1200w -1600w PSU's pushing the limits of the electrical outlet?

I noticed power supplies are up to 1600w and some ever higher. I also noticed that they are using NEMA 15 plugs. Is this pushing the limits? or too much for a standard home electrical outlet? would one have to be worrying about tripping circuit breakers, etc? Thanks!

Ohm's Law is I= V/R, where I is the current in amps, V is voltage in volts, obviously and R = resistance in Ohms.

In a typical situation, one is using the variation of this equation, V=IR. Anyway,

I digress because I like this stuff and rewired my entire house.

You want to know max watts on a circuit. Watts is  a measure of Power and without giving you more equations one can load 2400 watts onto a typical 120V,20 amp circuit. Having said this, it is convention and maybe even code (I'm not an electrician) that one only use 80% of max load, so that's 1920 watts. So you're OK for monster PSUs

On a 15amp circuit, the max is 1800 watts, so less 20% is 1440 watts. In this case you ARE NOT OK for a 1600watt PSU. It would be a fire hazard!!

In case you think it is just a matter of switching to a 20 amp receptacle, you would be mistaken. The receptacle is dictated by the gauge wire that is run to it and the breaker. 12 gauge wire can handle the extra load of a 20amp circuit. Most people run 14gauge wire and that requires a 15amp circuit.

There, electricity 101 :)

EDIT: I can't resist. The equation is P = I x V, where P is power in watts, and we've discussed I and V

Edited by ivangela

glad to help and possibly prevent a fire. my pal's haouse burned down in New Orleans from faulty wiring...it sucked

Thanks for the help, so let say that you plug in the 1600w monster in the 15amp circuit. Wouldn't the PC be using only what is needed from the 1600w maximum? which in my case would be way under 1600w.

glad to help and possibly prevent a fire. my pal's haouse burned down in New Orleans from faulty wiring...it sucked