Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Why I will never buy another ULTRA psu again


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 panyx

panyx

    New Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 28 October 2013 - 09:54 AM

I just want you guys to know what just happened to me. I hate to see someone get cheated or treated like this. So I just tried to do a RMA with them and they told me they couldn't because it is a compatibility issue with my graphics card. Never mind I have 1 cheap card that I can run for most of the day still getting the same issue, and 2 higher end cards that when I run something graphics intensive. My system shuts off and I have to unplug it and hold down the power button for 10 seconds. They told me that my cards were made after the psu and it is compatibility and I can not do a RMA. The advice they gave me was to get a new graphics card. My PSU is the Ultra X4 1600-Watt Modular Power Supply, My grapics card is Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 Vapor-X Video Card - 6GB.


Edited by panyx, 28 October 2013 - 11:22 AM.

[CPU] AMD FX 8core Black edition 3.6GHz---[CPU Cooling]Corsair Hydro H100i---[MOBO]ASUS Sabertooth 990FX---[RAM]Patriot (16GB)(4x4GB)---[GPU]Sapphire HD 7970 Vapor-X---[PSU]Its a turd and I need a new one---[CASE]Thermaltake Chaser MK-I Full Tower---[HDDs]WD Dives(3 TB total storage) and OCZ SLD3 120GB SSD(boot)


#2 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11567 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 28 October 2013 - 10:13 AM

So basically never deal with TigerDirect...

ona5.png

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#3 DanTheGamer11

DanTheGamer11

    When life gives you lemons, eat them.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3773 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 October 2013 - 10:16 AM

If the PSU has enough amps on 12V rail and enough wattage then it shouldn't matter :/


Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 8GB 1600Mhz DDR3 Crucial Ballistix Tactical
Motherboard Asrock N68C-GS FX
Graphics XFX HD 7950
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue
Optical Disk Drive Sony Optiarc DVD/CD ReWriter
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 650W Bronze
Case Cooler Master CM690


#4 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1385 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 28 October 2013 - 10:28 AM

According to the psu specs it should run 3 of those cards no problem, have you tried another psu and had no problems ?


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB-G500 MOUSE

CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#5 Bosco

Bosco

    OCC Boss

  • Senior Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32048 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 28 October 2013 - 10:29 AM

Their PSU is not compatible with a 7970 wtf????


Main Gaming Rig
Intel 3960X
MSI X79A-GD65 8D
16GB of Corsair Vengeance
NVIDIA 780TI's in SLI
Corsair Force 3 GT 240GB SSD
Coolermaster 932 Case
Noctua D14 CPU Cooler
Thermaltake Toughpower XT Platinum 1275 Watts
3 X 24" LCD's
Donating to OCC :::: OCC Site Rules :::: OCC Reviews
RIP Verran and Nemo gone but never will be forgotten.


#6 usama7

usama7

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Faisalabad, Pakistan

Posted 28 October 2013 - 10:54 AM

That's the first time I am hearing a psu not been compatible with a gfx card! Its a psu, it provides power! not some os or software!



#7 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11567 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 28 October 2013 - 11:04 AM

I could see them not wating you to run multiple GPUs, but to say that a supposed 1600w PSU can'tt run any specific GPU is ridiculous.

:pfp:

ona5.png

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#8 panyx

panyx

    New Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 28 October 2013 - 11:24 AM

I know right, its a pain. Also tigerdirect wasn't the problem, it was Ultra itself. Yeah I have never heard of a PSU having a compatibility issue. Yeah they just listed it in the system as a compatibility issue and now when I call they just give me the same speech.


[CPU] AMD FX 8core Black edition 3.6GHz---[CPU Cooling]Corsair Hydro H100i---[MOBO]ASUS Sabertooth 990FX---[RAM]Patriot (16GB)(4x4GB)---[GPU]Sapphire HD 7970 Vapor-X---[PSU]Its a turd and I need a new one---[CASE]Thermaltake Chaser MK-I Full Tower---[HDDs]WD Dives(3 TB total storage) and OCZ SLD3 120GB SSD(boot)


#9 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20081 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 28 October 2013 - 11:29 AM

I just want you guys to know what just happened to me. I hate to see someone get cheated or treated like this. So I just tried to do a RMA with them and they told me they couldn't because it is a compatibility issue with my graphics card. Never mind I have 1 cheap card that I can run for most of the day still getting the same issue, and 2 higher end cards that when I run something graphics intensive. My system shuts off and I have to unplug it and hold down the power button for 10 seconds. They told me that my cards were made after the psu and it is compatibility and I can not do a RMA. The advice they gave me was to get a new graphics card. My PSU is the Ultra X4 1600-Watt Modular Power Supply, My grapics card is Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 Vapor-X Video Card - 6GB.

That sucks, I know they aren't the greatest but I had a 600W Ultra back in the day that met my needs just fine in the time I had it. What you're experiencing makes ABSOLUTELY no sense, I'd fight until you get your money back. I wouldn't even accept a replacement (unless you sell it immediately but then some other poor soul may suffer the ULTRA WRATH! lol)

 

So basically never deal with TigerDirect...

Whut?

 

Their PSU is not compatible with a 7970 wtf????

According to the psu specs it should run 3 of those cards no problem, have you tried another psu and had no problems ?

:withstupid:


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#10 panyx

panyx

    New Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 28 October 2013 - 11:57 AM

The part that really pisses me off is that they wont even take it in to check it out. That is what really has me pissed off, that they keep saying its working as it should  be.


[CPU] AMD FX 8core Black edition 3.6GHz---[CPU Cooling]Corsair Hydro H100i---[MOBO]ASUS Sabertooth 990FX---[RAM]Patriot (16GB)(4x4GB)---[GPU]Sapphire HD 7970 Vapor-X---[PSU]Its a turd and I need a new one---[CASE]Thermaltake Chaser MK-I Full Tower---[HDDs]WD Dives(3 TB total storage) and OCZ SLD3 120GB SSD(boot)


#11 Bosco

Bosco

    OCC Boss

  • Senior Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32048 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 28 October 2013 - 12:06 PM

I wonder if the PSU is actually acting up


Main Gaming Rig
Intel 3960X
MSI X79A-GD65 8D
16GB of Corsair Vengeance
NVIDIA 780TI's in SLI
Corsair Force 3 GT 240GB SSD
Coolermaster 932 Case
Noctua D14 CPU Cooler
Thermaltake Toughpower XT Platinum 1275 Watts
3 X 24" LCD's
Donating to OCC :::: OCC Site Rules :::: OCC Reviews
RIP Verran and Nemo gone but never will be forgotten.


#12 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 28 October 2013 - 12:14 PM

just threaten them with a lawsuit and they'll crack sooner than you think.

 

you have every right to rma the thing and get your money back because it is the psu's fault, not your graphics card.

if they cannot have a decent knowledge of computers then they shouldn't make psu's at all imo.


You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

 

I5-760 - asus maximus gen III - 8gb ddr3 1600Mhz ram - GTX 580 -925MHz/core - 2200 MHz/memory - 1850MHz/shader - windows 7

 

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it