Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Total War: Rome II


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Black64

Black64

    Black It Out

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The internet

Posted 12 September 2013 - 04:41 AM

Surprised I haven't seen a thread for this game yet? Well I've always been a big fans of RTS games and I do like the total war series.

 

Official website

 

 

Well I just got it a few days ago and I am stilling playing though the prelude. But the game crashes have made it unplayable for me right now. It's just starts stuttering and crashes with-in minutes. On top of that there is tons of sound glitches as well. I am just gonna have to wait for a patch now... :(

 

Anyone else having as much issues as I am?


Edited by Black64, 12 September 2013 - 04:42 AM.

Current System

[CPU]Intel Xeon W3670 (i7-970) @3.20Ghz---[CPU Cooling]Thermalright Silver Arrow---[MOBO]ASUS Rampage Gene III---[RAM]G-Skill Rip Jaws (24GB)(6x4GB)---[GPU]ASUS GTX 780 OC---[PSU]KingWin Lazar LZ-1000---[CASE]Bitfenix Colossus Venom Edition---[HDDs]WD Dives(6.5TB total storage) and Samsung 250GB SSD(boot)---[Monitors] 3X NEC 24" LCD2490WUXi ISP Panels and 1X Seiki 39" 4K monitor

 

PC Audio System (Speakers) Triad InRoom Silver's --- (DAC) Schiit Modi --- (AMP) Emotiva MiniX-a-100 --- (Headphones) Sennheiser Momentums and Paradigm H15NC --- (Headphone AMP) --- Schitt Magni

 

 


#2 Prunes

Prunes

    Geek

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 12 September 2013 - 05:20 AM

I've not been experiencing any glitches at all, except for some laggy graphics at times.

 

I skipped the preludes as I was annoyed by the guy telling me what to do. I've been trying a few factions' campaigns, so far I'm hooked on my Athens campaign. The game is both a step forward and a step backwards. Forward because I like how the made some of the city management easier, especially considering how many towns you'll have be the end of the campaign, but it has also introduced a trillion settlements, which leads to millions of tiny factions. That leads to very long waiting periods between turns. Combat is quite nice, though different from Shogun II, but an improvement compared to the first Rome I'd say.


Formerly known as Ecofriendly

My rig:

Mobo: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen 3
CPU: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.3
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i with 2x Corsair SP 120 Quiet Edition
GPU: MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB
HDD: WD Cavier Black 1TB
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Case: Fractal Design R4 Black

 


#3 Black64

Black64

    Black It Out

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The internet

Posted 12 September 2013 - 07:29 AM

Maybe I should just skip the Prelude, I was enjoying it quite a bit though. :-/


Current System

[CPU]Intel Xeon W3670 (i7-970) @3.20Ghz---[CPU Cooling]Thermalright Silver Arrow---[MOBO]ASUS Rampage Gene III---[RAM]G-Skill Rip Jaws (24GB)(6x4GB)---[GPU]ASUS GTX 780 OC---[PSU]KingWin Lazar LZ-1000---[CASE]Bitfenix Colossus Venom Edition---[HDDs]WD Dives(6.5TB total storage) and Samsung 250GB SSD(boot)---[Monitors] 3X NEC 24" LCD2490WUXi ISP Panels and 1X Seiki 39" 4K monitor

 

PC Audio System (Speakers) Triad InRoom Silver's --- (DAC) Schiit Modi --- (AMP) Emotiva MiniX-a-100 --- (Headphones) Sennheiser Momentums and Paradigm H15NC --- (Headphone AMP) --- Schitt Magni

 

 


#4 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8023 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deming, NM

Posted 12 September 2013 - 07:55 AM

I didn't have any issues during the prelude, although afterwords it didn't show me as having completed it.

 

Only crash I encountered was after leveling up a spy, but then I couldn't repeat it so dismissed it. Have gotten more crashes in Skyrim. :lol:

 

 

There are some slowdowns I encounter, but it's just on the campaign map. Everything else is very sweet and I'm having a damn fun time going through Rome II. It does take a while to let all the factions play out during turns, but then there are so very many compared to past games. Got about 100 turns in with Rome before I decided to try out the Iceni, which are different and is going to take a bit of work to conquer other places. Start off with just one territory compared to four for Rome, so yeah, bit more work.


