Coolant type.

slick2500

Getting ready to get my stuff all set up in my new case and I needed some ideas for what to use as coolant.

I have a Swiftech MCR220-QP radiator Swiftech MCP655-B pump and a Swiftech Apogee GTX block. Now I know I cannot run just straight water in it or my block will look like this in a few months. My idea was a combination of distilled water, some engine coolant, to keep corrosion down, and some automotive window washer fluid, to keep out microorganisms. 

All I use is distilled water and some silver. As long as you don't have any nickel plating, silver works wonders, and it's low maintenance. It's what I've been using for about 4 years since going to custom watercooling.

Thats the issue the top of the GTX is aluminum with nickle plating iirc. It might be zinc I don't remember. I'm looking it up now.

-Edit- The housing is CNC machined out of billet aluminum and receives two plating's for a lifetime protection against corrosion: electroless nickel plating (MIL-C-26074E grade B) and Zinc Cobalt plating (ASTM B 840-99 grade 6).

Edited by slick2500

I actually have been using automotive coolant with good results. Being a benz technician I have extra 50/50 laying around. Like a few gallons..... I'm using a propylene glycol based mb coolant. 25% coolant 75% tap water.

But if you use automotive coolant go ahead and run a filter before the pump for the first fluid Change or run the loop for a few days to break off all the buildup. It will remove any buildup that you could not remove due to its ph and cleaning properties. But if it's a new loop then this is not needed. And yes if it's not clear it will leave color behind but it does not effect temperature.

My experiences.

Boinker

Just don't use Biocide, the last time I did when I opened the bottle to use it, it had algae in it lol.