Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

PC does not boot

tried to post it earlier but

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 nichos

nichos

    New Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london uk

Posted 14 September 2013 - 01:04 PM

Hi,

Mobo:- Asus P5K Premium.

I have striped it down, clean the dust & rebuild it 3-4 times before with no problem but, this time will not boot. (PCU & cooler not removed this time)

The Mobo's gneen led comes ON but pressing the start button NOTHING happens.

EATX12V & EATXPWER conectors from the PSW are on tight & so is the cpu fan connector.

Any help will be apreciated         ........thanx       .........nick

 

 

Home build, Asus P5K Premium WiFiiFi Intel,
Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 95W 2.4GHz, OCZ Vendetta Cpu Cooler, 2x2GB, 240-pin DIMM, DDR2 800 (400mhz) PC2-6400, EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX KO 512MB GDDR3 (PCI-E), Excelsior sata 250gb, OCZ 600W Game XStream Psu, X45, XPhome

 



#2 kennethk

kennethk

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 September 2013 - 01:08 PM

Are you sure the power switch on the case is plugged in correctly?


Really wish I could experience an SSD but of course my bank tells me that I can not.

 

  • Graphics: CardAMD Radeon HD 7950
    Processor: AMD FX-6300
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. M5A99FX PRO R2.0
    RAM: Crucial Ballstix 8GB Sport Edition
    PSU: Rosewill 630W;Non-modual
    Operating: system64-bit Windows 7
     

#3 Wesstron

Wesstron

    Member

  • Reviewer
  • PipPip
  • 208 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 14 September 2013 - 05:03 PM

The one thing I would start with is the case leads to the power button in the mobo. Then check if anything might be loose somewhere.

#4 sword_fish

sword_fish

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philippines

Posted 14 September 2013 - 06:35 PM

try to unplug the power cord from the wall outlet/ups/avr for a minute then plug it back, boot up.

double check your power switch lead connectors for proper insertion/plugging at the mobo.


My Rig: Project One

2674416.png


#5 nichos

nichos

    New Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london uk

Posted 15 September 2013 - 09:03 AM

Thanx all,

I have the box here in front of me, removed the front panel & the small cables & leds look glued & are not coming off, in the mobo all these wires are on long female socket that cannot go the wrong way on the pins.

What perplexed me from the start are the two sockets coming out of a PSU lead & each says PCU1 & PCU2 for which there is no visible socket on the mobo. But the PCU must be powered from its socket pins.

I cannot remember how I found them on disassembly but, for some reason I marked the one "L" for left???.

The other thing, if you think would stop it even trying to run or boot, is the battery which I will change with the one from the PC I write this as soon as I finish. ...................nick
__________________
Asus P5K Premium WiFiiFi Intel, Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 95W 2.4GHz, OCZ Cpu Cooler, 2x2GB, 240-pin DIMM, DDR2 800 (400mhz) PC2-6400, EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX KO 512MB GDDR3 (PCI-E), Maxtor sata 160gb, OCZ 600W Game XStream Psu, X45, XPhome sp3

#6 nichos

nichos

    New Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london uk

Posted 15 September 2013 - 10:20 AM

BTW, I checked the start & recet pins for continuity & when are pressed, & also bridged the start pins but no boot.

#7 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1592 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 15 September 2013 - 01:44 PM

Did you try to pull your video card  and memory cards and then put them back in to reset them ?


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#8 kennethk

kennethk

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 September 2013 - 01:47 PM

Did you try a power cycle like sword fish suggested?


Really wish I could experience an SSD but of course my bank tells me that I can not.

 

  • Graphics: CardAMD Radeon HD 7950
    Processor: AMD FX-6300
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. M5A99FX PRO R2.0
    RAM: Crucial Ballstix 8GB Sport Edition
    PSU: Rosewill 630W;Non-modual
    Operating: system64-bit Windows 7
     

#9 sword_fish

sword_fish

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philippines

Posted 15 September 2013 - 05:04 PM

What perplexed me from the start are the two sockets coming out of a PSU lead & each says PCU1 & PCU2 for which there is no visible socket on the mobo. But the PCU must be powered from its socket pins.

hmm..could it be those 2 are your PCI E power cables? are you sure you plugged any of those at your 9800gtx?

 

edit:

9800gtx KO needs 2 of those 6pin PCI-E connectors just in case you "forgot" to plug it in.


Edited by sword_fish, 15 September 2013 - 06:37 PM.

My Rig: Project One

2674416.png


#10 nichos

nichos

    New Member

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london uk

Posted 16 September 2013 - 12:52 AM

Hi all again,

Thanx TripleX,


By process of elimination I found that the only connection that stops PSU & PCU fans to run is the EATX12V plug which has two plugs on same cable & both go into a 8pin socket on the mobo.

Without that, although the fans spin the HD does not run. Even changed the HD just in case.

My test meter across red & black of the power plug to the HD shows 25V. ...nick

#11 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15405 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 16 September 2013 - 04:42 AM

25 volts??? That's way too high!

Sounds like your PSU is dead if you trust the multimeter.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#12 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15978 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 16 September 2013 - 06:11 AM

I'm guessing you are referring to the sata power plug?  As Waco said, 25V is way out of whack.  Ground to red should be 5V +/- 5%.

 

I'd start by replacing the power supply.  While you're swapping that out, remove the motherboard battery and move the CMOS jumper pin to the Clear position.

 

Install new power supply, replace motherboard battery with a new one, and then move the CMOS jumper pin back to the Save position.

 

It might also be prudent to pull everything back out of the case and do your build on the bench.  I always do this as a first step for a) ease of access and b) to eliminate the possibility of any short between the motherboard and case.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg