Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

'Modified memory' use is in the multiple GB range.


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11566 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 18 September 2013 - 02:09 PM

Lately I've been getting low memory warnings.


Task Manager and Resouremon show this:
 
br9t.png

 
 
 

p6rk.png






Not sure what the hell is causing it.

Edited by Andrewr05, 18 September 2013 - 02:11 PM.

ona5.png

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#2 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7798 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deming, NM

Posted 18 September 2013 - 02:17 PM

Have you messed with the pagefile size any?

 

Any driver crashes recently? Newly installed programs?


AMD Phenom II X6 1075T @ 3.6GHz - ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO - EVGA GTX 580 1.5GB
G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 - OCZ Agility 4 128GB SSD - Seagate 500GB + 750GB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Sennheiser HD-280 Pro + HD-555 - Thermolab BARAM 2010 - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
OCC E3 2013 Awards
fqIbpPl.png


#3 Wesstron

Wesstron

    Member

  • Reviewer
  • PipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 18 September 2013 - 02:30 PM

Got the same thing 2 days ago. Memory barely in use, my guess is MS messed up an update lol

#4 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11566 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 18 September 2013 - 02:42 PM

Got the same thing 2 days ago. Memory barely in use, my guess is MS messed up an update lol

The exact same thing?
 
 

Have you messed with the pagefile size any?
 
Any driver crashes recently? Newly installed programs?

Actually the page file was set to 1024-4096 on my C: drive, which I thought I had disabled.

Earlier I turned off the C: drive pagefile and set my other drives to handle paging.

Nothing new installed and no driver crashing.

ona5.png

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#5 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7798 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deming, NM

Posted 18 September 2013 - 02:54 PM

Try letting Windows manage the pagefile and see what happens. 

 

My modified memory usage is around 100MB, but I did recently restart my PC.


AMD Phenom II X6 1075T @ 3.6GHz - ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO - EVGA GTX 580 1.5GB
G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 - OCZ Agility 4 128GB SSD - Seagate 500GB + 750GB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Sennheiser HD-280 Pro + HD-555 - Thermolab BARAM 2010 - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
OCC E3 2013 Awards
fqIbpPl.png


#6 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11566 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 18 September 2013 - 03:05 PM

I think I may have fixed the issue OR as I was modifying the setting it unknowingly released the memory.

I found this here (thanks Wesstron for saying you were having a similar problem, it made me search MS technet) and then disabled write caching on all of my drives and it appears to have worked.
 
I do do quite a lot of transfers to external drives and from HDD to HDD on a daily basis, so I'm thinking it is some MS bug.

Edited by Andrewr05, 19 September 2013 - 01:14 PM.

ona5.png

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#7 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7798 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deming, NM

Posted 18 September 2013 - 03:22 PM

Aha, well sounds like a nice fix then. Gotta love when bugs are introduced to try and fix other bugs.


AMD Phenom II X6 1075T @ 3.6GHz - ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO - EVGA GTX 580 1.5GB
G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 - OCZ Agility 4 128GB SSD - Seagate 500GB + 750GB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Sennheiser HD-280 Pro + HD-555 - Thermolab BARAM 2010 - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
OCC E3 2013 Awards
fqIbpPl.png


#8 Wesstron

Wesstron

    Member

  • Reviewer
  • PipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 18 September 2013 - 07:20 PM

Lol glad you figured it out. I was busy with other stuff so I just told windows to never show me this nonsense again lmao

#9 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7798 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deming, NM

Posted 18 September 2013 - 10:34 PM

Lol glad you figured it out. I was busy with other stuff so I just told windows to never show me this nonsense again lmao

 

:lol:

 

"You're nearly out of memory, do you want to-" 

 

"SHUT UP!"


AMD Phenom II X6 1075T @ 3.6GHz - ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO - EVGA GTX 580 1.5GB
G.Skill 8GB DDR3-1600 - OCZ Agility 4 128GB SSD - Seagate 500GB + 750GB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Sennheiser HD-280 Pro + HD-555 - Thermolab BARAM 2010 - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
OCC E3 2013 Awards
fqIbpPl.png


#10 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 19 September 2013 - 11:28 AM

I think I may have fixed the issue OR as I was modifying the setting it unknowingly released the memory.

I found this here (thanks Wesstron for saying you were having a similar problem, it made me search MS technet) and then disabled write caching on all of my drives and it appears to have worked.

 

I do do quite a lot of transfers to external drives and from HDD to HDD on a daily basis, so I'm thinking it is some MS bug.

 

Your link is dead.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#11 Wesstron

Wesstron

    Member

  • Reviewer
  • PipPip
  • 206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 19 September 2013 - 11:44 AM

 

Lol glad you figured it out. I was busy with other stuff so I just told windows to never show me this nonsense again lmao

 

:lol:

 

"You're nearly out of memory, do you want to-" 

 

"SHUT UP!"

 

Yup! That's what happened hahaha



#12 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11566 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 19 September 2013 - 01:16 PM

I think I may have fixed the issue OR as I was modifying the setting it unknowingly released the memory.

I found this here (thanks Wesstron for saying you were having a similar problem, it made me search MS technet) and then disabled write caching on all of my drives and it appears to have worked.
 
I do do quite a lot of transfers to external drives and from HDD to HDD on a daily basis, so I'm thinking it is some MS bug.

 
Your link is dead.

Ouch...

Thats an embarrassing screw up too, I'm surprised I didn't catch that and that no one else pointed it out sooner.

Edited by Andrewr05, 19 September 2013 - 01:16 PM.

ona5.png

Rig specs:

Spoiler