Intel Core i5 4690K - ASUS Z97-A - EVGA GTX 770 2GB
Mushkin Ridgeback 16GB DDR3-2133 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD - Seagate 500GB + 750GB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Sennheiser HD-280 Pro + HD-555 - Thermolab BARAM 2010 - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
eUYPk97.png


#5 Nyt_Ryda

Nyt_Ryda

    Total Nerd

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4371 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 12 September 2013 - 08:11 AM

I've only encountered 3 problems :
One in the prologue part 2 where it froze before a battle
One where the troops retreating after a battle and they never actually left the battle so it took forever to declare victory 
And the horrible 50% usage on my GTX760, which doesn't even trigger the Nvidia boost from the stock 1080MHz to 1250MHz for intense battles - really need some patches and new Nvidia drivers to be released

 

But I'm really enjoying it :)


i7 4770K | Corsair H105

ASUS Maximus VI Hero | ASUS GTX780 Ti
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz 4x4Gb | Corsair AX860i
Cooler Master Storm Trooper | Seagate Barracuda 2Tb


#6 Prunes

Prunes

    Geek

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPip
  • 869 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 12 September 2013 - 09:28 AM

The game definitely needs to be patched, because it only utilizes 50% of my gpu. Though my 2GB of ram is maxxed out.

 

Like bp wrote, I like how different the various factions are, which adds to replayability and you need to know all the factions units. For instance, I play as Athens and they have only one sword wielding unit, but a trillion different spear wielding units. One of the factions main units are cavalry archers, while the northern factions have many different 1h weapon wielding units.

There's a lack of online battles though, but that might be because everyone is playing the campaign atm. One thing you need to try is to play online campaign with a friend. Get on skype or something and it is much more enjoyable. You might want two monitors though, since there's quite a long break between your turns  :doh:  :rolleyes:


Formerly known as Ecofriendly

My rig:

Mobo: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen 3
CPU: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.3
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i with 2x Corsair SP 120 Quiet Edition
GPU: MSI GTX 670 Power Edition
SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB
HDD: WD Cavier Black 1TB
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Case: Fractal Design R4 Black

 


#7 ClayMeow

ClayMeow

    Member Title Exceeds Member Title Character Limit

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19377 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Island, NY

Posted 12 September 2013 - 11:15 AM

Don't have the game, but just thought I'd let you know that Creative Assembly's Creative Director addressed the issues (along with a patch yesterday):

 

http://forums.totalw...e-(11-Sep-2013)


CMt.png
- Steam - Raptr - Xfire - GameSpot - Kongregate - IGN Blog -
- ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe - i7 3770k - NVIDIA GTX 770 - 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3-1866MHz -
::: Follow OCC on facebook.png ::: OCC Xfire Clan ::: OCC Steam Community Group ::: OCC Rules :::

::: OCC E3 2013 Awards ::: CES 2013 ::: COMPUTEX 2010 :::

::: Razer Sabertooth Review ::: Watch Dogs Review :::


#8 bp9801

bp9801

    Please press any key to continue

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8023 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deming, NM

Posted 12 September 2013 - 12:43 PM

There's been a few ~23MB downloads in the past week already, so at least there's stuff rolling out consistently like CA said.


Intel Core i5 4690K - ASUS Z97-A - EVGA GTX 770 2GB
Mushkin Ridgeback 16GB DDR3-2133 - Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD - Seagate 500GB + 750GB - WD 1TB - Cooler Master SPH 1050W
ASUS Xonar Xense + Sennheiser PC-350 Xense Edition + Sennheiser HD-280 Pro + HD-555 - Thermolab BARAM 2010 - Cooler Master HAF XM

Follow OCC on facebook.png
eUYPk97.png


#9 ClayMeow

ClayMeow

    Member Title Exceeds Member Title Character Limit

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19377 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Island, NY

Posted 13 September 2013 - 08:13 PM

Patch 2 is in Beta now with a ton of fixes:

Patch Notes: http://wiki.totalwar...OME_II:_Patch_2


CMt.png
- Steam - Raptr - Xfire - GameSpot - Kongregate - IGN Blog -
- ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe - i7 3770k - NVIDIA GTX 770 - 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3-1866MHz -
::: Follow OCC on facebook.png ::: OCC Xfire Clan ::: OCC Steam Community Group ::: OCC Rules :::

::: OCC E3 2013 Awards ::: CES 2013 ::: COMPUTEX 2010 :::

::: Razer Sabertooth Review ::: Watch Dogs Review :::