Help: LGA 1366 and Samsung Low Voltage RAM

Rylen

I'm new to overclocking. I have an i7 930, Asus PX58D-E and 24 GB of that low voltage Samsung DDR3 1600.

I already tried copying the settings from the huge Asus PX58 Motherboard thread, but I got a blue screen shortly.

Are there any extra changes/precautions I need to make because of the low volt RAM besides setting the Voltage to between 1.35-1.45?

I'm shooting for a moddest OC, around 3.6 Ghz for CPU and around 1866 MHz for the RAM.

I currently have a really simple OC going by only changing the multiplier to i think 20 and the BCLK to I think 180. This got me the desired CPU speed but the RAM only shows its running at 1138 MHz in CPU-z instead of the 1500+ MHz I thought I set it to in the BIOS.

Anyway I'm sure simply changing the multiplier and bCLK is not how I should OC, so if I can get some help that would be greatly appreciated.

Also I read something about XMP settings to get my desired RAM speeds? Any insight into that.

Once I get into BIOS I'm clueless without step by step instructions on what to do

Here are pics I took of the current disappointing RAM speeds, sorry I didn't screen cap instead, I was running out the door when I took the pics

rYIMr.jpg

fEoho.jpg

You need to get the system up to 3.60 or 3.80 and then try your ram. Leave the ram at the 9-9-9-24 1t and set the ram clock to 1333.

Lets start overclocking then. Go get core temp and prime 95 and with the system at stock run prime95 on blend for an hour or so. I know its a push up but its necessary to verify stability before you start overclocking. After that its time to oc.

Set the cpu core to 1.220 - 1.250 or close to that.

Set the qpi / vtt to 1.20v

Set your ram voltage to 1.50

set your uncore frequency to the second lowest setting.

turn off c states and Intel speed step.

Set your cpu multi to 21

Leave everything else on auto.