Annoyances Of The Computer World

Bosco

How would you rate this article? (10 being the best)  

13 members have voted

1. 1. How would you rate this article? (10 being the best)

I like the concept, except:

1) As an IT consultant, I like people with problems. Problems = $

2) That article is long and seems geared towards those of us who already have a good understanding of the problems and solutions. I'd like to see a 1-page summary with brief explanations and exact instructions for the novice.

my $.02

I gave it a low rating because of your mention of SpyHunter (Engima softtware) which also advertises on this site - you may have seen their banner ad advertising NoAdware.

These programs are scams- they are neither free nor effective- they won't do anything until you pay them $29.99.

AdAware will tag these programs as malware if you install them and there are lots of places that will regale you with stories on why not to use these products (Google for SpyHunter and NoAdware). I made the mistake of trying NoAdware last night since it was advertised here (somehow that made me think it was trustworthy). Fortunately I didn't let myself get duped into paying for it! I just re-ran AdAware and let it remove NoAdware for me (even after I ran the uninstall it left plenty of things behind I didn't trust).

I also think that cwshredder deserves a mention as it is an excellent resource for ridding your PC of the CoolWebSearch hijack.

Advertisements on this site are done by a 3rd party, and I get nothing from them.

While it would have been nice to list all software available to rid of spyware/adware/etc, it's just not possible. As I said in the article, the software listed is not affiliated with OCC, and that it wasn't a complete list of apps.

Also mentioned in the article that some spyware removal programs will actually install spyware, which is why you should read the EULA.