Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion and Win7 64-bit

blinkingpeak649

I FREAKING LOVE this game! I started playing it 4 years ago on Vista and couldn't put it down. With the completion of my new rig I had to start a new game. After installation everything worked perfectly. Coming back later to continue my quest I started Oblivion back up and it CRASHED.

I can't get enough of this game and I finally fixed the errors (so far) and am making this post to other Oblivion lovers out there.

First off my specs are as follows:

CPU: Phenom II x2 560 BE (stock, no OC)

HDD 1: WD Caviar 500GB SATA II (OS installed here)

HDD 2: Velociraptor 250 GB SATA II (Oblivion installed here)

GPU: Gigabyte Radeon HD 6870 (OC @ 950 mhz)

- Dual Monitors enabled

I don't think any other specs matter so I didn't post them. After the errors I researched a lot about the problem and it seems that there are a lot of different ways people have tried to fix the crash upon start up but it isn't the same for everyone and readers can't determine whether or not the fix lasted throughout the game or it was solved for a one time fix and crashed again the next start up.

After contacting Bethesda a service representative had informed me that Oblivion is only certified to work with Win XP 32-bit. Although it works on other operating systems, Win XP is the only OS it is CERTIFIED to work with. He also noted that my GPU wasn't listed as a tested GPU with Oblivion.