Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

MSI HD7950OC TF3 PCI3 owners's question (solved)


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 acpowell

acpowell

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester Hills, MI

Posted 26 August 2013 - 11:20 AM

I recently purchased a MSI HD7950OC TF3 PCi3 from microcenter.  It seems like a great card.  I was looking up some things about it for overclocking and I seem to stumbled across something odd.  Every single 7950 card I find MSI or otherwise seems to have 6x6 power plugs.  Mine has a 6x8.  When looking on MSI's site they don't show photos of that side of the card.  The card even came with a 6 to 8 pin adapter.  Anyone else have this card and know why it seems to differ from all the other 7950s or did I get some other magical thing?  This was not an open box or anything that I am aware of.

 

**UPDATE**

 

Found a post on another site that said this: MSI has started using reference 7970 PCBs for their 7950 Twin Frozr 3 OC cards

 

Here is the link to that site although it really was created to talk about Aquacomputer 7950 blocks: http://hardforum.com...d.php?t=1704168

 

 

 

 


Edited by acpowell, 28 August 2013 - 06:02 AM.

CM Scout Storm | ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 | Phenom II 1090t BE | Corsair A70 | Corsair 8GBMSI R7950 TF 3GD5/OC BE | OCZ 600W Stealth Xtream | Windows 7 ULT x64 | Samsung 840 EVO

The fire-swamp sure is nice this time of year..


#2 acpowell

acpowell

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester Hills, MI

Posted 27 August 2013 - 03:58 AM

well as it turns out the box says I have the BE version although there is still nothing that says it uses a 6 and an 8 pin for power.


CM Scout Storm | ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 | Phenom II 1090t BE | Corsair A70 | Corsair 8GBMSI R7950 TF 3GD5/OC BE | OCZ 600W Stealth Xtream | Windows 7 ULT x64 | Samsung 840 EVO

The fire-swamp sure is nice this time of year..


#3 acpowell

acpowell

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester Hills, MI

Posted 27 August 2013 - 04:35 AM

The more I read into this the more confused I get.  I bought this at microcenter and when I look at my online receipt it shows I purchased this: http://www.microcent..._Card#tab-specs

 

But the Specs listed don't match up to what GPU-Z reports which is this: http://gpuz.techpowe...3/08/27/980.png

 

I have not overclocked it or anything, but I had wanted to see if I could get it to 1Ghz which from the looks shouldn't be too hard.  Anyone know what I am looking at here?


CM Scout Storm | ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 | Phenom II 1090t BE | Corsair A70 | Corsair 8GBMSI R7950 TF 3GD5/OC BE | OCZ 600W Stealth Xtream | Windows 7 ULT x64 | Samsung 840 EVO

The fire-swamp sure is nice this time of year..


#4 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20376 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 27 August 2013 - 07:52 AM

I believe that means it has a 7970 pcb, should overclock VERY well... I'd even consider trying to flash it to a 7970 but atleast OC'n it high!


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#5 acpowell

acpowell

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester Hills, MI

Posted 27 August 2013 - 08:00 AM

I believe that means it has a 7970 pcb, should overclock VERY well... I'd even consider trying to flash it to a 7970 but atleast OC'n it high!

considering it is only a few days old I don't want to go flashing things to other things just yet, but I was going to try overclocking it this weekend.  I am only playing FFXIV ARR so it is not like I am playing Crysis or something. 

 

I was going to use the MSI utility to over clock and I suppose you just increase a bit then run the benchmark for a while and see what happens eh?


CM Scout Storm | ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 | Phenom II 1090t BE | Corsair A70 | Corsair 8GBMSI R7950 TF 3GD5/OC BE | OCZ 600W Stealth Xtream | Windows 7 ULT x64 | Samsung 840 EVO

The fire-swamp sure is nice this time of year..


#6 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20376 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 27 August 2013 - 12:30 PM

Yeah do that... maybe look into the flashing though...could be a diamond in the rough

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#7 acpowell

acpowell

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester Hills, MI

Posted 27 August 2013 - 05:54 PM

Yeah do that... maybe look into the flashing though...could be a diamond in the rough

Well I just maxed out the core clook to 1100 on afterburner and I have zero issues.  When I change memory MHz it doesn't see to do anything so I am not sure what that does for me. and I don't really know what else to change.


CM Scout Storm | ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 | Phenom II 1090t BE | Corsair A70 | Corsair 8GBMSI R7950 TF 3GD5/OC BE | OCZ 600W Stealth Xtream | Windows 7 ULT x64 | Samsung 840 EVO

The fire-swamp sure is nice this time of year..


#8 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15311 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 27 August 2013 - 05:57 PM

Sounds like you got an older model before they started using different PCBs. Good find!

Posted Image

Booyah.


#9 acpowell

acpowell

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester Hills, MI

Posted 28 August 2013 - 04:00 AM

So I have literally maxed the core clock to 1100, is there anyway to force it past there?  I have not touch the memory clock yet though, so I don't know if I should or shouldn't. 

 

Waco:  I don't know about older or newer but I agree about the good find.  I have never had something that when I put it to the max, it just worked flawlessly and didn't even over heat much.


CM Scout Storm | ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 | Phenom II 1090t BE | Corsair A70 | Corsair 8GBMSI R7950 TF 3GD5/OC BE | OCZ 600W Stealth Xtream | Windows 7 ULT x64 | Samsung 840 EVO

The fire-swamp sure is nice this time of year..


#10 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20376 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 28 August 2013 - 11:35 AM

You tested it in a couple games??


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#11 acpowell

acpowell

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester Hills, MI

Posted 28 August 2013 - 11:58 AM

IVIYTH0S, on 28 Aug 2013 - 3:35 PM, said:IVIYTH0S, on 28 Aug 2013 - 3:35 PM, said:

You tested it in a couple games??

The only game I had installed I couldn't get online because of congestion, but I had kombustor running at full tilt for a while.  I am going to try and get on to FFXIV ARR tonight and see how it goes since that is the game I bought this card for anyway.  Also I still am not sure if I should try and increase the memory clock, or how I know when it is too much.

 

Also I really would like to know if it is possible to go past 1100 which is what the slider maxed out at.


Edited by acpowell, 28 August 2013 - 11:59 AM.

CM Scout Storm | ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 | Phenom II 1090t BE | Corsair A70 | Corsair 8GBMSI R7950 TF 3GD5/OC BE | OCZ 600W Stealth Xtream | Windows 7 ULT x64 | Samsung 840 EVO

The fire-swamp sure is nice this time of year..


#12 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20376 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 28 August 2013 - 12:03 PM

Try a wide variety of games, if you want the best stress test. "Stress tester" programs often let a lot slip by and a variety games will test all different aspects of the card...For instance Crysis 1 let alot of my instability slip by but C&C 3 failed, so even the most trivial game could reveal the fact that you need to turn down the OC a bit


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech