Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Should I crossfire on single 1080p?


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 Stealth3si

Stealth3si

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 August 2013 - 01:13 PM

I want to know if crossfiring two 7950s on a single 1080p display worth the extra money?

 

FYI, I can play pretty much anything, but not at maximum settings on a single 1080p. I did have to lower some settings on several games. TBH, I want to run any modern and upcoming titles at maximum settings without having to fiddle and balance which gfx settings to get a reasonable FPS. I think I would be happy playing at maximum settings on 1080p.


Edited by Stealth3si, 23 August 2013 - 02:12 PM.

Antec 300 Illusion Case
Antec NEO ECO 620C
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T OC'd @ 4.2GHz / 6 cores @ 4014Mhz (Hyper 212 EVO CM BM push/pull)
CPU/NB @ 3038Mhz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1736Mhz CL9 1T
MSI R7950 TFIII 1225/1625 1.25/1.60
Asus Xonar DX & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 Darth'd w/ O2 Desktop Amp
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Samsung 830 256GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB/2TB, WD My Passport 2TB x 6
Logitech K800 & Logitech G700
Dell S2740L LED IPS 27" 1080p
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1

#2 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1419 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 23 August 2013 - 02:06 PM

it would give you a good boost depending on the game but i would rather wait for the gtx 8xx or amd 9xxx series to be released and get one of those instead.


You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it

 

Thinks he has a weeny worthy of war.

 


#3 Vasto

Vasto

    Sexiest OCC Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1783 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted 23 August 2013 - 02:06 PM

What is prompting this upgrade? Are there games you can't run at full settings?

 

I have a 7870 and it is able to run everything on Ultra at 1080p at a decent framerate.


Posted Image

#4 Stealth3si

Stealth3si

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 August 2013 - 02:19 PM

What is prompting this upgrade? Are there games you can't run at full settings?

 

I have a 7870 and it is able to run everything on Ultra at 1080p at a decent framerate.

The games I had issues playing were Assassin's Creed 1, Crysis 2, Warhead and part 3, Tomb Raider, Splinter Cell Conviction, Far Cry 3. They were dipping in the 30s on maximum settings @ 1080p. To improve the FPS to the mid 40s thru low 50s, I lowered some of the gfx settings like AA, shadows, postprocessing (if applicable,) occlusion, detail, geometry (where applicable), screen resolution, etc.


Antec 300 Illusion Case
Antec NEO ECO 620C
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T OC'd @ 4.2GHz / 6 cores @ 4014Mhz (Hyper 212 EVO CM BM push/pull)
CPU/NB @ 3038Mhz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1736Mhz CL9 1T
MSI R7950 TFIII 1225/1625 1.25/1.60
Asus Xonar DX & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 Darth'd w/ O2 Desktop Amp
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Samsung 830 256GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB/2TB, WD My Passport 2TB x 6
Logitech K800 & Logitech G700
Dell S2740L LED IPS 27" 1080p
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1

#5 jdm_freek

jdm_freek

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 996 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 August 2013 - 03:52 PM

i am crossfiring two 7850 at 1920x1080 and i can barely  tell 

but i had a 7950 and at res there is no need with that card right now

save your money for new tech


Edited by jdm_freek, 23 August 2013 - 03:58 PM.

Cpu intel g3258 Corsair H80iMainboard Msi z87gd65 2x4GB Crucial Ddr3 1866Gpu Msi R9 290 Gaming 1100/1450Psu Evga 600bStorage WD 750gbStorage WD 3tbOS Win 7<p>

#6 paulktreg

paulktreg

    Member

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3904 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Clitheroe, UK.

Posted 23 August 2013 - 03:54 PM

No.


i7 [email protected]/GA-X58A-UD3R/3x2GB Corsair/2 X 460 SLI/Seagate 1TB/Fractal Design Define R3 Case/Seasonic X-Series 760W/SAMSUNG 2032BW/ACER AL1916W/WIN 7 PRO


#7 Stealth3si

Stealth3si

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 August 2013 - 07:42 PM

hmm thanks for all reply but after some careful thought i think I will skip crossfiring...IF any of the new 99xx cards can fit in my case and safely operate under my current PSU for $400 then i can see myself patiently waiting for an upgrade by the end of this year. I feel this would far outweigh the benefit of CFing in my particular situation. i.e., net expense differences between CFing and upgradiing to single GPU are marginal and CFing would make me reorganize the case because of the new PSU and mobo..ugh


Edited by Stealth3si, 23 August 2013 - 07:49 PM.

Antec 300 Illusion Case
Antec NEO ECO 620C
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T OC'd @ 4.2GHz / 6 cores @ 4014Mhz (Hyper 212 EVO CM BM push/pull)
CPU/NB @ 3038Mhz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1736Mhz CL9 1T
MSI R7950 TFIII 1225/1625 1.25/1.60
Asus Xonar DX & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 Darth'd w/ O2 Desktop Amp
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Samsung 830 256GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB/2TB, WD My Passport 2TB x 6
Logitech K800 & Logitech G700
Dell S2740L LED IPS 27" 1080p
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1

#8 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20788 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 23 August 2013 - 09:09 PM

I wouldn't bother personally


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#9 VaporX

VaporX

    Sapphire Gaming Evangelist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1720 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 24 August 2013 - 04:28 AM

I am not sure why you are having an issue. I run a single 7950 and have yet to find a game that does not play smooth on my system. In fact I can push many games to 1440 with no lag.


Edward "Vapor-X" Crisler

Sapphire North America PR Represenative

"I don't play when it comes to gaming"

 


#10 Stealth3si

Stealth3si

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 August 2013 - 02:54 PM

I am not sure why you are having an issue. I run a single 7950 and have yet to find a game that does not play smooth on my system. In fact I can push many games to 1440 with no lag.

to be fair..the games in question noticeably lags only at certain parts of the game where there's lots of stuff on the screen all at once. Other than that, the rest of the game plays smooth.

 

What games have you tried? do you use preset or custom? do you max out every detail on custom?


Antec 300 Illusion Case
Antec NEO ECO 620C
Asus M5A88-V EVO
Phenom II X4 960T OC'd @ 4.2GHz / 6 cores @ 4014Mhz (Hyper 212 EVO CM BM push/pull)
CPU/NB @ 3038Mhz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1736Mhz CL9 1T
MSI R7950 TFIII 1225/1625 1.25/1.60
Asus Xonar DX & Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 Darth'd w/ O2 Desktop Amp
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, Samsung 830 256GB, WD Caviar Green 1TB/2TB, WD My Passport 2TB x 6
Logitech K800 & Logitech G700
Dell S2740L LED IPS 27" 1080p
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1

#11 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20788 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 24 August 2013 - 04:16 PM

Maybe it's your CPU then??


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#12 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15508 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 24 August 2013 - 04:38 PM

Maybe it's your CPU then??

Or he's just being lazy and turning everything up to the max.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.