Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Keep animated gifs under 1 meg. Tips?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 NCC10281982B

NCC10281982B

    Read the manual you say? GREAT! Which manual?

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6585 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bellevue, WA

Posted 01 September 2013 - 06:30 PM

Here are the settings used.

Capture.PNG Capture.PNG

The results:

Capture.PNG

xbKHAVU.gif

 

Tumblr, for example, will not load gifs if they are larger than 1 meg. So I am looking for tips to shrink my efforts. I prefer not to reduce the frame rate and size too far of course.

 

THX


Once again the greed of the few out ways the good of the many...

Posted Image

#2 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 01 September 2013 - 08:37 PM

With the right optimization you can have some pretty high quality GIFs, it just takes a bit to get the settings right.

 

Search around for some other programs though, as when i was doing it some time last year it took me quite awhile to find a program that let me output anything worthwhile.

I wish I could remember what the program was called, I know it was a universal video converter that offered GIF as an output format and not a standalone GIF converter though.


ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#3 NCC10281982B

NCC10281982B

    Read the manual you say? GREAT! Which manual?

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6585 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bellevue, WA

Posted 02 September 2013 - 12:16 AM

thanks man. It took me ages to find this... :-(


Once again the greed of the few out ways the good of the many...

Posted Image

#4 StefenHeif

StefenHeif

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quebec Canada

Posted 02 September 2013 - 05:56 AM

GIFs cannot be compressed, they are not JPEGs. The only two things you can do to lower file size is to reduce number of frames(removing some of the 51 images)

or reduce image size (going lower than 320x200). 1.2MB is pretty small for a 51 images animated gif.

Your program is fine, as it does the only thing doable with a GIF, adding frames after frames.



#5 BluePanda

BluePanda

    Lab Rat

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2219 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Los Alamos

Posted 02 September 2013 - 08:10 AM

new.gif

 

Well I don't have the source images but here's a 320KB GIF from the one you posted.  The trick is to separate things out into layers of animation vs. background --

 

So in Photoshop I just cut the TIE Defender out as a separate layer then positioned it on a static background.  That way the GIF is generated with slices of static and dynamic content.



#6 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 02 September 2013 - 08:32 AM

Your program is fine, as it does the only thing doable with a GIF, adding frames after frames.

I disagree, not all things designed to do what they say they do do what they say they do better than something that says it does what this does in addition to doing lots of other things.

As Blue Panda pointed out starting with a source material that wasn't grainy ideally you (doing it manually) or the program would isolate the parts that didn't need to be repeated every frame and just animate what was necessary.

What is the source of this video animation Jeff?
It looks like its from a video game.

ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#7 NCC10281982B

NCC10281982B

    Read the manual you say? GREAT! Which manual?

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6585 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bellevue, WA

Posted 03 September 2013 - 09:15 PM

Its from tie fighter. I use dos boxes built in capture system. If there options for what blue talked about I have not found them yet. I used to have Adobe image ready CS2 but that won't activate anymore. I also capture stuff using fraps. Which is great because of the built in FR & demotions control.


Once again the greed of the few out ways the good of the many...

Posted Image