are doing some extreme cooling/benchmarking.

Edited by RedFury77

Stre - everyone is hitting on some basic points dealing with overclocking on socket 1155 (Sandy and/or Ivy) - but there are some great guides here and elsewhere on the very subject.  If you really want to learn about overclocking you should thoroughly study them and then come back and ask some specific questions or explain particular problems you're having trying to get a stable overclock.

At minimum you need to understand;

overclocking via cpu multiplier